Control by Confusion, Part 1

1 35
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Dr. Gites: David! You should be at home! Are you feeling sick?

David: Oh, nothing at all Dr. Gites, I just stopped by to make a payment for my last visit and I —

Dr. Gites: — I'm certainly sorry you're feeling unwell today. What seems to be the trouble? You know, David. There's something you should be made aware of.

David: What's that, doc?

Dr. Gites: Well David, there is a terrible disease going around right now and I am worried about you.

David: Terrible disease? What do you mean...? I just came by to square up on the bill.

Dr. Gites: (looks knowingly at secretary ) But if you're feeling unwell, it could be the new disease. Shirley, should we tell him?

Shirley: Dr. Gites, I think we should. He's putting himself at risk and it's our duty to keep our patients informed.

Dr. Gites: (pulls a chair up next to David ) There's a new virus on the loose, David, and it's looking pretty ugly. Actually, it may even become a kind of modern-day plague.

David: Plague? I haven't heard anything about it.

Dr. Gites: David I am afraid that is because you don't have an internet connection or watch TV.

David: I mean, I have noticed lots of people wearing those stinky wristbands that say "stop the sicky." Does that have something to do with it?

Dr. Gites: (lifting up the scented band on his right wrist) David, these are our first line of defense against the virus until stabby arrives. The chemical compound saturating this bracelet stops the virus fairly effectively for now. Even better if everyone is wearing them.

David: But surely that can't completely stop a microscopic virus, even if it does help a little.

Shirley: You see, David, until we can get stabby we need to wear these bracelets... That's actually why the doctor was surprised to see you today. We're closed, sweetheart. Today is the first day of what we call the lockies.

David: Stabbies... Lockies... I'm not sure I understand. Sounds interesting, though.

Dr. Gites: David the stabby is a new treatment that is set to arrive next year. The lockies are just a temporary measure where everyone is meant to stay in their house until it arrives. Well, everyone except essential workers. You know, like doctors, and food delivery services. After the stabby, we can all go back to normal.

Shirley: My goodness, David. You really DON'T go out, do you? I don't mean any offense. I'm sorry. It's just... Everybody knows about this. I can't believe no one has told you.

David: It's okay. I mean, yeah. I'm a recluse for sure. And living in the country I don't have much need to stop into town. I have to say, if this is supposed to be a plague, it must be a mild one. I haven't seen anyone deathly sick on my limited commutes. Everyone at the bank the other day seemed fine.

Dr. Gites: (audibly sighing) Some people spread the virus without having any symptoms. That's just the thing. It is that deadly. And I hate to say it, but you are putting us at risk just by being here now with no bracelet.

4
$ 12.63
$ 12.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
Sponsors of VoluntaryJapan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Comments

A short story that sarcastically exposes what is happening in the world. Pandemic or plandemic?

$ 0.00
2 years ago