My very great Love Story I

4 46
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago
Topics: Fiction, Romance

Monday, May 16th 2022.

Image

It all started after our very first meet-cute, a couple weeks before Dad's grand opening of his Epic yard sale. He was all enthusiastic about the desire to sell off utensils, clothes, and tools he'd kept in all of his youthful years. Which made me think 1. Perhaps, he was just overreacting that he'd get to meet new faces since we only arrived here like..., say, two days prior. 2. He must've made unnecessary list whenever he decided to get somethings in the mall or wherever, 3. and thus the increasing number of garbage we have somehow managed to drag out the basement.

Saturdays were always dreadful, I'd stay at home all day doing next to nothing. Meanwhile, Dad was always off finding and meeting people in their homes without notice. Somehow, I wonder how he hasn't been thrown off any of property yet!.

It was just barely some minutes past 3 p.m. There I was, cursing my luck and wasting my time with selling junks that was not just pleasing to the eye, but the fact that I stood for hours trynna convince some old timers made me feel even worse for myself.

"Dad, I'm tired! I need to lay down.", I said making it seem like I couldn't catch my breath.

"No, son. We must continue. You must hold on.", He answered.

"You're going to be a man someday. You know that, right?"

"Arrgh! Enough of the Man talk. I can't take it anymore!", I cried.

"Looks like someone needs a break", Mom said. She had ordered fries for a quick lunch like she always does. But, I just stood there trying to figure out how they can be so aloof to my current situation. "Some parent you guys are", I thought.

After a while, we finished selling every single one. How that happened. Well, tell that to Dad's persistent influential but not-crooked personality. He had a knack with people. Something I clearly lacked at the time. (Well, even now). There was something about him that made people want to do his bidding. Especially, when he decides to ride tall in his saddle, he gets through to them like it's nothing. Sometimes I wished I had that kind of talent.

I was about to leave for my room as I couldn't stand standing out any more. At least, not until Dad realises somethings amiss, and we failed to do the needful. And, just as I predicted... Dad called!

"My goodness! Can't I just get one break?", I pleaded.

"You will, after you return those to our neighbors", He answered.

I hurriedly gathered whatever darned tools remained, and trudged a couple of feet to the Walters'. On arriving, just as I was about knocking the door the front door. Something totally unexpected caught my attention, a person - the prettiest girl in the world as I liked to call her, was laughing over a call she'd been on. She was sat at a distance in a small vineyard that produced one of the best wines in town. Her father, a Vintner, manufactures the wine Dad liked so much. Little wonder why he's so friendly with him.

"Can I help you?", she said. Her voice so gentle, and calm. Dressed in a green tank top, with a sort of blue shorts that looked like it was deliberately torn to give a hint of what I call crazy jeans.

"Uh... Uhm..., My Dad asked me to bring this here", I answered.

"Oh! Right. I'll go get him", She replied.

"Wait...!", I stopped. I wasn't sure what I wanted to say because I realised I had been floored by her warmth. She waited for me to speak. I didn't. Then, she walked over to me. Smiled and said:

"Where are my manners? Apologies. I'm Sarah. Sarah Walters. You?"

"Err... I uh... I'm Damon. Just Damon", I answered.

She chuckled.

"Alright, then. I'll tell Pops Just Damon has come to drop something for him", she said.

I was stuck. It was until she wasn't within sight that I came to my senses.

"Ugh! C'mon really...? Just Damon?", I mumbled.

It was at that moment I knew I messed up big time. Anyway, considering the fact that i still had a chance to make a move on her I somehow felt giddy. She was my neighbor. Although I wondered whom she was talking to on the other end of the phone a couple minutes ago... I decided to dismiss any illogical thought. But, I was not to be concerned.

My life had began to feel like it'll have a little bit of spark in it. And, she was a promising spark. One that I wasn't certain if 1. It would blow up in my face. 2. Or, if I actually had a chance to experience something different. Something other than the norm I called a life so unbelievably bleak.

...to be continued.

Note: This story is a complete work of fiction. As names, words used are hundred percent imaginary.

Diction

Vintner - a Manufacturer of wine.

Ride tall in his saddle (idiom) - To act or conduct oneself in a manner that is imposing, impressive, resolute, or manly.

Giddy - Joyfully Elated.

VinceCharlie✓

Thank you guys for reading.

Until next time.

💐

11
$ 2.18
$ 1.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 3
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago
Topics: Fiction, Romance

Comments

I almost thought that this is your story, as the story really looks like real. But anyway, some people truly have that talent, they are really good at convincing people, I mean they are good at sales talk and so they're costumer can't say no to them. Anyway I wonder what will happen next, and so I'll be waiting for the second part.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, Garrethgrey07. I'll publish it really soon. It's only a matter of time. In the next hour or so. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All love stories are beautiful and captivating. At a certain age we all go through something like that!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They sure are. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago