Is Greatness a Gift than it is, a process?

1 23
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Date: Friday, May 13th 2022.

A couple days ago, in my away time from read. I stumbled upon a quote by William Shakespeare, and it said:

Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and others have greatness thrust upon them.

I didn't think anything of it at first, but something kept bringing back those very words to my attention. And, like I usually get, I found myself pondering on them. This post is bred from these thoughts which eventually became a soliloquy, which progressed into a discussion and, here we are.

Image by Redd on unsplash.com

Image

It all started with a soliloquy and, after a while I posted it on my WhatsApp hoping someone would engage it. Fortunately, big brother came through.

All the time big brother and I engaged that quote, although it was a rather quick discourse that we somehow managed to postpone it to a much later time due to his busy schedule. Things were said.

Actually, I opined that humans can be born great and that when we critically observe the long history of Mankind, the many gifted minds that have graced the Earth amongst other things. It is safe to say that people like those have, in some quota, done endless wonders.

He made a case that was quite genuine, and then said:

"I personally do not believe people are born great. I believe great men are made not born."

"Greatness is more of process than gift."

A thought that eventually inspired the initial Title post.

I understand that many people hold the belief that you must go through a certain amount of process to achieving greatness. It is in itself a wholesome notion.

Which now begs the other question:

"Why can't greatness be a Gift?"

If we are to look at it from the scriptural point of view.

Can we then say - Our Lord wasn't born Great, and that he only went on his life's work in order to achieve greatness? (Not that he was in the quest for fame and greatness in the eyes of Men, or anything).

Or, was it not said of Moses that he would be the one to lead the Israelites to their Promised Land? (Was he born in order to liberate his people - which later testified of him being born great or, was he thrust upon doing what he could, thereby, neglecting his status as a once promising Prince for a future quest?).

It doesn't sound illogical, does it?

When we look at the life of great Men in our time they'll tell of how they went through series of hardships - not necessarily unfortunate or ill events per se, in order to get to their acclaimed fame, or wealth. We somehow forget that just maybe we carry something inside of us that needs to shine in a world that yearns it. Only if we just realise what we are.

Maybe we sometimes fail to understand that even as we were once infants, we've always had this seed of greatness that is always needed. A quote paraphrased from Dr. Myles Monroe.

I don't intend to make this post long, so allow me to end it on this note. I don't in any way despise a Man's journey to a great end. (I don't mean death in this case). However, my stand was only of the fact that any child CAN be born great. And, that whether they realise it or not they are special people. We all are. And, it's through knowing our speciality that we can ever be of service to our world. Wherever we may be.

I'd like to hear what you think on this.

Until we read again.

💐✌️

2
$ 0.51
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Shawon130
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Comments

greatness is a gift . Yes it is. Because all don't have this blessing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago