How Mindfulness Meditation practice changed my life - A personal story

2 31
Avatar for Viktor105
2 years ago

How do we meditate effectively?

When we meditate, we inject far-reaching and long -lasting energy into our lives. We lower our stress levels, we know our pain, we connect better, we improve our focus, and we are more kind to ourselves.

There are different types of meditation which I'm going to mention.

  • mindfulness meditation.

  • spiritual meditation.

  • mantra meditation.

  • transcendental meditation. e.t.c

Meditation may be an ancient tradition, but it’s still practiced in cultures all over the world to create a sense of calm and inner harmony.

Although the practice has ties to many different religious teachings, meditation is less about faith and more about altering consciousness, finding awareness, and achieving peace.

  • Mindfulness Meditation :In mindfulness meditation, you pay attention to your thoughts as they pass through your mind. You don’t judge the thoughts or become involved with them. You simply observe and take note of any patterns.

    This practice combines concentration with awareness. You may find it helpful to focus on an object or your breath while you observe any bodily sensations, thoughts, or feelings.

  • Spiritual Meditation :Spiritual meditation can be practiced at home or in a place of worship. This practice is beneficial for those who thrive in silence and seek spiritual growth.This meditation is use in religion like Islam, Christian, and Hinduism

  • Mantra Meditation : Mantra meditation is a meditation approach that uses the repetition of phrases (mantras) to promote focus .

  • Transcendental Meditation :The Transcendental Meditation technique allows your active mind to easily settle inward, through quieter levels of thought.

Benefits of Meditation

  • Lower blood pressure

  • Improved blood circulation

  • Lower heart rate

  • Less perspiration

  • Slower respiratory rate

  • Less anxiety

  • Less stress

  • Deeper relaxation

  • More feelings of well-being

  • Makes you happy

  • Help you maintain a healthy weight.

  • Improve sleep

  • Increase focus

  • Protect against depression

How Mindfulness Meditation practice changed my life - A personal story

I have dreadful memories from when I was 7 or 9yrs and onwards of feeling terribly and anxious about anything and everything. Going to sleep was the worst.

Ideally I would have liked to stay at my mother’s side day and night

I didn’t want to go to school because I was feeling scared of being in a big group of children I didn’t know. I didn’t want to be in a car with more than three people in it because I was feeling terribly anxious about the car breaking . So many things make me afraid I was always terrified.

I constantly believed that something bad was going to happen to me, that I would get lost, that I'm going to be in a terrible accident, I can't go to swimming with my friends cause I think I'm going to drown ,i think I was going to die soon.

All this were my thoughts that kept me in a constant state of high alert and worry.

Life was very scary to me.

Although my parents took me the church and our pastor also prayed for me

But Still, anxiety had been a constant unpleasant companion in my life for almost four decades until I was introduced to the practice of mindfulness.

Mindfulness Meditation has transformed how I experience myself It has helped me see and understand my helpful and unhelpful habitual ways of thinking and behaving which in turn has helped me respond differently, more kindly and compassionately to myself, others and life's challenges. Mindfulness Meditation practice has help me pay attention and to reunite my body ,mind and soul.

How to Meditate

  • Take a seat: Find place to sit that feels calm and quiet to you.

  • Notice your body: You can sit in a chair with your feet on the floor, you can sit loosely cross-legged, you can kneel—all are fine. Just make sure you are stable and in a position you can stay in for a while

  • Feel your breath: Follow the sensation of your breath as it goes in and as it goes out

  • Notice when your mind has wandered :Inevitably your attention will leave the breath and wander to other places. When you get around to noticing that your mind has wandered—in a few seconds, a minute, five minutes—simply return your attention to the breath

  • Be kind to your wandering mind

    Don’t judge yourself or obsess over the content of the thoughts you find yourself lost in. Just come back

  • Think: about what you can do for others.

  • Imagine :Imagine all the positive vibe ,positive energy, your happiness and over all well-being

Meditation It is that simple and that challenging. It’s also powerful and worth it. You can try it I promise you are going to love it.

Thanks for reading.

Sponsors of Viktor105
empty
empty
empty

.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Viktor105
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Viktor105
2 years ago

Comments

Though I have experienced the spiritual meditation before and it really works for me in connecting to the spirit realm and has helped me have a different perspective about what God has for me.

Can we also call the mindfulness meditation to mean lost in deep thought? Because I feel it should go with it since it's all about thinking deep about yourself and things around you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, @princessbusayo by being aware and concentrating on your thinking. God to see you again and please keep on meditating I appreciate

$ 0.00
2 years ago