"I was diagnosed with Grand Mal - Tonic Phase"

0 19
Avatar for Venus1996
2 years ago

Health is one of the most important aspects of life that we need to give attention to and care about.

Let me share with you my health condition that was discovered way back when I was in third-year high school and how it affects my life as a student and a person.

I live in not so normal life when I was a kid due to my severe asthma. Yes, I'm an asthmatic kid, and being with asthma holds me back to do normal things like other kids do. I was only allowed to play with my cousin and friends at home but even though I have asthma I participated in school dance presentations during fiestas and school graduations always with my parent's permission.

My parents allowed me to do my passion which is dancing and playing sports with the help of the doctor's explanation. Dancing and playing sports help me to exercise my body and lungs.

When the day that I enter high school, many things change especially the environment. We know that the environment that high schools have is more mature than elementary schools.

My first year of high school is fun, no asthma attacks anymore. And I also enjoyed playing with my classmates at the plaza during break time. I feel like I'm starting to live a normal life, I can do things that other kids do and I ended my first year with lessons and fun. When I was in my second year, I met new friends and I am so happy at that time because my best friend and I were in the same section. My second year of high school went smoothly until I experience fainting and I don't know the real reason behind it. The thing I remember is the event before I fainted, I make that happening a secret because I don't want my parents to worry about me and limit me again from doing things.

My condition becomes worst when I am in my third year in high school. I fainted many times at school and even in our home. My parents are so worried, we go to different doctors, I have undergone different laboratory examinations and even physical examinations but they can't see any reason why I suddenly fainted until the priest in our town told my mom to try to have an examination for schistosomiasis.

What is Schistosomiasis?

This is a parasitic infection caused by a worm that is commonly found in freshwater bodies of stagnant water in tropical as well as subtropical regions. It can be detected by laboratory examination of stool and blood. It is from freshwater snails or snails that are living in the stagnant water.

How can you get this?

For example, if you have a cut or a wound on your foot, and that foot was soaked in that water the eggs may enter that wounded area. It will travel and may live in your brain, stomach, or your blood.

This is what it looks like if it will live inside your stomach.

Symptoms and Treatment:

If it is not chronic yet, you can experience the following;

  • Cough

  • Fever

  • Headache

  • Chills

  • Muscle pain

If it is chronic already you can experience the following;

  • Abdominal pain

  • Blood in urine

  • Severe headache

  • Blood in the stool

  • Problem in urination

Treatment:

  • If it is chronic it may undergo an operation.

  • And if it is not yet chronic it is usually treated with a short course of medication called praziquantel which kills the worm.

I underwent a Schistosomiasis laboratory examination and the result went positive. I am positive through blood, the worm is living in my blood. I went on medication and luckily I graduated being a person with schistosomiasis. I got my schistosomiasis in one of the places where I played volleyball, that place hits the top one of the most popular the schistosomiasis case.

I thought my nightmare will stop at that treatment but it gets more worst than we were expected. I fainted three to four times a month and one of the doctors in the schistosomiasis hospital told us to try to consult a neurologist based in one of the best hospitals in Tacloban City.

When we went home, my mom called the secretary of the Neurologist who was recommended by the doctor in the schistosomiasis hospital and we were scheduled for the other day since their list of OP is full. But before our schedule, I was rushed to that hospital because I fainted and it was too long to get back into consciousness. I underwent laboratory examinations such as;

  • MRI

  • CT

  • 2D echo

  • EEG

  • And many more.

I feel so down at that time because I thought I can live a normal life. After all the examinations the result went out I was diagnosed with Grand Mal Tonic Phase.

What is Grand Mal?

According to Mayo Clinic and it is also the explanation by my Neurologist and Psychologist Dr. Madriaga;

A grand mal seizure causes a loss of consciousness and violent muscle contractions. It's the type of seizure most people picture when they think about seizures.

A grand mal seizure — also known as a generalized tonic-clonic seizure — is caused by abnormal electrical activity throughout the brain. Usually, a grand mal seizure is caused by epilepsy. But sometimes, this type of seizure can be triggered by other health problems, such as extremely low blood sugar, a high fever, or a stroke.

How can I get this?

It was inborn but it was developed or triggered during my teenage phase.

How it can affect my life?

I feel like I'm useless, it triggers my anxiety and depression as well. I can't do everything I want. Everything must be controlled to avoid incidents that can kill me or hurt me.

How can it be treated?

I maintained a high dosage of medicine to make the electrical activity normal. I take it 3 times a day and it makes me fall asleep for a minute. The reason is to relax the brain activity and let the medicine do the job.


Let's educate ourselves more in the next part of the article.

To be continued.


Thank you so much for reading my article, I hope you learn and enjoy it. You can show your love by clicking the Subscribe, like, and upvote button.

I would like to say thank you to my generous sponsor @renren16 for her renewal of sponsorship. God Bless and Keep safe always.

Sponsors of Venus1996
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.07
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mihhaimarrian80
Sponsors of Venus1996
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Venus1996
2 years ago

Comments