Why it's not a shame to live with your parents in Eastern Culture

2 20
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Article # 116
Dated: 9th March 2022

Yesterday, I was scrolling through Youtube short videos and I saw a small clip from an interview of Aishwariya Rai (Famous Bollywood Actress and former Miss Universe) in David lettermen show. You can watch the clip as I am about to post the link here.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/mx2tQXsv3dk

So basically, David Lettermen tried to mock Aishwariya for living with her parents and he received a savage reply from her. I mean I am not against the culture of leaving the parents and building a future by themselves without the parent's support. It is very empowering. But I hate when someone mocks another culture.

So I realized I should write an article about why old children live with their parents and why it's not an embarrassment for them like it's considered in the western cultures.

Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty

Financial Reason is not involved

Westerns consider a person loser who lives with their parents as they feel the person is still dependent on his parents. But it's not the case in eastern cultures. Old children live with their parents not due to financial reasons. I can easily leave my parents and shift to another home because I have a stable income and I can live on my own. I don't need to bear the expenses of my parents because my dad is a pensioner and he gets a pension every month so they can also live on their own. And same goes for my brother.

But we prefer to live as a united family and stick to our family values. We don't want to get separated. And that's why eastern people have strong family bonds and how supportive they are of each other.

We don't want to leave our aging parents

It's considered a shame in eastern culture when a child leaves their old parents on their own. They want to take care of their aging parents as they believe their parents have done their best raising them so it's time to return the favor by taking care of them. Even though I believe nobody can return the favor for their commendable job.

You take care of your parents, your children take care of you and this is how the circle and phase of life move on.

There might be many reasons behind why older children don't leave their parents in eastern culture but I think these two reasons are the basic ones. I would love to hear about other reasons that you guys know.

I will try to compile an article tomorrow about the pros and cons of living with their parents.

Thank you for reading the article.

Source For Lead Image

4
$ 2.30
$ 2.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Pachuchay
Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Comments

As a Filipinos, we also have a strong bonds with our family. I don't have the heart to leave my aging parents. Living with them doesn't mean that we are being dependent on them, we just value our culture just like how western people value their so called being liberated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right about taking care of our parents but when there is no money, there is no cycle

$ 0.00
2 years ago