Life Time or Long term Complications After My Brain Surgeries

3 52
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Health

When you google "which human part is the most essential part of the human body" the first answer will come as

The Brain

The Brain is arguably the most essential organ in the human body.

As you can see the screenshot I Uploaded, so you won’t have trouble checking it on Google.

Consider CPU in a computer system, CPU is responsible for performing all the functions and instructions of computer programs. We could not run programs without a CPU.

Consider your Brain as your CPU. Can you imagine will you function without your CPU i.e. Brain.

Human body is complex but Brain is the most complex part of the human body. It controls and coordinates everything in the body. Brain controls and coordinate our actions, behavior, and intelligence, everything that we do, feel, think, and it can even make us able to store memories and feelings.  

Brain is heavily guarded by a bony covering called cranium. This complex and body part is responsible for most important functions like, movement, touch, vision, hearing, judgment, reasoning, problem-solving, emotions, body temperature, and learning.

Brain has a direct connection to the whole body through nerves.

Now God forbid if some abnormal cells have started growing in the brain. And it grows to the extent that medications are unable to kill those dangerous abnormal cells, a person has to go through major life-threatening surgery to remove those cells from the brain.

Now imagine a brain that is protected by so many hard layers of bones, is cut open with the help of tools like Drill machines, jigsaw, etc to remove the puss and tumor made by those abnormal cells.

After successful surgery, the person who has gone through brain surgery has to deal with some complications that can be a lifetime or in some cases for a long period of time. Those complications depend on the area of the brain where the tumor was located. A tumor can affect the functions controlled by that specific area of brain.

I have written an article Should Cancer Survivors and Battlers Considered as Heroes? in which I have written in detail about my two major brain surgeries.

The tumor in my brain was located in the frontal area of the skull. In the first surgery, Puss and tumor were removed along with infectious skull bone, and titanium mesh was placed as a filing in the second surgery.

Sketch Provided by the Vendor for Measuring the size of Titanium Mesh
Titanium Mesh Which is Currently Residing in my Head :D :D

Normally, people after brain surgeries can have different lifetime complications like difficulty walking, weakness on an arm or leg or one side of the body, difficulty concentrating or remembering things, behavior changes, anxiety and depression, mood swings, problems with speech, difficulty walking or moving, difficulty with speech or understanding, seizures (fits), severe tiredness (fatigue), problems with your vision and hearing, personality changes, memory problems.

But I will write about the complications I am facing and trying to overcome after the brain surgery.

Thankfully, I don’t have intense complications like seizures or problems with vision and hearing or difficulty walking or weakness in body parts. But I have other complications which can be seemingly easy but can affect anybody’s professional and personal life badly.

Dizziness with involuntary eye movement

Sometimes, the feelings of dizziness worst when I am working on my laptop or cell phone which makes it harder for me to excel in my professional life coz it's extremely important for me to work 9 to 5 sticking to my laptop as I am working as an IT guy.

When I stick my eyesight on something important on my laptop screen, a sudden eye movement occurs where I feel that my eyes were shut down for a very less moment like milliseconds. It feels downright scary and my heart suddenly starts pumping hard.

Difficulty Concentrating or Remembering things

I used to have a very sharp and quick memory but brain surgery has worsened its condition. People use to note down the tasks and instructions so that they can remember them. I have never used it before but now my memory has come down to the point that if someone gives me instruction and asks me about it after an hour, I can’t quickly remember it. I need to jog my memory to remember that instruction. This situation brings a huge amount of embarrassment for me in front of my office colleagues. They start making fun of me by saying your RAM is too slow. You should upgrade your hardware. The funny and sad thing they consider these mean comments as a form of a joke.

I can’t perform two tasks at the same time because it becomes too difficult for me to shift focus and attention from one task to another. Multitasking can help us become productive and also save a lot of time. It is extremely disappointing for me because I am unable to do multitasking as it’s difficult for me to rotate my concentration smoothly.

Fatigue

I need to put extra effort to concentrate a lot as my brain does not function like it used to do before brain surgery, which makes my mind extremely tired. It limits my ability to work hard and complete my work on schedule.

Mood Swings

Mood swings are getting worst day by day. I am trying to control my emotions by staying calm in every situation but sometimes it gets out of control.

Sometimes, I get really happy for no reason, and all of a sudden I become the unhappiest person in the world. Sometimes I find it really difficult to ignore getting irritated by petty things.

My family has constantly supported me from the beginning of my health problems and they are trying really hard to cope with my emotional and mental issues and I don’t blame them at all. If I were in their shoes, I could have never tolerated such behavioral issues.

I have some anger issues too which gets out of my hands sometimes. I get angry on small issues and I have no control over my anger. These anger issues are really affecting my relationship with my wife. She is always tolerant of my behavioral issues but sometimes it crosses her limit of toleration and we get into a verbal argument which leads to a big verbal fight. And in a result, our relationship is getting miserable day by day. I am trying my best to manage these issues and I hope one day I will be in control of my emotions.

Anxiety and Depression

All issues written above lead me to the most serious issue which is anxiety. Constant fear of what will happen to me. Will I be able to excel in my office with slow memory and zero multitasking skills? What will happen to my dream of living a happy and healthy life with my family after all these mental issues and emotional changes? Will I ever be able to regain my respect in my professional career??

Coping with these Long Term/Life Time Problems

We don't have rehabilitation centers here in Pakistan. Where teams are assigned to help patients in recovering mental and emotional health.

Whereas in Pakistan, Patients who need to be handle with care and love have to go through a lot of troubles if he has to schedule an appointment for a regular checkup after Brain surgeries. They have to face the poor and rude behavior of the hospital staff. The sad thing is, the reason for their unsympathetic behavior towards us is that we are just another patient in their eyes and they don't care if we die in the process or if we scream in pain as long as we are paying them in full they are happy.

So, patients here are left alone to survive on their own in this cruel and competitive world with all these mental, physical, and emotional issues.

I have no idea whether these issues will be for a long time or a lifetime. But I am pretty optimistic about recovering from all these issues after some time. I will be extremely honest with you. I am trying really hard to overcome these issues and become in charge of my own life and carry it the way I want to carry. The hardest battle is the one that a person fights with himself. Sometimes, I get success, and sometimes I fail miserably. But I know for sure one day I will be free of all these health issues and be normal back again like once I was.

In the end,

I would like to thank these two wonderful and amazing platforms, Noise.cash and Read.cash, where I can be my self, write about my feelings, explore new ideas, do some research, do lovely interactions with an extremely friendly audience, and most importantly where I can spend my time with ease and peace.

Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty

 

7
$ 0.43
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 2
Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Health

Comments

This reminds me of an FB video I've seen this morning. Let me include the link in case you might want to watch it yourself.

https://www.facebook.com/RealStoriesChannel/posts/3025352764365154

Anyway, just be strong and always pray. Whatever you're facing now, I hope it will become better soon. God bless you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ameen and thank you so much for your kind words and wishes. I am getting day better day by day and I hope in sha Allah, one day I will be completely normal and healthy as I was before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, just have faith and be strong.. and be super extra careful with everything.. health is wealth. :)

$ 0.01
3 years ago