Filipino Beliefs, that I known when I got here in province.

19 28
Avatar for UsagiGallardo215
2 years ago

Here in our country we have different kind of beliefs or (paniniwala) have you had that in your country? I want to know, and I also want you to know beliefs we have here in our country. I was born in Manila about 16 years and then after I was brought in this province and I was fascinated by the beliefs I heard! Does it really exists or happen?

Before we proceed thank you so much for reading my previous article "Not Aborted, But Adopted" (part 1) the second part will probably be tomorrow, but for now Let's proceed

Sponsors of UsagiGallardo215
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much my dear sponsors, do visit their works because you have so much to learn from them.

Superstition in the Philippines

In our country, a handful of superstitious beliefs exist that are very famous amongst the natives. Theses beliefs are typically introduced to them at the early stage through childrens book or bedtime stories. It is believed that if natives aren't careful to follow them, a curse will befall to them.

But my mom never told me about those stuff, except for we have our little garden at the back of our house and maybe I did something wrong. My foot really swollen and I couldn't walk, when my grandmother saw it, she assumed that I was played by a dwarf because I did something wrong and I forgot to say tabi tabi po or excuse me I'm sorry. Then I was need to bought to a faith healer and after he sees me he knows that a dwarf played a trick to me and it's all my fault. After he cured me he said that I need to apologize to the dwarf I disturbed or I'll never be healed. Then after I got home i apologize instantly and told to never do that again.

Knocking on wood

When I was a kid me and my cousins knocked on the wood after we said words that were not meant to be, specially when its terribly bad. Like a slip of tongue, something unintentional. For example I might hit by a car after I cross the road and die. The person with you will knocks on the wood so it will come true. And we don't have to predict our life we just need to keep safe and be sure of our moves.

Pagpag

In manila the wake or remain stayed in the funeral. Unlike here in the province the wake stayed in their houses before being buried in the cementary. They'd said after you came visit the dead you might as well don't go straight your house they said the spirit of the dead may might follow you. You might stay somewhere else before going home.

Turning your plate when someone leaves in the middle of meal

I've first saw this when I was in my in-laws house, my father In law where running away in a hurry it was important so he got away while were on the middle of eating. All of a sudden they turned all the plates in the table then I wonder why? It's because they said it can prevent an accident to happen.

Another superstitious beliefs in the table is, after you finished eating and a person is left behind, you shouldn't not leave them for he or she will be lonely for the rest of his or her life.

Be careful when showing fondness over babies

After having four child I found myself believing this kind of superstitious saying that when someone noticed your child they need to hold the tummy of my child and said "pwera usog." For example at the vaccination center If someone noticed my baby and said, you're baby is so healthy and cute. I'll say "pwera usog po" Because If they told that my baby will experience pain in their tummy or even vomiting. We also put red lipstick with cross signs and wearing red bracelets so the bad spirits will not get near my baby.

Image source

Siblings should not marry within the same year

This superstitious is called "sukob" Me and my husband were decades together but where not yet married. Yet I heard that when it comes to marriage, siblings should not marry within the same year because they said you'll divide the luck between the two couples.

Another one was before the day of your marriage you should not wear your weddings dress or your not allowed to see each other or else something will happen.

Closing Thoughts

We may may have different beliefs, either they are good to be true or not. But it's always up to to us to believe or not. But I do believe and as the old ones said there's nothing to loose If we believe and do the things we should do. We may not proved that things will happen if we disobeyed but at least we give it a try and thats only a proved that we are a true Pilipinos. And they are so many beliefs and I'm not even in one fourth but here are just some beliefs that I've known after I got here in the province and thank you for reading.

Thank you so much for dropping by, your comments are important to me.

Love, UsagiGallardo215 🌙

Lead image source

Recent articles

Not Aborted, but Adopted

My Articles and the Random Rewarder

7
$ 2.86
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 3
Avatar for UsagiGallardo215
2 years ago

Comments

Ganyan din sa amin sis, graveh talaga ang paniniwala natin sa ganyan, tapos sa amin pag 6pm na dapat nasa loob kana ng Bahay, bawal kanang lumabas kasi hindi na daw yan atin na oras, ahaha, my ganun pa pala?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahh hidni kopo alam yun pero nasasatin nman po ang decision kung maniniwala po tyu o hndi ehh, wala namn pong mawawala ehh kung ssubukan po nating sumunod

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala sis lahat ng binanggit mo ganyan din ang paniniwala namin, meron pa nga kapag daw nanaginip ka nga nalagas yung ipin mo ikagat mo lang daw yun sa kahoy sumpa daw yun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo opo sis Mero din po ganyan Samin at nakaka takot po ehh hayy Mey mamatay namen kapag ganun ang napa ginipan, Pero C Lord Lang nakaka Alam Ng lahat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We Filipinos are the masters of this superstitious beliefs lods, even also in my province those practices are still in effect in most houses and families hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes we are and the superstitious beliefs that I just wrote was only in a one fourth or not its really a lot and I Find it cute lods when I heard all of those hahaha. Happy Monday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of superstitious beliefs lods, especially if we talk about when someone dies. Hehe that wedding thingy.!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis uso din iyan dto sa amin ung porselas na ganyan sa bata. Para kontra balis. Binibili namin iyan kung tawagin dto sa, amin sa batangas ay ita, iyan kase ang mlimit nagbebenta dto sa amin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahh morning po sis sorry po late reply, dito naman po sa amin ehh wala pong tawag diyan pero nung mga baby po mga anak paligi po akong may ganyan para po sa kanila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halos pare parehas tayo ng mga kasabihan sa mga probinsya natin sis. Pero nasa atin padin kung maniniwala tayo kasi wala naman silang scientific basis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po sis totoo po yan kaya nga hangang hanga ako ehh kasi totoo sya kung nabasa mo article ko bout sa asawa ko yung nabanlian nya yung lamang lupa tas gumanti, check mopo sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My family also believes on that kind of superstitions and until now, we applied some of them hahaa. I just followed them because I believe that there's nothing wrong following them hehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's so true sis but of course for someone like me lived on manila since birth I wouldn't know such things as like this but of course there's nothing were going to loose If we believe and I'm happy to know this kind of beliefs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing wrong if we don't believe those superstitious. The important is we firmly believe to God.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A hundred and one percent sis, and as the old ones said there's nothing to loose If we try believing and doing things the way it should be

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard also those superstitious beliefs from my ancestors. But I slowly ignored that and I don't believe anymore since they are unbiblical teachings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So am I sis but after years living here in the province I got to realize things that I need to get used to like for further wrong move a superstitious belief will be said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First time ever listened it. Its good to hear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend, I hope you like it

$ 0.00
2 years ago