A Single Teen-Mom: A Message To All Young Ladies

4 47
Avatar for Usagi
Written by
2 years ago

It was never my intention to become a mother at the age of 16. I was about to graduate high school when I became pregnant. First and foremost, I was terrified and worried to inform my parents. As far as I recall, I kept it hidden for six months. My tummy was not as large at the time because my fetus was also little, according to my Ob-Gyne.

Image from: Unsplash

Going back, I also recall how I had intended to terminate my child. But then I understood that sacrificing your biological infant for your own reason is not just unethical, but also immoral. Every night when I found out I was pregnant, my conscience followed me.

After 9 months, I am a proud mother of a wonderful son. I almost sobbed a lot when I heard him crying right after the doctor took him out of my belly, and I thank God for guiding me throughout my pregnancy. My parents despised me so badly that they ditched and kicked me out of their home. Thankfully, my child's father did not abandon me.

Image from: Unsplash

I decided to return home when my Loving One reached four months old since my father was looking for me and they wanted me back home with my kid. My parents gave me a chance at that time. I planned to return home, but my child's father insisted that we must be separated if we were to return back to my parents. We were already having issues as a couple at the time. I made the decision to come home.

My life seemed to be in a mess. When I returned to my family, my partner had abandoned us at the moment. I've never heard anything about him since then, and he never supported our child. That strengthened me as a woman. With the help of my parents, I am now raising my child with all my effort. I thanked them sincerely since I wouldn't be where I am now if it weren't because of them.

To all ladies, motherhood is a difficult part of being a woman. Before you decide to have a child, you must think about a lot of factors. It's important to consider also looking for a good partner who will never neglect you.

Image from: Unsplash

Please also look at how contraceptives can help you avoid unintended pregnancies. When I mention contraceptives, I'm referring to a type of birth control that both men and women can use to avoid unwanted pregnancies.

Condoms, contraceptive pills, IUDs, and other devices are examples.

Image from: Unsplash

"The Philippine government has made efforts to improve access to contraceptive services, but abortion is illegal under all circumstances and is thus highly stigmatized. Nonetheless, abortion is common, but is often performed in unsanitary conditions and using outdated techniques."

- Lawrence B. Finer and Rubina Hussain

For your information, abortion is still illegal here in our country, Philippines.

4
$ 0.24
$ 0.10 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.09 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.05 from @Gwenie
Sponsors of Usagi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usagi
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

So proud of you sis. 💗💗

This is exactly the reason why I don't want to have a child. Napaka bigat kasi na obligasyon sa totoo lang. Lucky you sis na nanjaan parents mo, and your current partner loves your child as well. 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sobrang napaka bigat sis. Lesson learned talaga. Blessed pa din naman to kaya push lang. Wag na lang mag mana sa tatay charot lang hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to know that despite the challenges that you faced, you are still fighting and living your life. Your parents sound caring. Even though they left you to fend for yourself, they still were not able to resist not having you by their side. I hope that you and your son live a long and happy life together with your parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss sister I am really grateful to have them. I remember they once neglected me but they give another chance to prove that my child is a blessing from God. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago