"No Problem" Hints at a Problem

23 80
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Did you mention "No problem?"

When I was having a video chat with my school friend, we had a little difference in opinion. He requested me to do something that I didn't agree with. He told, "No problem." I hunched there was a problem. He didn't like my saying no.

Funnily, some of us often mention "No problem" in everyday communication which is an expression of a little problem or displeasure!

After listening to a "no" in a conversation, most of us lose interest in continuing the conversation further. Then, either we abruptly stop the communication or show displeasure by saying "No problem." It is an effort to divert the topics of discussion as if "I am no longer interested in this topic."


When and why do people say "No problem?"

When there is a problem, people often avoid saying about the problem. They try saying something else. It is a good way of avoiding a negative conversation. Either you can say explicitly about something else, or you can remain silent.

There are many such situations, people fumble with words, and say "No problem."

  • A person proposes to another person for a special friendship and gets rejected

  • A person asks for special help from another person and gets no help

  • A person seeks money as a loan (help) from an acquaintance and gets nothing

  • A person asks for knowhow about a special business plan from a close friend or a relative and gets a negative answer

  • A person wants to know a secret formula for trading success from a social media friend and gets a vague answer

  • A person asks for free help for doing a paid job from a friend and gets no free help but the friend demands a share for accomplishing the job

  • A social media acquaintance asks a friend for a retweet, "like," comment and gets a fake response and nil support

And, so on.

Image Source: Photo by Ann H on Pexels.


Closing thoughts

The power of 'NO' is enormous, and it can save a "no" sayer from providing free support to fake friends and acquaintances.

  • But, the people who ask for help and support may get disappointed and end up saying "No problem!"

  • Saying "No problem" is proof of displeasure and "problem" inside the mind.

May we adopt any other phrase for expressing our displeasure?

  • We may thank an acquaintance, friend, or relative for their past support even if they fail to support us with a new problem or uneasy situation.

Life is a long journey and people may have their own problems, issues, and choices. Let people live with their present choices and life options.


Postscript

We have not considered the "No problem" replies when people mean that "You are seeking help, I don't mind helping you."

These are positive gestures and are always welcome.


Sponsor of this article:-

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image:  Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#communication #conversation #dialogue

Aug 10, 2022

18
$ 4.78
$ 3.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 12
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It is about an habit form. Some people are fun of saying "OK OK OK", others says " No problem " even when there is problem. So it all depends on an individual way or mannerism.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right you are:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the discussion you brought out. Actually the phrase "no problem" is already entrenched in our ways of speaking. I doubt it will disappear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

"No problem" will remain as a signature of displeasure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are correct on that friend.. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your comment:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can never run away from NO PROBLEM. Neither it can be avoided. Sometimes it gives some pleasure to the person, perhaps a person hits someone's car (accidentally), however it doesn't make harm or damage to car and person... If he says, like SORRY man it was an accident, he would probably say like Take care NO PROBLEM. So it was not displeasure or made someone displeased

Anyways nice and great

$ 0.01
1 year ago

"No problem" has many meanings depending on the situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe 😊😉 yes indeed, it has

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many things can be written about the "No problem" phrase! Yesterday, again a ReadCasher wrote "No problem" when I refused to help (baby feed)!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe, you should have not refused to help.... Anyways NO PROBLEM sis ... 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have answered the blogger with ways out of his questions. But, he has NO TIME to read and learn! He demands a readymade solution that doesn't contribute towards his capability building.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meanings, he was just a lazy guy, and he seeking shortest path... I was just kidding

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, some people are lazy and shameless too. They are sick of seeking help without trying it themselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They don't deserve any reply... Hehehe This morning, I saw someone replied to my post in noise.cash that it is look like I have been traveling somewhere, though I write post that it was a photography of my university. But they dams care about the contents, but just to reply and get some BCH.... But why would I give a FT.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It happens more on NoiseCash.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha I say "No Problem" when people ask me to do something for them mostly. I say no problem because most people think they are bothering me but they are not...I am always happy to help. A friend asked me to help her with credit today because she was having issues, I said no problem and in less than 30 seconds, I sent it to her. She called me later to return the money and I didn't pick her calls. 😂😂🤣.I mostly say no worries and no problem to let people know they are not bothering me.

I totally understand your point as most people say it to avoid dealing with the problem or even saying what is in their heart.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

In my experience, I mostly hear "No problem" when I refuse acquaintances/friends to support them unconditionally (without considering if the topic is relevant or irrelevant)! It is an expression of displeasure (problem), like "No problem, if you don't help."

Today, a blogger asked me about some particular information on a topic and I advised him to read my blogs where I already addressed his question. The blogger replied "No problem" and added that he may not have the time and intention to read my articles.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂🤣🤣 I know those people too. They feel pained and would just say "No problem" to "dead" the conversation. I feel you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We usually use the word no problem after helping someone. But really when someone asked about our health and we say there is no problem then surely there is problem.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Today, somebody asks me for help, but I couldn't directly help. The person says, "No problem." This is the reply I often get when I refused to help others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very nice article. Thank you for your thorough writing. The 'no problem' is really annoying. However, using this word can easily avoid the topic. But we have to be more careful about our choice of words.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I appreciate your frank comment and nice choices of words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago