Tears Of The Sun

10 26
Avatar for Tyelev
Written by
2 years ago

On a cloudy day, when the sun had gone to rest. The rains battled aimlessly with lightning in the sky. A strike and the rains fell effortlessly from the mouth of the sky, transferring it's aggression upon those who walked the earth.

 

I was wrapped around my thoughts like a bird in a nest. I prayed fervently as though it would be my last.

 

“ Lord, please heal my mother, she is all I have got, please!,” tears began to stream down my cheeks like waters emitting from a rock.

Life has never been fair to mama. She came to life as a product of rape, so her parents sold  her off to Madam Koyikoyi, a Lagosian (a resident of Lagos, a lagoon area in Nigeria) who sold children for home services, others for sexual pressure. My mother tried her best to live a moral and decent life but when the fags of fate strikes, doom is bound to surface in twisted phases.

As fate would have it. She was sold to the Adewales, a family of great repute. Mr. Tosin Adewale was a business tycoon, a successful man in all spheres of life except religion. He believed in the death of Christ to save humanity of her sins. Hence, he saw no reason to go to church or whatsoever, since every sin was automatically wiped out through the cross. What a  religious dogma?

He was nothing but a terrible whore monger. He would kill to have whatever entices him under skirts. Well, his money always worked for him, until my mother (Joy) came into the picture.

 

His wife, Mrs. Adesuwa was a christian at heart. She loved as though her breath depended on it. she had no child of her own due to several miscarriages but she never gave room for that to be an issue. She persuaded her husband in getting a maid when she was heavy with pregnancy. A thing which was  an inconceivable idea in the early years of her marriage.

This is because she perceived maids as a threat to her home. She finally got rid of her insecurities and my mother was brought in. So, My mother's stay in the mansion was a glorious one, as Mrs. Adesuwa treated her as a family member and her husband showered her with luxurious gifts, occasionally. He believed she was a naive girl who could be won over with gifts. After several presents; the anointed day finally came. His wife was in the hospital for delivery.

 

He made up an excuse and came back home to accomplish the mission.

 

“ joy, stop mopping. Come sit by me, you're too industrious for my liking, you need to loosen up a bit or are we maltreating you?, he asked.

 

“ No, sir. Not in anyway, you have been the family I have always wanted and I am very grateful about it but I can't sit beside you, sir." She stuttered.

 

“ You See, you are no longer a child and beyond a shadow of doubt your fruits are ripe and ready to be plucked, and your hips are crying out to be touched. Your beauty goes beyond artificial enhancement. When you walk, I understand why Samson died in the hands of Delilah. I would give you everything you seek of life, if you let me have a taste of the fruit planted between your legs, joy,” he concluded and walked closer to her, held her hands and then made a move to touch her from behind but she thwarted his hands off.

 

“ Sir, I can't do it, I'm a virgin and want to remain one until I get married, please.” She withdrew herself from him.

 

“ Who said I don't want to marry you? Once I taste and see that you are sweeter than my wife, she would have herself to blame. Besides, do you think I married her as a virgin? Men don't need novice in bed, no!! We need professionals, haven't you read- Why men love prostitutes? You should see this as a training or preparation for the future for your husband,” he concluded and desperation was cooking inside him and the urge took over.

 

“ Please, sir. Don't do this!!,” she cried and moaned but he stopped when he finally plant a seed in her. She bled all over .

 

“ I'm sorry about this, it was the devil's work, I promise it won't repeat itself. Please, don't tell my wife. He zipped up and left her motionless on the floor as she groaned in pain.

 

In order to save her face from the shame; she packed her things and left a few months after discovering that she was pregnant. Buried in frustration, she wondered around the streets and slept wherever fate pleased.

She deployed selling strategies to survive in the streets. She sold pure water to cars on motion not minding the risk involved. She needed the money, so that she could feed herself and the baby in her. She made a home out of an incomplete storey building  where she gave birth to a son (me) with the help of a mad lass. She said it was a miracle, the way the mad lass helped her.

Years rolled fast and she went through hell to see me through school.

 

“ You are not an abominable act, my son. One day you will soar in the skies like eagles and never remember the days you slept on an empty stomach, persevere and make me proud, my son.” She would say with a dry smile hanged on sadness.

 

“ I will do my best, mama or die trying,” I would always reassure her.

 

I had always dreamt of a day when I would be able to provide my mother with the good things of life.

Well, the day finally came. I had just secured a job after several turn downs from my employers in the past years.  My joy knew no bound. As I journey back home to break the good news, I found the one person who stood by me through thick and thin lying helplessly on the road after being ran over by a car.

It happened right before my very eyes and I ran to help the man put her in the car. There was something about how she looked at the man. Like the sight of the man made a greater impact to the accident or was perhaps another catastrophic outcome of an event.

 

“ Young man, who is she to you, if I may ask?. He looked curious and the waters of perplexity did a fast one on him.

 

“ She is my mother, the only person that I have in this world,” I said with a cracking voice and my eyes betrayed me, as tears gushed out uncontrollably.

“ I'm so sorry, young man, He muttered in a low tone.

 

“ And will that make her feel any better, sir? You have ruined me completely. That woman has never known joy all her life, and now that I am capable of uplifting her status, you are about to snatch her away from me.” I resigned to the floor in tears, hoping for a miracle when the doctor came out of the ward.

 

“ There was a massive internal damage, which led to serious bleeding. She might live but it would take God's touch. He was about to leave immediately when I  held his tie and shook him in frustration.

 

“ You go nowhere!!!! Eeeiirrrhhh!!!  God's touch? No!!! noooo!! I can't see God, so let him use you that I can see!!! Please, be God for today and save my mother, I beg of you, sir.” I pleaded in tears and the man who had driven us to the hospital held me back.

 

“ Doctor, can we see her?” He inquired. The doctor’s suit was in disarray, I made sure of it, his tie twisted like a tiny rope hung around a goat's neck.

 

“ You can see her, sir,’ he said,  trying to comport himself.

We opened the ward and I saw my mother's eyes in bewilderment, the moment she sat her eyes on the man. she coughed in between her words.

 

“ It's a good day, my boy. You're not a bastard. This is your father, my son. Mr. Adewale, this is your son; the product of what you did on that fateful day. Son, don't be angry with him, be at peace, she said smiling.

 

“ Mama, haba!! I have a house now. I just get a well paying job. You will never suffer again, I have a car too. Please, live for me, mama. I have a job now. Please, don't leave me.” I pleaded with tears streaming down my cheeks.

 

“ That you have made it, is enough to be happy, my boy. Mr. Adewale, take care of him,’ she then breathed her last.

 

“ Ahhhh! Mama has cheated me, you can't die. OK, let me join you, please. You said we would be together forever.” I quaked in tears and Mr. Adewale tried to comfort me but his words were like thorns crushing my vain as I saw him as the cause of my pains.

 

Thank you for reading, do well to subscribe. I look forward to seeing your comments on this story. Do have a wonderful day ahead.

 

2
$ 0.18
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Maryjacy
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 2
Sponsors of Tyelev
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tyelev
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Wow!!! This is a top notch! I love the way you started the story but emotional , just a little thing to make tears drop from my eyes.

I just wish she will come back to life to eat the fruit of her labour, i believe if cry will bring her back to life, your tears would have do that, i could feel your grievance at the moment she breath her last, scene with a tragedy. Well God knows the best. And I believe she will be very happy anywhere she is that you end up becoming successful in life after all the pain she went through just to make sure you become great I'm life.... He should just find a place in his heart to forgive his father, though not easy, but to err is human, to forgive is Divine.

Kudos to you on the story!, I enjoyed reading it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much for reading. I appreciate your input.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worth reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a story, I read every line with much concentration. I hope this is a fictional characters because I can't hold back my tears reading this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is loosely based on real event, boss. I appreciate your contributions. Life is a rose. In as much as we appreciate its beauty, we should be aware of its thorns.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Contribution is in both ways friend, and it's my pleasure reaching out to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate your sponsorship, boss. It means a lot to me. Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure once again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A wonderful story, i hope he find a place in his heart to forgive his father though it will be hard to do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, forgiveness from where he sits, is far stretched. Although, blood they say is thicker than water after all. Thank you very much for reading and appreciating. I hope to see you again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago