My Interview With MMA Fighter Shayaan

11 111
Avatar for TruSuccessXpert
3 years ago

Michaelson Williams interview with Mixed Martial Artist: Shayaan Khokhar

Before we get start I would personally like to thank Shayaan Khokhar and everyone who made this interview opportunity possible. Pay close attention to the very special people who help Shayaan stay in fighting condition, and to his sponsors. Shayaan is truly an outstanding and bright individual who with continued support will go far. Thank you to all the photographers who contributed these amazing pictures of Mr. Khokhar. Let's Get Started!

Michaelson Williams: Tell our readers about the name Shayaan. What's its origin?

Shayaan Khokhar: Shayann is of Persian descent and means glory. The name Shayaan was given to me by my  Mother and Father together.

Williams: Shayaan what’s your fighting background?

Khokhar: Going back, I started with Shotokan Karate when i was around 11 years old, and that was all I really knew until the middle of high school. I started wrestling in 11th grade when I was 16 and I was all in. I attended the summer camps, weekend practices, off-season camps, etc.

Going into college, I formed the NC State Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Club just to get partners to train with since I didn’t know any grappling really. That got parlayed into training at Elevate MMA where I picked up some more in-depth instruction in grappling and also Muay Thai.

Williams: What can you teach our readers about the professional fighters journey thus far?

Khokhar: Currently, I’m still amateur but even so far, there has been a lot that has come up that many people don’t realize. Promoters, branding yourself, rulesets, cutting weight for same-day weigh ins, sponsorships, social media, etc.

Getting started and acclimated to these kind of things early and often in your career will pay dividends later.

Williams: Did you attend any classes for specialized training or martial art systems of any kind?

Khokhar: Nothing too crazy here. My first and only gym has been Elevate MMA with coach Cody Maltais, so I attend all classes there. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (Gi and No Gi), Striking, Boxing, Wrestling, just to name a few.

Williams: How do you maintain a high level of fighter fitness when approaching fight time.

Khokhar: There is definitely a LOT that goes into this part, and I’ve actually made some recent changes that speak to this as well. Before, I was doing a lot of skill work (pads, grappling, some sparring) and that was my primary cardio source.

But as I’ve been getting more experience (I’ve had 8 sanctioned kickboxing fights and 1 MMA fight right before COVID-19), I’ve put a lot of stock into strength and conditioning, and also recovery. When in camp, I do cryotherapy, massage therapy, and epsom bath regularly to recover. My new strength coach is also a pro MMA fighter (Adli Edwards) who is well-versed and educated, and I can definitely feel some differences working with him, due in part to his HR focused conditioning.

Diet is also key. I don’t consume any alcohol or processed foods at LEAST 4 weeks out but ideally 8 weeks out (depending on when the fight is offered and accepted). Typical rules in addition - avoid fried foods, pizza, fatty foods, etc.

Williams: How do manage being an up-and-coming fighter while living a normal life?

Khokhar: There definitely are a lot of sacrifices made in order to train and be ready. Birthday celebrations, holidays, time spent with your SO --- these are all things that have to be put on the back burner sometimes. Thankfully what I currently do as a day job (working in IT sales with a background in electrical engineering) allows me flexibility. My coach also works in the same building and floor with me, so it made midday training easy as well from a logistics standpoint...

Read The Rest Of Shayaan's Story In The current Issue Of MMAP Magazine:  https://mmapmagazine.com

Read back issue free: https://mmapmagazine.com/true-success-journey-books/mmap-magazine-back-issues/

Follow Shayaan On IG: https://www.instagram.com/shayaans/

COMING SOON! My interview with Billionaire Entrepreneur and Founder of Schollyme Melvin Nunnery

Register at MMAP Magazine today. It won't cost you anything.

25
$ 8.67
$ 8.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of TruSuccessXpert
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TruSuccessXpert
3 years ago

Comments

Hey everyone thanks for the comments on this article. I have noticed that anyone posting a couple of words in their comment are automatically marked as spammer and given a -1 or more on the comment. You may want to post a bit more in your comments before something more negative happens to your account. Thank Again!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have read it and feeling better today

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow fantastic article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lovely one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like this article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great. Glad to see him with you. He is looks like a boxer!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How do you maintain a high level of fighter fitness when approaching fight time nice question

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this was great im a mma fan ever since hmmmn maybe i should check the video interview than reading this. 🧐

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great post. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is amazing. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice post. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago