My Interview With Dr. Marty, The KINDNESS Entrepreneur

5 74
Avatar for TruSuccessXpert
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Happiness, Advice, Fear, Future, ...

This interview took over 5 hours and was a great deal of fun! Dr. Marty Fallor had some great stories to tell and really good tips for entrepreneurs on their success journey.

Interview by: Michaelson Williams

You may not know this but you don't have to be a cut throat in business to become a success. Every once in awhile you come across people who are truly kind in the world. Selfless people who seem to beam the light of goodness. I'm not talking about the type of person who simple needs to let others know they are contributing “good” to the world. I'm talking about the type of people that if no one is watching, someone is still talking about how kind they truly are. I believe Dr. Marty Fallor to be one of these people, and you can decide for yourself if you agree with me, once you've read this full article. Dr. Marty is to me the KINDNESS Entrepreneur through and through. Even bit of information from my research was consistent to how my interview with Dr. Marty went. Speaking with Marty was like talking to an old friend that I've known since my youth. I just know that you're going to enjoy what Dr. Marty has to say in this article as much as I did chatting with him over the phone. Enjoy!

Dr. Marty and exchanged our greetings and had a bit of small talk as he dealt with some small technical issues on his end, and I prepared to present my first question. Right out of the gate we noticed a commonality between the two of us, which was that people trusted us with important details of their life, even upon a first meeting. I explained that people must feel a sense of comfort and safety to want to share their personal stories with me. After a bit of lite heartedness laughter at the similarity Dr. Marty and I expressed how grateful we were that people trusted us in this way. This lead to Marty telling me a story about a older couple he met at a charity event that he was hosting.

Dr. Marty: I take it as a complete compliment that I put out a vibe that let's people know that their person stories are safe with me. Most times the conversations that I'm having with people of the personal nature, have to deal with relationship or financial issues. I remember back in the day I hosted or co-hosted a number of charity events with some of them having hundreds of people at the event. Somehow, at least for a few minutes

I would be in intimate conversations with other people. The one story that I like to tell is the conversation with the older couple. Like I said the couple was having financial difficulties. So the couple shared with me what was going on in their life, and apparently I gave them some fabulous advice. The following ball in San Diego that I was hosting about five or six months later, I saw that same couple. The couple found me at this event and said that they could not thank me enough for the advise that I gave them, about their financial situation. The older couple said that they took my advice and things were going so much better. They couple were thinking that they would have to leave California, but now they were thriving. I remember looking at the couple very appreciatively, but in the back of my mind I was thinking, I wish I could remember what it was that I told them to turn their life around.

Michaelson: Marty and I laughed about the fact that he didn't remember the great advice that he had given to the older couple, but the story was very impactful. He told me that the couple were really in dire straights as they had been living off credit cards, and almost homeless. This made me think that you can never tell where the words that will change life is going to come from, or from whom. At this time I asked Marty if he recalled the first time that he was conscious of the fact that people seemed to put their trust in him? Now I do have to be sure to state that at this time I am reeling Marty in, because Dr. Marty is asking questions concerning my wellbeing, and the interview is suppose to be about him. I guess once a doctor, always a doctor. Okay, back to Marty's answer to my question.

Dr. Marty: It's funny because as I was telling you this little anecdotal story I was thinking to myself where did this trust that people have for me come from? As a physician and even in medical school we had to have that patient, doctor confidentiality, and so I used to it. The confidentiality of other people became my default position in every conversation, and in life. People assume that when they are talking to the doctor that whatever they say is going to be held in confidence. But to answer your question directly, I don't really know when people began to trust me in this way. In my professional life as a doctor the confidentiality of others was a natural part of my practice, so I think that consumed me, and naturally moved into my personal life as well. It just so happened that these confidential conversations was now outside of the perimeters of my life as a medical surgeon.

But because I limited my social interactions during my time as a medical student, it wasn't until I retired as a physician that I notice people confiding in me about their personal life. I'll try to think about it a bit and maybe later in the interview we can talk about it more.

Michaelson: Sure that's no problem at all. So, I read as I was doing my research for this interview that you lived in New York, but you just mentioned that you are from Pennsylvania. Can you tell me about that?

Dr. Marty: I grew up in New York. But, I like throw in a little slapstick joke to people that I first meet, that “I grew up in a small town back east call New York, have you heard of it?” And sometimes that gets me a little laugh from people as an icebreaker. So yes I did grew up in New York, but I attended a five year medical program in Pennsylvania in association with Penn State University. This was a program that was developed through Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia Pennsylvania, which was the second oldest medical school in the country, after Harvard. Now I didn't like the cold so when it was time to decide where I wanted to open my practice I chose Southern California. When I lived and went to college at Penn State University I was 17 years old. I started school early that's why I was so young in college. I graduated medical school at the age of 22.

Michaelson: Dr. Marty did you decide this path to becoming a doctor on your own?

Dr. Marty: Interesting question Michaelson. Dr. Marty Fallor continues...

READ FULL ARTICLE IN THE JANUARY 2021 ISSUE OF MMAP MAGAZINE

2
$ 0.45
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of TruSuccessXpert
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TruSuccessXpert
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Happiness, Advice, Fear, Future, ...

Comments

I must say that push ups and walking lounges are really effective.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Loner I think you posted your comment here for a completely different article that I wrote on fitness. This article is about the amazing Kindness Entrepreneur Dr. Marty Fallor who I interview for this quarters MMAP Magazine issue. Nevertheless think you for the comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh! Yes it was supposed to be for that article. I don't know what happened, maybe I accidentally clicked this article while my browser is loading , so it was commented here, instead of the other article. Sorry for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mr.Marty is successful entrepreneur as I read.I respect such business men.They are doing great job.I did not know that you are a journalist.Congrats on article.Happy New Year.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello Purebeauty! Yes I am not just the Editor-n-Chief of MMAP Magazine. I write many of the magazine articles and perform all of the interviews which are in the magazine. I enjoy being a journalist very much so, as I get to interview many people from all walks of life. Thanks for the comment and hope you're having a fantastic New Year thus far!

$ 0.00
3 years ago