The other day's celebration of dussehra gets me into nostalgia.

7 26
Avatar for Trofi01
1 year ago

I saw @TheGuy post here about Dussehra and I too thought to write about it. He told us what's the importance of celebrating Dussehra in our country and why and how it is celebrated. You can read his article here.

So, I was studying in my room, and it was around 1930 hours, and there comes a shouting of little kids "JAI SHREE RAM", "JAI SHREE RAM", and I passed a smile to myself 'these kids are so cherishing' and then sound of crackers can be heard in a moment after. Now, I wanted to see if are they celebrating Dussehra. I slide the door and saw some burning lights and I was sure "yes, we are celebrating it". So, I told my brother the Ravana is being burned, he retorted let's go and witness it.

I affirmed and we reached the spot to witness the celebration one of the senior members of the society was capturing video (was live on Facebook) and he recorded everyone and then came to me and said: "BACHCHO KO BHI MAZA AYEGA LIVE KR DIYA HUN SABKO" (boys will enjoy it, I put everyone on Facebook live) and I said yes they'll enjoy it.

When it was finished we came back and then I remembered how we used to celebrate in our school. And, in this post, this is what I am going to tell you, how we used to celebrate it.

So, in our school, we used to celebrate these functions very enthusiastically. And we used to make an effigy depicting Ravana. When we were juniors seniors used to order us to create that effigy and guided us along, when we become seniors we assumed the responsibility and the yearlong practice of celebrating.

The effigy that we used to make was made up of wood, and then we used to cover it with clothes which consisted of clothing him into a shirt, pants, and boots and a name tag mentioning "RAVANA" and we used to put big crackers inside the Ravana (into various parts of his body). The effigy which started being created at around 1100 hours was getting a finishing touch at around 1800 hours and putting it upright in the place where we used to burn it (power of teamwork when hundreds of juniors and seniors work altogether) and which was the old basketball court in front of our house. The Ravana created was not any small one it was always of the height of 12-15 high, we never compromised with its height.

The dress code which was in practice and which we continued was a white plain shirt, with blue jeans, and shoes. Dressed like gentlemen, all shirts tucked inside.

And we gather at the chosen place and wait for our officers principal, headmaster, registrar, and the learned faculty members. When they all arrive by 19;30 hours, the principal sir used to light the Ravana on fire and everyone starts crowing and followed by music and dance and bursting crackers, which continues till the Ravana is completely burnt down and another few minutes of dancing and mingling with seniors, juniors, and teachers, and officers. Then we used to head towards the mess and receive our food and it was always a special dinner "BADA KHANA" or the so-called "Regimental dinner". The officers and teachers used to join us in the mess.

So, this was a glimpse of how we used to celebrate DUSSEHRA in our school.

Though I don't have pictures I think I can arrange a video which if I would I will post on a different day in a new post.

And, one more thing I want to put to light is that these days I am so busy completing my job that's why I am being away from here for a considerable time. But, I think I will make time on Saturday and Sunday to come here and write, and probably interact with all the worthy members here.

Thank you.

Have a beautiful day.

4
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
Sponsors of Trofi01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trofi01
1 year ago

Comments

This was a great experience at school :) it seems that you really enjoyed the moment. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should've asked, who doesn't enjoy such moments? Every event in our school was well-liked, enjoyed, and cherished. those were one of the best years of our life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello happy, how are you?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Who is Happy?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am extremely wonderful. Wish you'd be too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, you were able to celebrate this in your school. I was in a Christian school so apart from Christmas every festival day was a holiday. But I got to enjoy in outside but I also want to experience the thrill of making an effigy of Ravana, someday I will try to do it with my cousins.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

indeed, you can made that with your cousins while involving the kids and some peers from your surrounding.

$ 0.00
1 year ago