Two Locked Hearts (Part 14)

1 15
Avatar for Trishaa
3 years ago

He stepped out onto the wood, and looked over the edge. He saw the lights shining as Sawyer said they would. He walked on until Ethan just happened to look up. There, in front of him, was Sawyer. Sawyer was leaning over the railing looking into the water. He still looked stern, but you could tell he was at peace with himself.

Ethan walked slowly forward.

"Oh my God. I didn't expect you to be here," Ethan said gently but cheerfully.

Thrown off course, Sawyer looked up with incredible shock.

There, he saw Ethan in his track uniform.

"What are you doing here Ethan?"

Ethan looked down. "I don't know. I guess I wanted to come out here and see what the big deal was, what made it so attractive to you and to others."

Sawyer just looked at him.

"Plus, I needed to be alone after the race. Everyone really was getting on my nerves." He walked up and leaned onto the railing right beside Sawyer, in the exact same pose.

Sawyer didn't move away.

"It feels good out here. It's windy and cool."

"It's the water. You can feel the vapors in the atmosphere," Sawyer declared.

Ethan nodded.

He moved in a little closer to Sawyer. "Sawyer," he said.

Sawyer look over at Ethan. "We need to talk," Ethan said.

"About what?" Sawyer asked, looking away.

"About a lot of things."

Sawyer looked out over the water again, trying not to allow his peace to be disturbed.

Ethan put his hand on Sawyer's arm.

"Sawyer, I can feel you pulling away already. Can you at least give me five minutes of your time?"

Sawyer looked back at Ethan. "Ethan what do you have to say that you haven't said already?"

"The end of the year is approaching and so are our tutoring sessions and I need to talk to you one last time. It's for me dammit, it doesn't even have anything to do with you."

"Yeah well I have already told you my peace and I'm not going to keep repeating it like some cheap ass record. I'm pretty much steady that way. I don't budge. Understand?"

"Yeah well maybe what I have to say this time is different."

Sawyer laughed. "Bullshit."

"Well, can I at least get it out?"

Sawyer looked again at the water. He was trembling with anger. Very much trying hard to stay in control.

"Say it Ethan. Afterwards the subject is dropped forever. Am I clear?"

"Yes." Ethan replied.

"Can we start over? I know I messed things up, but ....... Sawyer, you're the first real friend I have ever made. I can't lose you. I will stand up for you and help you with whatever hardships come at you because of me."

"That's the thing Ethan. I was alone. You don't know how to stand up for anyone. You're not going to bust somebody's mouth for me?"

"I went to my mom, whose on the school board. I told her about our problem and she informed me that she would do what she could if we were to have anymore problems. But you have to give it another chance first. She has the power to call for anyone's expulsion she feels is violating school policy. School bullying is a big no no."

"How does that help me?"

"Well, if you tell me whose bothering you, we can stop it. Mr. Sanc has promised anyone's suspension who is directly related to our hardship."

"Please Sawyer."

"I don't know Ethan."

"Just try one last time. If it fails, we go our separate ways."

Sawyer looked out over the water and thought for a moment. "Ok. One last time. But this is it Ethan. I'm not into drama and melodramatic stupidity. This is the last time."

Ethan smiled from ear to ear. He hugged Sawyer. Literally made him turn and face him and hugged him hard. Sawyer rested his chin on Ethan's shoulder. Ethan literally shedded a tear over it. Then came the rest of them. He hoped Sawyer didn't pull away before he had a chance to wipe them away.

Ethan and Sawyer walked back to their cars together. It was starting to get cold and both had their hands deep in their pockets looking down at the ground.

"You'll be at my house tomorrow right? For the tutoring?"

"Yes," Sawyer replied.

Ethan walked to the side of his car. "You know Sawyer. The lake was as beautiful as you said it'd be." He looked at Sawyer with an intense smile, and held it for a long moment.

Sawyer's breath caught in his chest. Ethan succeeded at rapturing Sawyer's heart just then. Only time would tell where the story would go from there.

Ethan Fester, the most popular boy in school, pulled up on the bar to do his final pull up when his hand slipped. He immediately fell, hitting his head hard on the metal railing. When he landed on the ground, he didn't land on his feet. He landed on his side. He cried in anguish as his best friend, Sawyer Lancelot, came running to his side.

"Ethan, are you ok?" He peered down at his friend and placed his hand on his shoulder.

Ethan continued to cry. "No Sawyer, I'm not."

As soon as Ethan's reply came out, he blacked out, unconscious.

1
$ 0.18
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Trishaa
3 years ago

Comments