616 Followers Later on Publish0x

11 31
Avatar for Trifecta
1 year ago
Topics: Reflection
Image courtesy Pixabay

Today, my friends, as I am at a bit of a crossroads and trying to determine the best and most feasible way forward, I'd like to share a bit of my content creation journey with you. This is a look at my journey on Publish0x.

Side Note

I am extremely grateful to the administrators of the Publish0x platform for the experience.

At Publish0x, my love and interest for blogging was revived. I had an active and vibrant community of followers who would carry on whole conversations in my comment section, sometimes even without my participation (most often without my participation).

I got to be myself, chatty and snarky and inquisitive and vibrant, while talking about finances and market developments and crypto projects. I truly enjoyed and enjoy myself there.

A Look at Publish0x

For those not familiar with PublishOx, it is this blogging site which gives micro tips to writers and readers, and the way it functions is pretty interesting.

Readers are encouraged to tip writers, and they are allowed to take a fraction of the tip, and so they get to upvote content which they deem to be valuable or useful and get rewarded too.

Unfortunately, PublishOx does not have a Random Rewarder, and the downside of that is that sometimes good content can get bypassed, I guess, if you don't build a rapport with your readers.

The amount that a reader can tip a writer is limited.

My Journey on Publish0x

In February 2021, I joined PublishOx, scanned the network briefly and discontinued its use.

In September, I went back to Publish0x and applied to write. The application was granted and the rest was history. Well, not quite.

I wrote on Publish0x for about a month and then started a contract as a consultant with a private firm. The job demanded a lot of my time and it was difficult to joggle my duties at home, as an employee and as a writer, particular when it came to a topic like cryptocurrency which very often required research.

My content creation on PublishOx lapsed in October, after a little more than a month of writing, and I did not return to the platform until the end of January this year when I resolved to be more consistent.

As of this morning, I have a following of 616 persons on the platform.

Hitting the 600 milestone was a huge deal for me because it was completely organic, and I was and am so extremely thankful to each of my followers and the platform for this growth.

Of course, I'll tell you this though. When your following grows, you begin to feel more intimidated because you feel the pressure of needing to create quality content that is valuable to them. At least that's how I feel. It isn't just about crypto earnings, it's about your integrity too, as a writer, and your bond with your readers.

Each writer has a brand, a signature, and his or her following comes to him or her with an expectation for that brand. I nurtured a particular brand on Publish0x and, for the most part, it worked really well. A benchmark was thus set and I had to keep improving on it to grow more followers.

And so, this was my engagement and these were my earnings on Publish0x for the past month.

I should note here that until last evening, I hadn't written anything for the past week, and so you'd see engagement fell during that time.

And so, my friends, here's the thing.

I am about to return to the world of work. In fact, I'm about to start my own business which is a scary journey for me because I have tried ventures before that were not immediately as successful as I would have liked.

Because of past challenges, I took a lot of time to think about what I wanted to do and to also scale and manage my expectations for returns. Now that I propose to don the title Entrepreneur again, I want to be so careful, so committed and so measured, which brings me to my blogging and, ultimately, to Publish0x.

I am writing on a number of platforms, each of which I love. I must now make a determination though to curate my work.

Stepping away from Read Cash is not an option that's on the table for me, I love it here. I also want to give the other platforms I am on-Hive and Blurt- a fair try. But I must also manage the time that I spend thinking of and creating content.

On average, it takes me about an hour to create a blog. On four platforms, that's four hours.

Because Publish0x is about cryptocurrencies, I tend to want to research what I am writing on, because I did put my foot in my mouth a couple of times and I am ever so grateful that I have the great followers that I do so that they corrected me politely for it and it didn't change anything about our relationship- we kept sipping tea and talking about crypto together.

More research means more time though, and then the day could get away and I'd be on the school run again or doing homework or household chores, and my business would not get the attention it deserves.

And so, here I am friends. I must cut at least one, and I was thinking maybe it should be PublishOx. And yes, I am going to be honest. In my consideration, I did think about growth potential and opportunities for earnings. I am relatively new on the other platforms, I'd say, and I have seen the possibility to make the same amount, if not more, there. I cannot speak for consistency though. And who knows? Should my business grow, as I am praying ever so hard that it would, I may even have to curate my blogging further.

For now though, I ask you, do you think it would be disloyal to move on from Publish0x? Do you think it would be foolish? Would I be better served discontinuing posts on one of the newer platforms?

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, friends, because I am conflicted.

11
$ 1.39
$ 1.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
+ 5
Sponsors of Trifecta
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trifecta
1 year ago
Topics: Reflection

Comments

You've made quite a number of followers dear Trifecta, and just like you said; writing a blog actually takes time, but either ways, I feel you shouldn't cut off publishOX, you could still blog there and prolly just draft out days you'll be there and days when you wouldn't, I'm utterly confused right now, but I still feel you shouldn't give up on that, especially after such massive followers. If you must cut out from one, It's kinda better to opt out of the platforms in which you have little or lesser subscribers.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, my dear @Ellawrites, like my friend, @Aimure above, I think this is a great idea. To confess, getting business started is frustrated, we're all beginning to suffer from burnout, but culling back activity on my blogging doesn't mean I have to let give it up altogether. And like you said, maybe I could cull activity on smaller platforms because Publish0x has grown nicely. A friend of mine also suggested cutting back on blogging on weekends and using the time to build up a cadre of articles for the week ahead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I have always been a fan of finding balance that would serve best. For instance, here on read you don't necessarily have to post researched articles. You can sit in front of you PC and write in article in about 45 minutes. This you can also do every two days and not necessarily every day long as you are active in between. I don't think any blogging platform would compel one to post every day. So you can pair the easiest with the hardest and do them every two days and the other two in alternate days. I personally feel that would be a more efficient way to manage your time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I think this is a great idea, @Aimure, thanks! A friend of mine also suggested, writing articles and keeping a store on the weekend, so I'll probably just post during the week and allocate a set time for catching up with everyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is also a good way to go about it, as I also do I too especially when school is in session. I draft articles down on weekends to post during the week. That cuts back on overall time I spend blogging during the week. Also, since you can just cross post on some other blogs, it would make your work easier too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would say you look within yourself for what is most important too you and what would also b ring you joy and happiness. Choose both over all oothers

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, my friend @Gaiom, I am definitely mulling it over.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice of you dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi, @Esp130, thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is indded a tough one considering the amount of work and follower base you've achieved over time on publishOX. The site seems cool although I am not a member but I do visit it often, it has great potential too. However I'd say that since you want to start a business, you can take time to peek in on some occasions, since you've made good friends there.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It most definitely is tough, my friend @DocLayla, and the administrators there have also treated me well. I think I'll blend your advice with @Aimure and @Ellawrites and the advice of a friend of mine and restructure my approach and better plan my time so that I don't leave the platform just as it is growing. Thank you for your comment, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago