When Will A Man Ever Enjoy In Life?

0 56
Avatar for Tonycrux
3 years ago

When I was a little boy, I was told severally not to give in for enjoyment, rather work hard and face my books. They painted a picture of "don't worry, deny yourself now and enjoy later". This was all I heard from my parents and those ahead of me all through my primary school and secondary school.

Face your book as a little kid

It was another phase of self denial when I got into the tertiary institution. Coupled with living a Christian life characterized with rigorous fasting, vigil and many other self denials. My enjoyment was further postponed to a future time.

After graduation, I had the impression that when I get marry I will rest from some level of self denial. But my dream never materialize. This is the time emphasis is laid on building my future a time I must eat less in other to secure my future and that of my children. The loads and burdens of family began to weigh me down. School fees, family bills and future security won't let me enjoy the little I sweat to make. I have to keep saving from the little I make, while I sacrifice those things my soul earnestly desire.

In your youthful age, what next?

As one begin to climb the ladder of 50, nature begin to deny you some privileges. Those food you like to eat are been taken away from you for health reasons. Strength to enjoy life begin to diminishes at 50. If you have accumulated wealth, others have to help you eat it why you subject yourself to fruits and vegetables. What a life of bitterness. When you have what it takes to enjoy life, you are barred from enjoying just to secure your future. Now you are in the future you sacrificed for but you are been monitored by your doctor. Your diet is streamlined and limited to what the doctor prescribed.

At 50? What next?

When will Eccl.2.24 come to pass?

"There is nothing better for a man, than that he should eat and drink, and that he should make his soul enjoy good in his labour. This also I saw, that it was from the hand of God".

And Eccl.3.13

"And also that every man should eat and drink, and enjoy the good of all his labour, it is the gift of God".

I think there is an error somewhere? Why will a man work all the days of his life without enjoying his labour? This is an error. In an attempt to save money for future they are not sure of, many had gone to their early graves because of malnutrition, self medication and undue self denials.

I strongly believe everything in life has a time according to Ecclesiastes 3. There is time for self denials and there is time for enjoyment. A time to give to your soul what it desires. A time to eat good food, wear nice clothes, travel to memorable places and time to make merry. Life is not that long as we think. While working for your future, don't shutdown your present.

Enjoy the moment

Eat meat when you have teeth. Wear good clothes when you still have the shape. Have moment dedicated for relaxation. Don't invest all your life working for others. It is an error. Let's start enjoying from here before we enter into everlasting enjoyment that has no end. Some will miss enjoyment here on earth and still miss it hereafter, God forbid. Enjoy your life within the confine of righteousness and feel good.

God bless you.

Thanks for reading

3
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Tonycrux
3 years ago

Comments