My mummy

4 20
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Mother's Day
27TH MARCH, 2022.

Hey! It's mother's day. I didn't know this until I saw an article on mother's day here. I checked my calendar and realized it's today. I'm happy to write this today. Special greetings to all mothers in the house. Greetings to those who are preparing to join the force.

My mum was born many years ago in Southwest Nigeria. She grew up, went to school and finally got married to my dad. I laugh anytime I see my mum's wedding album. The way pictures were taken in those days is so much funny. It's not like nowadays. Technology has turned everything around.

Mummy, you gave birth to me as your first child. You gave me a special name that I love till today. The circumstances surrounding my birth made you give me the name 'Boluwatife'. I'm proud of my name. I appreciate you for this. After you gave birth to me, you fed and nursed me till I am able to take good care of myself. Even till now, you still take care of me like a little baby.

Thanks for your love, care and attention since I was in your womb. You fed me with the right food at pregnancy. You denied yourself of junks and sugary things. God helped you to carry me till the ninth month. I can't imagine how heavy your body would have been all those months.

I remember an incidence you told me would have claimed my life. When I was just a year old, you backed me as you were cooking in the kitchen. You were so engrossed that you didn't notice when I picked up the washing soap and started eating it. My dad entered the kitchen and saw the soap in my hand. He shouted and you untied the wrapper you used to back me and poured palmoil in my mouth before you and Dad rushed me to the hospital. God preserved my life.

When I was two years, I was playing with some small seeds and I pushed one into my nostrils. As I tried to remove it, I was pushing it inside the more. When I couldn't remove it, I started crying and you carried me. You didn't know what was wrong until I touched my nose and you looked inside. You told me to blow my nose but I was still little to understand what you were saying. You got scared and called the attention of my dad. Dad tried too. He blocked the other nostril and told me to breathe out but the seed didn't come out. You took me to the hospital where a liquid substance was poured in my nostrils that will soften the seed. The seed came out after a week.

After three years, you gave birth to my younger sister. I ate a lot during her naming ceremony. My aunt once told me that I drank a whole bottle of maltina.

Thank you mum for training us in the way of the Lord. Thanks for all your advice and encouragement. Most times when I had a bad day at secondary school, you would be ready to hear me out and give your judgement. You have been so patient and understanding. Sometimes I would disobey your instructions and want to have my own way. You would get a good cane and flog me. You would give me examples of people who disobeyed in the word of God and were punished.

Thank you mum for your corrections. I remember when I was passing through difficult situations as a young teenager. You stood by me, prayed for me and made sure I scaled through successfully.

Thank you for taking care of my dad all these years. I know he has no regrets for marrying you. You've been the best cook for him. I wonder how you wake up very early to cook and take care of the home before going to work without getting late. You never play with prayers and service to God. You inculcated this attitude in us and even when you are not back from work yet, we would have gone to church and you would meet us there. You supported my dad through thick and thin.

I'm proud of you mum. Thank you so much for all you have done for me. Words would fail me to express my deepest gratitude to you ma.

Happy Sunday and mothers'day.

6
$ 1.60
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 1
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Mother's Day

Comments

Happy mother's day to her.. I also posted something similar too for my mum. Anyways, I'm new here and it's nice to meet you and I will like to connect with you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. I will check it out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome. I will check it out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago