Snowy Evening

5 11
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

I am living in a country that doesn't rain snow. I always love to see some snow that makes me wanting to go to countries that have snow. Whenever I see post on social media about snow I always enjoy watching it. It makes me happy and it makes me dream of going to a place where I could slide and have fun in the snow.

But my aunt who is living in U.S don't love snow. Whenever I told her of wanting so much to go a place that is snowing she tells me not to because it's not fun. Snow could be dangerous and raining too much snow could kill people and destroy many properties. She tells me her story of her first time in U.S. as a Filipino citizen who isn't used of snow. Whenever winter comes snow appear and it could only mean one thing -cold season. My aunt on her first night of snowy evening, she almost froze to death. She is cold as ice even though she covered herself with a lot of thick coat for winter. She also turn her heater on its peak yet the cold still bother her. She couldn't have much sleep and she is afraid to sleep as well because she think she won't woke up the next morning. She hated the whole winter full of adjustments. She even think many times of going home because she think she couldn't handled it. Yet her dreams of having good life and help the family let her overcome those struggle. Years pass she still feel cold every winter and doesn't enjoy and appreciate the season unlike other people. She always love being warm as what she used to in her country. Despite of it all there's this one thing she always told us- to never gone far from home. She may be handle the coldness of the snow but the coldness of the feeling being away from the family is much worst than the snow. The emptiness she felt despite reaching her goal is much worse. She missed her family everyday and it would get much colder every winter season. Year after year the cold make her cold as well. She no longer misses her family. She no longer want to go home.

With that story I am also hesitant of going to countries that have snow. I also wonder if I could survive or be frozen to death. Still the love and dream of seeing snow is still the same. I believe I couldn't get that off to my child self. But despite as well of dreaming to be gone home. I always choose not to get away from home. Far from my loved ones. I don't want to feel cold. I don't want to be cold just because of the dream that doesn't have life without the people I love. Yes, my aunt fulfill her dreams of never experienced hard life anymore but she don't have any family here to go home with. She no longer have place to be called home. Yes, she's an American citizen now but she is still a Filipino.

Sometimes our dreams of having things or acquire success in life doesn't mean anything when family will be lost or worst broken. Many gone to other countries nowadays to find money to ease the hardness of life but never they've thought that the that dreams would become the reason of a broken family. Thus, when we dreams we must not dreams too much that could result to our own regrets.

My dream of seeing snow will not vanished and it would come soon if faith allows me to. Soon I can just visit some countries on winter season.

That would be all for today. Thank you so much for reading. Thank you so much to Miss Jonica for this prompt.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Thank you as well to my dearest sponsors. God bless you always and keep safe.

I really appreciate you all. If you wanted to join this prompt feel free to write and follow this simple rules.

1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

2. Write anything about snow

3. Write 100% original content

4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

5. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

Have fun!

Lead image from Unsplash

5
$ 4.38
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @AlphaCron
$ 0.01 from @JonicaBradley
+ 1
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

I hope you are able to fulfill your dream someday. But I also hope you are never far from your loved ones. I can really understand this sentiment because I have been away from my husband for too long. I miss him so much. Fortunately, we get to talk every day. I hope your Aunty has a good life and is able to handle the cold for as long as she wants or needs to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope too miss Jonica. Mama never really wanted me to go far place and I always grant her wish. I don't want her to be sad.

I believe your love with each other keeps you warm everyday and fade the feelings of missing. God bless you too. And keep the love burning.

I think Aunt is now okay since she had her husband with him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wouldn't know what to do without my husband!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

" I don't want to feel cold. I don't want to be cold just because of the dream that doesn't have life without the people I love. "

This is true, but you can achieve that dream na kasama yung mahal natin sa buhay. Personall y speaking, I always want to go to the US because gusto ko maranasan yung snow. At sana in the future di lang ako makapunta sa US, but my whole family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you can achieve that. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago