She's not just a Nanny.She is a "Slave"

6 23
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

What is a Nanny? Is it a person? a job? If it's a person who is it? If it's a job how is it done? If a person who does a job? How do you define it?

Photo by unsplash

According to Wikipedia, a Nanny is a woman who provides child care. Typically, this care is given within the children's family setting. Throughout history, nannies were usually servants in large households and reported directly to the lady of the house.

As define also in vocabulary.com, A nanny is a full-time babysitter, someone whose job is taking care of a family's children. Being a nanny goes beyond hourly childcare — a nanny is usually the person who spends the most time with a baby or child.

The role of a Nanny include the children's laundry, maintaining the cleanliness of equipment, toys and rooms used by the children and, if required, the preparation of the children's meals. Nannies are also expected to drop off and collect children from schools or nurseries.

Source: www.nannyjob.com

Based on the definition given a Nanny is a person who does a certain job, which involve taking care of a child or children in a family. A woman who gives full-time babysitting, which means she is the one who spends time with the baby and catering the child's needs.

Photo by unsplash

How I become a Nanny

Father got his operation when I was in my secondary years, thus making me decide on my own free will to stop my study. It is because Father is advice by his doctor not to work for a span of 3 years in order for him to follow recover. In that case he can't work and continue to do his jobs. That time, we had hard time earning money and school had so much requirements that involved money matter. I know that moment I needed to stop.

At an early age, I was 13 years old that time, I went to Cebu to apply for a job. I crossed the oceon and was living far from my family. I don't know what lies ahead of me there but I took the risk, for me to provide father's medicine and daily needs. I got a job, which is taking care of the children, rendering my service to the family. With a compensation of 1 thousand and 2 hundred pesos, with a task to cook, clean the house, washing of clothes and taking care of children. Yes, you heard it right, it is my compensation for doing the all around job. Not just, doing the house chores but also a Nanny which entails another huge task to be done. I manage it all at a young age for me to earn. I barely survive but still I survive.

My Role as a Nanny

I slept at 11:00 pm almost 12:00 pm to prepare things for tomorrow including school assignments and projects and I woke up 3:00 am to prepare things like breakfast and school needs. I started my chores from boiling of water for the kids to have a warm bath, while cooking their breakfast and at the same time sweeping the floor and mapping it. I've done preparing things, from food to uniforms at 5:00 am and I started waking up the kids, yes it is not just one but three. A second year highschool, a grade 3 and a kindergarten. They are so much to deal with especially during morning. I need to wake them up, and bath them excluding the eldest. I just, prepare the bath for him and while his in the bathroom I feed the second child. She is so hard to fed especially if she don't like the food I cooked. I need to make sure she eat something so I feed her myself. After the eldest is done taking a bath, I take the second child a bath. Clothe her, blow dry her hair and tie it. The two kids are now ready to school. There uncle is the one who drive them to school. It is 7:00 in the morning, and I need to wake the youngest. He is the hardest to deal with, he is a spoiled brat. But as his Nanny I manage him so well. I befriend him and do things, anything he like and would not give him tantrums. When I am done feeding him and preparing him to school. I accompanied him there. Since he is still in kindergarten, his class is just in half day. Whenever he is in class I slept in the waiting area. I lack sleep and I'm tired. When his class is over. We came home and I starts the household chores. Cleaning up the house, washing dishes washing of clothes, and ironing them. I don't have hard time babysitting the youngest because I can leave him on the Sala watching TV. He would just call me whenever he had something he want. Five hours passed and I am done with it. Dinner time and I need to cook food, two kids will be home and the lady in the house. Mostly she came home late. Her husband is a sea man abroad. Going back, I finished preparing the dinner and make sure the kids ate. Whenever done their dinner I prepare them to bed. Sometimes we made their assignment, most times I am the one who do it. With many subjects and 3 kids, I finished it at 10:00 or 11:00 pm. After making the assignments, I will make sure that the things for tomorrow is ready and the house is tack in neatly.

That's my routine everyday, for almost 6 months. At first 2 months my compensation is fine, it was not delayed but few months later it delayed month and then takes longer the next months. Then I did not receive anything. They tell me they will give it the next month but next month came they didn't. My task as their Nanny did not end but my compensation ended. Their attitude towards me changes. They became harsh, scolded me at small things. They only give me left over food to eat. They shouted at me, and even raise hands to me, the kids do. I just cried at night and tell no one about it. I endure things because I need a job.Everytime Mom asked about how am I, I always tell her I am fine. I don't want her to worry.

It was a harsh truth for me. I am thankful that I wake up one morning and take the courage to leave. I don't know how I survive but I did, thanks God.

Conclusion

Being a Nanny is not shameful job. It is a respectable job and the hardest one. Taking care of kids and more than that. Good if you will encounter good people but if you don't, never let them slave you. It is not easy and never an easy experience for me. It requires understanding, hardwork and patience, and a lot more patience. It makes me become mature on things and master the daily things and chores. I became mature, wise and strong as I grow. I have learned so much in life. I know it is an early experience that supposed not to experience by a 13 years old girl but life is not fair. Still I am thankful of the unfair treatment of fate to me because it made me who I am today.


Lead image from Google

Definition from

Wikipedia.com

vocabulary.com

www.nannyjob.com


Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate your visit.

8
$ 4.87
$ 4.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Musso
+ 1
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

Salute for you ma'am,because of your love for your father, you sacrificed a lot,hope you find another job that can give u enough earnings to support your dad and the whole family..God bless you💗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope I can. Thank you for visiting God bless you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand that circumstances pushed you into a life of slavery. The job of a nanny, by itself, is already challenging especially since you have three wards. It is unfortunate that your employers stopped treating you with decency. I pray that you will get out of that situation and find a better opportunity to help you help your family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

life has a lot of challenges and I accept this challenge. I already am with the grace of God .. thank you so much for visiting I appreciate it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

YEAH it's not a shameful job. I don't see any reason why people discriminate against Yayas. I wish you will luck for your endeavor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's always people who look down on others. They are suppose to be grateful that with yaya's their life is so much easier. Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago