Knowing Grace Deeper: Teenage years

3 21
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

As promised I will continue the story of my life which I already started in my previous article entitled "Knowing Grace deeper :Childhood years". If you haven't read it feel free to visit if you like. Thank you.

Teenage Years

As mentioned in the previous article, father had an illness and we need to cure it as early as possible. But then we are facing from my sister's illness also, we set aside what father had been enduring. When my sister finally recovered, a free medication was offered by the health practionaire who visited our town. We knew it wasn't 100% successful but we need to take risk. We don't have money for father's operation that's why we will grab the opportunity to had his illness medicated. It's his wish too, so we respected behind all the worries of what was about to come.

I was in my teenage years that time, second year and my sister Jane that I had mentioned also in my article "strong and independent woman" was in her third year, our high school years. We are in our fourth quarter that time as it begin the month to the end of the school year, when father got his operation. It was a long and painful process for us. Especially that we are the only one who were left at home. Mom wouldn't allow us to go with them in the hospital, because we were still having our class. We tend to worry a lot, not just because Father is in the hospital, we knew he is strong and he would make it, but we always left at home without money. All we do was asked some food in the neighbors' store and promised to pay it later when parents were home. Moreover it was the end of the school year and projects were given and payment of exams where asked strictly. The school wouldn't allow us to take the exam if we couldn't pay the miscellaneous fee. That time we knew that we really don't have money even for father's medicine. Sometimes mom would go home and asked for some donations from the Barangay and local officials. There were times that I had to go house to house asking for some help. Yes, I was and I am not proud of it, but I was not shy of it either. I didn't steal anything to make me ashame. We just badly need some help. We were full of debt that time. We wanted to stop our study in the middle of fourth quarter examination due to all pressured hang in our shoulders but my teachers don't want it to happened. They pay my miscellaneous and they let me took the exam, same with my sister. So, me and my sister were able to finished that school year.

When father went home after the miraculous success of his operation, he was advice by the doctor to rest for 3 years in order for him to fully recover. Even if he don't want us to stop our study, we volunteered. We know that he couldn't provide our needs plus his medicines. That moment my siblings and I decided to find a job for us to provide our daily needs and also father's medicines. At a young age I went to Cebu to find a job, which I also mentioned in my previous article entitled "She's not just a Nanny but a Slave". I stopped my study for two years and I let my sister finished her study. I had to provide her needs in order for her to graduate high school, and she graduated. I am proud of her and so as myself. Time came that I need to finish my studies too, it's been two years.

Since father was still not allowed to work, I became a working student in order for me to finish my studies. I worked as a helper to one of my teacher and give me allowance and payed school and personal needs in return. She was a very kind teacher who think of me as her daughter. I was able to finish my study as a working student. I am proud of that. I not just graduated but I also received a medal and ribbon too.

Whenever I recall those times, my teenage years, I always end up wiping my tears. It was a bitter-sweet memories that made me who I am today. I am grateful of those experiences. I became strong and not easily giveling up when challenges of life comes around. For me the challenges were easy because I already surpassed so much harder than money, physical and emotional problems. I am bless too, that I had found such wonderful beings that was given by God as an instrument.


Thank you so much for reading. Be with me as I finish my story. I hope you liked and enjoyed reading this story. I appreciate you all so much.

Thank you also for my sponsors @Panky and @Eunoia , also to my new sponsor @Jane and @Macronald My heartfelt thanks to all of your overwhelming support and generosity. @Macronald than you for initiating the patronage. I am so happy, it motivated and help me alot.

To all of my friends also who give their warm support through upvotes and comments thank you.

I love you all 🥰😘

6
$ 2.33
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Macronald
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 1
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

Seriously I am in pain to read the difficult time of your life,the way you and your family survived, to operate your father.But I am glad you never loss hope and sacrificed for your sister to allow her to study by stopping yours.I am proud of you,as what you are today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we have reasons to move forward and take on challenges they make us stronger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and I am more than happy and willing to take on the challenges, struggling but willing to fight

$ 0.00
2 years ago