His vices

14 26
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Today I thought it was just like another day which will ends normally. But tonight I am hiding myself, holding my tears but end up losing. I feel them running, racing down my checks, and I feel myself shaking. My heart is beating fast like I run in a marathon. It is my trauma again. My nervous breakdown came back.

It was started long time ago, when father came home late in the evening. He is drunk and lose himself, his so wasted and screaming of his anger and regrets in life, of how he is so tired of our life, of our poor situation. He throw anything he could see near him. He never raise hands to us, but he punched the wall and kicked them. Putting all his force and his anger. He screams of how he hated our life so much. How he gave his best to everything he do but still was never ever enough to elevate our poor situation. He never raise his hands but his words that hurt more than physical pain. He have lots of regrets, to us, to God to our life in general. That's the words that I keep hearing and scenarios that I keep on witnessing whenever he came home drunk. Yes, it is not just ones, twice or trice but constant and it became his vices. But no, I never get used to it. It made my nervous breakdown worst every single time.

For me as her daughter it is the most painful word that he planted in my heart. Words that constantly break me, I am so broken and that I asked lots of questions like;

"Have he ever felt happy that we are his family? Have he ever felt contentment?"

I understand how he had hard times too, because he is the one who sacrificed, sheltered, provide and protected this family. That's what father do right? But why did I feel so much pain? Is it because he constantly nagging and ranting of how this life give him so much pain and hard time? Is it not the father duty? Is it not done out of love for us? Is it done because of responsibility?

When he got his operation and miraculously survived. I thought he would end his vices. I thought he would burry it long before it would burry him.

But.....

tonight he came home drunk again. I wasn't expecting it because the last time was years ago. And here I am again, shaking, crying and hiding myself. My nervous breakdown never left me. The scenario that he always play is also present today that also triggers more my trauma. The words that he always scream and rant never got replaced. What makes this day different is I am now the reason of his pain, fully aware and fully hurt.

I am hurt because I am one of the reason he is ranting and tired in life. He do everything for me just to graduate college. I know my scholarship was never enough and I am not blind not to see his hardwork and sacrifice. I am more than in pain because I am the cause of his pain and hardships but I am not able to pay him back. It was 2 years since I graduated but I don't have stable job yet. I am in so much pain and more than that today because I understand him. I understand why he has his vices. I understand why he needs to forget life for a moment through his vices. I know he don't want it in the first place but that's where he finds comfort to all his discomfort in life. That's where he could laugh and forget problems for a while.

I understand now.

I am so guilty and pitied him so much. Seeing him just like that, wasted, crying and in devastating self, breaks myself thousand and millions of pieces. My tears right now is the only thing that's with me as I released the excruciating pain inside. I pity him, he is more broken than me, in such a long time.

Today and the days to come will be different. I promised myself, I would give father a happy life. I would give him a better life. I would give him easier life. A life that would make him never to do vices anymore just to escape his fate and his pain.

"Pa, please endure a little longer for I am making ways to get you a better life, a life full of happiness and away from pain, I promise."

A whisper from a heart that never speaks her love. A heart from a daughter that is more than willing to do her best to give you better life.

Lead Image from unsplash


I apologize for having this raw and messy article. I just wanted to have some outlet of my ranging emotions tonight. Thank you for reading. I appreciate it.

I appreciate to all of you who upvoted my previous articles @Pantera @Musso@Zhyne06 @Davinchysax @Eunoia @leejhen @Jane @gertu13 @JonicaBradley

I feel that I am welcome and I have someone who listen to me without judgement, thus I prefer to share this here. Thank you so much.

9
$ 3.98
$ 2.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.20 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

While I was reading your story, I felt like you were standing in front of me and sharing yourself. Nights make us more emotional, more philosophical and more rational. It is night that listens all our cries. I wish I could stand by you.

I will not give you any advice rather I'll say life changes. Life doesn't go the same way again and again.

I pray and wish so that you can fulfill all your responsibilities and may Almighty provides strength to your father. Amen!❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for being with me in this pain, I feel comfort. I feel your sincerity. And knowing that you have read it, is enough to know that you are there. Thank you for the prayers I definitely need it, my father do. Amen, amen. I am rooting to the Lord that He will change my life soon. To hear all my prayers and hope. Again thank you so much I really appreciate your presence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I've said in my earlier comment, life changes with the course of time. My mother used to say there must be happiness after huge loss,pain and sufferings. But we've to wait patiently until our life changes. But be sure, this will change.

And another thing I must say, don't store all the pain inside your heart. Try to share the grief with someone at least. That's how you can lessen some sorrows. Just share what your heart says. And again prayers for you and your family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand your feelings. I also understand that you are not the only one to blame for your father's difficulties. It is possible he had trauma as a child and doesn't know how else to deal with it other than drink.

I'm not trying to excuse his behavior. I am trying to let you know it isn't your fault.

I'm glad you can write about it and share here. I'm sorry you are in pain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand your point, and I want to understand my father. I really do. But I feel it, I have felt his agony and his pain because of us, because of me specifically. Who else would take the blame if you see him put all his effort just to push through my college degree, there's no one else now because my two sisters had there own family and so as my brother. Thank you so much for consoling me I felt comfort. I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just remember, your father is a grown man who makes his own decisions. You can't be responsible for his decision to support you any more than you can feel responsible for his decision to drink. And to drink too much.

It is 100% ok to feel the way you do.

It is 100% ok to recognize your dad's sacrifices.

I do worry that your taking on blame for his stress will have a bad result. I worry you will get frozen in a depression and not be able to find your way in life.

So, go ahead and feel your feelings, but don't take responsibility for someone else's decision or someone else's feelings, even if you are the one who benefits from the decision. I don't think you held a gun to his head to force him to work hard and sacrifice for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have lost my words, I have to ponder what you have said. And right now even just agreeing with you makes me feel like I am a bad daughter. Thank you for your concern. Thank you for making me feel I shouldn't have felt what I felt. It is more than enough. Don't worry I will not let this eat me whole. I won't let this consume me. I need to keep moving to fulfill the promise to myself and give him a good life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people are very weak in character and cannot bear the weight of their responsibilities. I hope your father can withstand all the stress he is under. And that you too can overcome your anxieties.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, I will pray for it and please pray for us too. I know I need it, we need it. Again thank you so much for your words have consoled me. I know it will be alright soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will advise you not to let anything push you into taking the vegetable path to success. Just believe and pray, God will see you through it all soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much I will do my best and I'll pray for it. I know God is with me. I really appreciate for giving me such a wonderful advice and thank you so much for the heart warming upvotes. I am overwhelmed. words could not define how happy I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father has vices before too pro hndi nagpakalasing yun. And after maoperahan sa bato, tinigil na kakainom at sigarilyo.. Ngayon hndi na nagsisigarilyo.. Moderately narin pag inom..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for your father .Kahuna nak umundang na liwat hiya Kay maiha Naman han last time nasugad hiya ka hubog.. super Tak pagtinouk Kay bumalik Han mga memories before. Tas tak nervous duro Han. Nagwawala Kasi hiya. Adi Yana kumaturog na. Nag kalma na liwat ak. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago