Childhood Rejection

4 17
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Have you ever been rejected? For what reason? What did you feel? And how did you react to it? Most of us experience rejection in our life. It could be from our immediate family members, friends, or people who are close to us. But have you experience being rejected into your primary years in school? Yes, in school, like not being accepted by teachers because your age is few months earlier to be enrolled in a Primary Education? I thought age wasn't that big issue since school is for kids who want to learn.

Going back in my childhood, I am always eager to learn and go to school because my siblings and my cousins all do. It is so boring to stay at home doing nothing and waiting for the sun to set. Sometimes I help mom in doing house hold chores just to ease the boredom that I feel. I was six years old that time, when I asked mom to go to school for me to be enrolled. Since mom also see that I am a fast learner and I am eager to learn we went there together.

The school was so big, there were lots of flowers and trees, and they have huge playground. It was around 8:00 o'clock in the morning and there were also parents with their kids who fell in line to enrolled for the school year. When it was our turn, the teacher look at me and ask my mom, how old am I. I was smiling at her and not minding her weird stares, that I don't know how to describe. It was normal for me because I am thin and small kid, and definitely under the category of below normal BMI. My mom told her that I was six. She told mom that I was not allowed to be enrolled yet because first grade supposed to be seven years old. It was June and I would be turning 7 by October the same year, my mom explain. She purely disagree and told my mom to be back the next year. My mom asked for more and tried her best for me to become admitted but she declined again and called the next person in line. I was so sad, down and angry. It was a mixed emotions that I don't know. We went home without me speaking even a single word. What happen in there were clear to me. I've got rejected.

My eagerness vanish and so as my passion in learning. I don't like to talk about school anymore and mom even got the hard time explaining to me, because I am too sad to accept whatever she told me. I was angry to the teacher that rejected me that time. And I even hate the idea of enrolling in school. I had promises to myself that time, like never to go to school anymore, and if mom would insisted I will make sure that the teacher that rejected me will be sorry for not accepting me.

Year pass and I stand in the same line again, with mom on my side. The teacher that is in the table is the same teacher last year. I hated her so much, that I don't want to look at her face. I don't know, they said kids are easy to forgive but not me that time. Fate was not siding me, because when my mom listed my name on the form, the teacher proudly said "ohh, she is under me because the other section is full now". She even recognized me as she confirm if I was the child that she rejected last year. My mom smile sourly. "Yes, ma'am. It was my daughter who you did not accept last year. She doesn't even want to be enrolled today because of that incident but I insisted" mom added. The smile of the teacher vanish and look at me apologitically. I did not smile either.

That whole year she became my teacher. I have known her and she is to me. I always reminded myself of my promise of making her feel sorry. I study hard and exile in the class, thus making me the first honor as closing of the class ceremony came. I had gathered most of the awards; medals and ribbons. My mom don't even had the time to get down the stage because she would be called again, so she stay at the stage until all my awards was done. After the ceremony, she approached my parents and congratulate us.

"Congratulations for Grace's success, she is such a smart kid." She extend her hand to shake.

"She is." My mom replied.

"If I had known she is such a smart kid I would have accepted her last year". She added.

"You would have. I am thankful that she exile even after that incident because she don't like to came to school anymore."

"I am so sorry about that, Mrs. I am so sorry about that Grace" She applogize.

It was so genuine and I could feel how sincere she is.

"That's fine teacher, I exile in class because of that. Making it as a motivation" I replied. She smiled bitterly and bid her goodbye to us.

Rejection has two faces, either make us or break us. I am thankful that after the breaking part of the rejection it made me who I am. A motivated and goal oriented individual. Life is design to be like that, has rejection, in order for us to be strong and at the same time kind to others because we know how it feels. Rejection is inevitable and is part of life. We must be ready to face it and bounce back after that. Life move on. Life is beautiful, if we won't fail to recognize all the key ingredients that makes it beautiful, one of this is rejection and forgiveness. That what I've learned in my childhood Rejection.


Thank you so much for making it here. I appreciate your effort. It means a lot to me.

Also, I would also like to give thanks to @Davinchysax for upvoting and encouraging me to write. You have been successful. I will make sure to not put your effort to waste. But I am sorry if I can't perfectly apply what I promise, but I will do my best as I continue to write.

And to @gertu13 for letting me know that she would be my first supporter. It is my second article now thank you, you are one of my motivation.

3
$ 0.75
$ 0.50 from @gertu13
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

The rejections of the past shape the woman of the present. Our life is full of those misfortunes that strengthen our character and make us always want to go forward in search of the next challenge. I congratulate you, you have done a very good article. I hope to continue reading about your adventures in life. Thank you for the mention and for flattering me with your words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much @gertu13. I am happy that it made you flatter, it is not just to flatter you but it is to let you know that I appreciate you, and you deserve it. Thank you also for visiting and leaving me wonderful words of affirmation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Majo man mamsh 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ikaduha rako nimu. .

$ 0.00
2 years ago