Science Says Eating Chocolate Every Day Is Good for Your Brain

74 102
Avatar for Thesauce
3 years ago

 We all love chocolate, and it is always great news to find out that it can boost health in many ways. Dark chocolate slows memory loss and improves cognitive function.


The British Journal of Nutrition published a report which showed that the daily consumption of chocolate can be especially healthy. 
A team of researchers from the University of Warwick analyzed data from 1,153 people, aged 18 to 69, who participated in the Observation of Cardiovascular Risk in Luxembourg study, which evaluated the risk factors of heart disease. Their findings indicate that the daily intake of 100 grams of chocolate, lowers insulin resistance and improves liver enzymes than participants. Moreover, these participants were physically more active, looked younger, and more educated. 
According to the lead study author Saverio Stranges, a visiting academic at the Warwick Medical School:

“Given the growing body of evidence, including our own study, cocoa-based products may represent an additional dietary recommendation to improve cardio-metabolic health.”

This encourages the consumption of foods high in polyphenols, the metabolite that boasts chocolate’s health profile, and prevents cardiovascular and degenerative diseases. 

Medical News Today reports:

“Scientists at Harvard Medical School have suggested that drinking two cups of hot chocolate a day could help keep the brain healthy and reduce memory decline in older people.
The researchers found that hot chocolate helped improve blood flow to parts of the brain where it was needed.

Lead author, Farzaneh A. Sorond, said:

“As different areas of the brain need more energy to complete their tasks, they also need greater blood flow. This relationship, called neurovascular coupling, may play an important role in diseases such as Alzheimer’s.”

Researchers claim that it is important to make a difference between natural cocoa and the more processed forms of chocolate; dark chocolate has half the sugar and four times the fiber than milk chocolate.


According to HealthLine:

“A 100-gram bar of dark chocolate with 70–85% cocoa contains:

  • 11 grams of fiber

  • 67% of the RDI for iron

  • 58% of the RDI for magnesium

  • 89% of the RDI for copper

  • 98% of the RDI for manganese

  • It also has plenty of potassium, phosphorus, zinc, and selenium


Of course, 100 grams (3.5 ounces) is a fairly large amount and not something you should be consuming daily. All these nutrients also come with 600 calories and moderate amounts of sugar.


For this reason, dark chocolate is best consumed in moderation.


The fatty acid profile of cocoa and dark chocolate is also excellent. The fats are mostly saturated and monounsaturated, with small amounts of polyunsaturated fat.”


The principal investigator Ala’a Alkerwi adds:


“It is also possible that chocolate consumption may represent an overall marker for a cluster of favorable socio-demographic profiles, healthier lifestyle behaviors, and better health status. This could explain, at least in part, the observed inverse associations with insulin and liver biomarkers.”


Now, here is a simple recipe for a delicious homemade chocolate bar:


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw cacao

  • 1/2 cup organic, cold-pressed coconut oil

  • 1/4 cup 100% pure maple syrup

  • 1 tsp. vanilla

  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

  • A handful of almonds, chopped into slivers (optional) 

Instructions:

In a saucepan, melt the coconut oil, and then add all the ingredients, except for the almonds. Next, lay out a cookie sheet with parchment paper on it, pour the mixture over it, make a rectangle, and sprinkle with almonds. Leave to freeze. Enjoy!

If you like my article please like, comment and don't forget to subscribe to keep updated❤️

50
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Thesauce
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thesauce
3 years ago

Comments

I am a chocolate lover...your article is mouthwatering 😋😋😋 i love this one..!!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I’m a love of chocolates Dear.😍..My family and my cousins 🤗always advise me that please don’t eat too much th🙂at effects your health but I don’t listen them and after a while My face is fu😚ll of pimples and also sick for some days that hurts me a-lot and after that I leave chocolates for a long time but now I eat chocolates but in low quantity🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I’m a love of chocolates Dear...My family and my cousins always advise me that please don’t eat too much that effects your health but I don’t listen them and after a while My face is full of pimples and also sick for some days that hurts me a-lot and after that I leave chocolates for a long time but now I eat chocolates but in low quantity

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You shouldn't over eat chocolates thats not good to health just taste a little bit and it will be ok.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed Dear thanks for your sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah you are right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love chocolate, specially the dark chocolate😘😍. When high school at college day I always buy chocolate. But now i limit my self to eat chocolate because of my UTI

$ 0.00
User's avatar lea
3 years ago

I don't really like chocolate but after reading this I definitely will be eating more chocolate. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure it is good to you dear❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah , everytime i have headache i always eats chocolates . It helps try it .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep I always do it and chocolates are my stress reliever 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let the chocolate eating spree begin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is it the same chocolate they said is bad for the tooth

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have also read that dark chocolate is good for health, so sometimes I have it in small bits and pieces. Not a regular eater though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cocoa is rich in antioxidants that is good for our health ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes indeed! Specially Dark chocolates can stimulates your nuerons 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

neurons 😊 yep dark chocolate has many benefits

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow i like chocolate.yes you are right. chocolate enhance the brain power.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for such a wonderful comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love eating chocolate 😘😘😘specially when I'm stressed.. it really lessens my stress. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe me too I love to eat chocolates all the time😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is good for chocolate lover not for bodybuilders 🥰🤣 thanks for yummy chocolate 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe, if you're a bodybuilder I have article for peanut butter 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, chocolate can be healthy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But don't eat to much😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course. You are right about that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It makes you a pig haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Or fat haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pig much better haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lts say fat pig :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Choco lover

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like to eat chocolate. Your article is much impresses

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Worth it to read 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But i cannot eat chocolate.. 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow really..! I love chocolates in fact i have a chocolate right now😍🍫😋😋😋 Common lets eat. Its kisses 🍫😏😏🍫🍫hmmm 😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow🥺 I only eatchocolates during Xmas and new year

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cause it's the best month to eat🤭 it was cold

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article, but remember too much sweets is not right. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome I will remember it not to eat to much sweets 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the advice.🖒😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No thank you for your advice hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Science is Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhh. Really.thanks for your article now I know. Your article is very informative. I learn more info about chocolate. Now I know that the chocolate is good in our brain. But just little in a day because chocolate can hurt your teeth🤭🤭🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for commenting🥰 eating to much sweets can cause tooth decay if you can't brush after eating something sweet. But be sure to brush after eating chocolates to avoid tooth decay and aching of your teeth

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummy 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fav. Food hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice articles dear subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💘💘💘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💘💘💘💘

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow..nice article.. pls subscribe me back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice very informative..continue posting your artcles dear ..i haved subscribed you pls sub back..thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank hope you can subscribe also🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I need chocolates now! 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe you can buy near shop that sells chocolates😁 but don't eat to much not good for diabetic person

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Without any objection, thank you a lot for sharing the recipie😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you hope you like my article ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago