The Importance of Making Decisions

0 37
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

When it comes to making decisions I've been known to stew on them for a good week or two because I'm just never sure if it's worth it in my ADHD mind

When I decided I wanted to start working from home again, I procrastinated about it for several months before I finally quit my 9 to 5 job and made my goal a reality. 

It wasn't even my first time making income online, yet I could never seem to find the ideal time to make that life-changing decision until the Covid crisis had many families working from home. That was the kick in the pants I needed to live out my dream. It was now or never. 

That was the best decision I ever made, even with the known risks, both big and small. Yet the rewards are worth it.  But in all honesty, I don't know if I would consider working from home online risk at all. 

At that moment, I had no real debt and I had already saved up enough money during my months of debating when the time would be right to go back to work online.  I even had a plan, I just didn't put it into action until it was do or die, sink or swim.  

Yet, I'm also a risk-taker, thanks to my ADHD! If I know the reward will be worth it, I'm all for it! 

For example, when I had the opportunity to fly to Reno, Nevada for a poetry competition, I knew it would be a chance in a lifetime experience, and it was! Not only was  I able to share my passion for writing with the world, but I also had the honor of meeting actor Ted Lange, best known for his role as Issac Washington, the bartender from the 80's television series, The Love Boat. 

Then, I made an even bigger decision and decided to publish the first part of my sci-fi series, "The Generation" after 10 long years of procrastinating over it because I  feared it wouldn't be good enough. It was a decision that would lead me to where I am today, working from home as a freelance writer. 

The Generation Part One

I took advantage of a situation that many of us struggled with and turned it into another opportunity of a lifetime. I created my own hours and set out to build a career online. 

A career that didn't feel like work most of the time. Why? Because I was doing what I loved! I had turned my passion into unlimited income. But then one day, I started to wonder if I had made the right decision. My passion for writing began to feel like work, and it wasn't very fun! I avoided work and chose to take some time off, hoping it would pass. 

I even found myself feeling afraid of what would happen if I made any more life-changing decisions until I realized I wasn't alone! 

I had to face my fears head-on and remind myself that we are not perfect. That there will be moments when everything isn't going well and it feels like the entire world is out to get you. Lots of moments. But if you choose to move forward rather than throw in the towel and give up, you are a fighter in my book. 

Instead of allowing yourself to admit defeat, keep moving forward.  Instead of dwelling on what was supposed to be, focus on what could be! 

If you begin to experience burnout as I did, take a break and look at why it happened from a different perspective, then change it. 

You may have stumbled across a roadblock, but it doesn't mean you should quit the fight! Find a way to face the music and move forward.  

If you are afraid to make a decision because you don't know how others will react, then maybe you need to ask yourself this:

If you are scared that their opinion of you will be negative, then are they really worth listening to? 

Instead, surround yourself with those who do support you and appreciate your worth. 

And if you are considering working from home, don't let my burnout moment scare you. 

In all honesty, I still love working from home. I love the freedom of setting my own hours and being able to make it to appointments without stressing about the time. 

And when I am working, I have control over everything that I do. If I want to work for a half-day, I can. If I am feeling extremely productive, I can work a longer day. 

My point is, the decisions you make in your life, are yours to make. The choice has always been yours. 

🥊The Fight Within Her 🥊

Related Links:

1
$ 1.93
$ 1.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

Comments