Stop Making Excuses and Start Living

0 20
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Work, Mindset, Advice, Motivation, ...

In May 2020 I found the courage to walk away from my dead-end job and work from home to be with my autistic son who was struggling due to the covid crisis. 

Despite that, I had saved some money back and had worked from home before it was still scary and hard, and I didn't think things would get any worse. I was wrong. 

Just a few months later, on the morning of July 26th, I learned my aunt had passed away. That very same night, my only sibling, my oldest brother passed away in his sleep at just 46 years old. It was devastation I was never prepared for. 

Then less than two weeks later, my youngest son was found unresponsive due to an adverse reaction to a medication he was taking for his autism. We were lucky that day because my son is alive and still with us today. 

But truth be told, I was and still am in shock over the loss of both my aunt and my brother from the month prior.  

I know that no matter how devastating life had become, I had to do everything in my power to gain courage and live life until the very end. 

I made a plan that involved breaking down my work goals and pushed myself every day to get it done even when my ADHD symptoms were at their worst. 

I broke down those work goals into manageable baby steps slowly working through each one of them until I had achieved my ultimate goal. 

Those baby steps I took gave me even more motivation to start accomplishing other goals outside of work. Soon, I was making health goals and began working out 5 days a week. 

I stopped listening to the negative talk and took complete responsibility for my life. I know I can't control every little or big thing that happens to me, but I can control the steps I take towards a better life.  

And I can control who I want to become and what I will never become is someone who blames others for my circumstances or when things go south or I don't follow through with my goals. 

I know it is easier to simply point the finger at others than to acknowledge your wrongs. I also know it's easy to just give up when the going gets tough. 

But, when you choose to be responsible for everything that happens in your life, you put an end to all of those excuses you keep making. 

It doesn't matter if you've experienced a tragedy or illness in your life, or whether you've lost your job or have a disability, use that circumstance to empower your life.  Look at it as a gift, not as a downfall. You are in control of your life, so why aren't you taking that first step? 



   



 

1
$ 0.77
$ 0.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Work, Mindset, Advice, Motivation, ...

Comments