Overwhelmed With ADHD

0 28
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

If you have been diagnosed with ADHD, chances are you know all about how easy it is to become overwhelmed, even in daily life. You already have enough to do, throw in another task and you can pretty much guarantee that already overwhelming feeling is going to feel like the end of the world. 

I don't know about you, but I've been there more times than I'd like to admit. I don't like that feeling and I'm pretty sure you don't either. 

Feeling overwhelmed happens even when we think we have it all together and organized. Our lives are busy and with that comes stress. When life feels out of control, we tend to throw in the towel and give up. 

Giving up is not a real option. It's merely an excuse brought on by that overwhelmed feeling. Instead of throwing in that towel, there are a few strategies I have learned to help calm the chaotic side of ADHD. 

When I get too overwhelmed I will take a 5 to 10-minute workout break. Exercise lets me clear my head and gets my blood flowing. Your workout doesn't have to be fancy either. Going for a walk is a great workout with the added benefit of getting some much-needed fresh air and a great mood booster. 

Music is another strategy I use to help me relax. Music in my opinion is one of the best mood boosters that I know! I can put on an upbeat song and my day is so much better. I'll even go as far as singing to the music when the opportunity presents itself. 

You don't even need lyrics to benefit from listening to music, however. Binaural beats are an excellent example of this. Binaural beats have been used as a therapy tool for mental health disorders like ADHD and Autism. The alpha frequencies in the music have been used for relaxation, focus and to help improve memory. 

Another strategy I have been known to use when I'm overwhelmed is to write them down. It doesn't matter if it's a journal, a notebook, or even a piece of scratch paper as long as you can write out your thoughts. It also doesn't matter if it's a to-do list, ideas for a story or new venture, or a venting session as long as it's set in stone.

If you have a to-do list, I must commend you on it. To-do lists and I do not get along, so I tend to stay clear on them. That doesn't mean that I don't have things that aren't a priority and must get done, it just means I don't have lists for them. Having your thoughts come to life allows you to decide if it's worth your time to pursue anything of importance or if you can tuck it away for another day. 

While it's not a strategy, getting plenty of rest is extremely important when your brain is in overdrive. We have enough stress in our lives, so why would you make it even more stressful by skipping sleep? When you don't get enough sleep you are putting both your brain and body in danger. Try to get at least 6 to 8 hours of sleep a night. Even a 20-minute nap can make a huge difference in how your brain responds to stress and anxiety. 

So the next time you are feeling overwhelmed, find your calm, even if it's implementing your own strategy or two, and show the world that you can do this! 






2
$ 0.87
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

Comments