How to Live a Minimal Life by Selling Your Stuff

12 42
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Work, Income, Goals, Mindset, Tips, ...

One of my ultimate goals, before I retire, is to sell a lot of my stuff. It's a great way for me to declutter my home and make some extra money in the process. Most of us probably have some extra stuff lying around our homes that we don't need. 

Clutter is a huge stress that can cause you to spend money storing all of that extra stuff,  as well as fixing items you don't use, and more. 

For me, living a more minimalist life is one of my top 2021 goals. I want to get rid of a lot of my stuff so that I can focus on the things that matter to me like retirement and financial stability for my family. I do know however, I'm not going to be extreme with this goal because I do have a lot of crafting items I will need for future projects I'll be selling. 

I know it won't be easy getting rid of things, particularly for my youngest son who is autistic and often doesn't understand why the 6-year-old English assignment that never got turned in, doesn't need to be saved. 

Perhaps in his mind, it's a sentimental piece, or he may believe his grade school English teacher will still want to see it someday. 

Keeping items we don't need doesn't make a lot of sense and if you're anything like me, you don't want to rent a storage unit just to store all of that stuff or have to pay extra money to repair an item if it becomes damaged in storage.   

I know it isn't easy to get rid of things, but the one thing I have been learning in doing so is that it's a relief of accomplishment. Plus, you can sell your used stuff to make extra money. 

You can sell all kinds of items around your home that you no longer need, use, or enjoy. 

For example, you may have extra clothing you don't wear. Thrift stores and second consignment shops both online and local are an excellent way to sell your gently used clothing. You may also be able to sell your jewelry, shoes, and belts to those places. 

If you have electronics or appliances that you want to sell, try pawn shops or used appliance stores. Even if the item is no longer working, some places will buy it for scrap or to refurbish. 

Refurbishing any old furniture you no longer use is a great way to give the pieces new life And profit from them. Flea markets are a good place to sell your refurbished furniture. 

If books are your thing and you now have way more than your bookshelf can manage, there are used bookstores who would gladly purchase your books as long as they are in decent shape. If you have textbooks or other educational material that is still fairly current, try your local college to see if you can sell them at their bookstore. 

If you or your family are sports enthusiasts with equipment that is no longer played with, look for a used sporting goods store near you that may be interested in your items. 

There are many online stores where you can sell your items for a minimal fee such as eBay and Poshmark. There are also online sites where you can list your items for free such as Craigslist and Facebook. 

If you are planning to sell your items at a second-hand consignment store, you will either get a percentage of what the item sells for or you get the full amount minus a small monthly fee for hosting your items in the store. 

Another way you can sell your items if you don't mind doing the work is by holding a garage or yard sale. Keep in mind you may need to purchase permits with your city to hold the garage sale. 

When pricing your items, consignment shops usually do this task for you however, if you are planning a yard sale or want to sell your stuff online, do your research first.  Ask yourself what you paid for your item, then research its current worth and what others are selling it for. Don't forget to take into consideration the quality of your item. If it's in better shape you can sell it for more money, but if the item has wear and tear, you may want to sell it for a lot less. 

Also, consider the when of selling your items. Coats won't sell as well in the summer, but will in the winter. 

Items online will also sell better when they have a good description included with them. Include a good descriptive title for your item as well. Buyers can't find you if they want a purple satin NY & Company  button-up shirt when you have your item simply listed as, "nice shirt for sell."

Photos are a must when selling your items online. Make sure there is plenty of lighting and that your item is showcased well.

Finally, always finalize your items with receipts, shipping details if the item is being shipped, and so forth. Despite that we would all love it if this were a good guys always world, some scammers and thieves will take advantage of anyone willing to become a victim in their game. Be cautious, but have fun and best of all do it making money!  



   

 .


5
$ 7.96
$ 7.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Work, Income, Goals, Mindset, Tips, ...

Comments

For me, living a more minimalist life is one of my ultimate goals before I retire. I also want to get rid of a lot of things so I can focus on things that matter to me, such as financial stability.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very similar to my own goals I see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes I always feel just selling my wooden bed(taking so much space in my room) and just get a foldable cheap bed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it works for you, why not?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think this is a practical way nowadays win which most people are facing hard times to find a source of income

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, excellent point!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have lots of books, two walls of bookshelves. I was planning to have a cafe with books inside for the clienteles to read. But, well, that still remains to be a plan. 😀 I have plenty of clothes that I don't need. I keep them for future donations to people who are in need. Like what happened currently to our country when one part was devastated by typhoon and flash floods. They need food and shelter and clothing too. That is the time I gave those clothes away. 🧡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love that you donate your clothing! We have a donation bin here for that very same purpose! I once had as many books as you have now. I had a dream of opening a book/herbal/antique/oddity store. If time allows, I still may do that. Follow your dreams!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you but only if it comes to my stuff. As my eldest left home I gave them a part of my books, the dias, photo albums etc. I try to tell the youngest not to collect but they do and of course two of them are into vintage and three are collectors. Yearly I go through my own stuff and throw or give away what I no longer need or use. Not only because of my retirement but also because I don't want others to go through my stuff.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think I worry so much about others going through my stuff. My son I try to encourage him to keep what he finds happiness in and needs. My partner, he is on his own! Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I intended to asy with "going through my stuff" is I do not want my children or strangers to clean out a house because I am a collector and cannot say goodbye to my things. It's better to do It yourself and give it to those who can use it instead of being dumped in a container.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That I can understand! My father is a collector.

$ 0.00
3 years ago