Doing it Scared and Loving It

0 34
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

Let's get very real for a moment. Those goals you have for yourself, are you pursuing them, or are you still making excuses because life is just too busy as always! 

Yes, life gets busy, it even gets hard at times. You may even run into a few brick walls now and then! 

It took me well over 10 years to finish writing my sci-fi novel, "The Generation." I allowed the excuses to control my life,  my dream goals, and my future. 

It took me 10 years because I worried that people wouldn't love my stories. I feared criticism. I didn't want to step out of my comfort zone so I didn't for over 10 years! Life got too uncomfortable and I stalled. 

But I learned that even after 10 years, life was still very much uncomfortable, nothing had gotten better, nothing had changed. 

I realized that if I wanted to publish my novel, I had to get over the thought that not everyone will like my stories and just step out of my comfort zone no matter what happens. I changed my way of thinking and decided I was doing it for me and not for everyone else! They were an added bonus! 

So I sat down and did what I thought was the impossible! I finished writing my novel, "The Generation." And I published it. I even took it one step further by turning the story into a series. I was also working a full-time job and caring for 3 boys. Now add housework and CNA classes to that life and time is in short demand even on the not-so stressful days. 

But I found the time! I took a minimum of 15 minutes every evening before bedtime and I made myself write, even if it was just one paragraph! And you know what? It worked! 

It worked because I made myself do it.  Even when I was exhausted from the day's events, I wrote! I treated it like it was an appointment and I wrote! 

I chose to discipline myself in order to accomplish my goal. And let me tell you it was not easy! It took time to learn and develop. It was a habit that in the end led me to achieve my goal of finishing my novel and publishing it. 

I experienced a huge something known as willpower, and while it's never as easy as it sounds, I have come a very long way because when you have ADHD everything is a challenge. 

There are days when I'm still not okay with being uncomfortable. Flying lessons is one of those not stepping out of my comfort zone right now. But it's on my bucket list, somewhere amongst the, travel around the world and jumping out of an airplane goals. 

Currently, my focus with success has been to build up my writing and get uncomfortable again with my next novel from "The Generation" series

I pick and choose my comfort zone battles, but I know one day I'll be crossing off that bucket list. 

Now let me ask, have you stepped out of your comfort zone lately? 

If not, you need to. You need to believe you can do it, believe in yourself. You need to visualize what success looks like to you, then do it. 

You need this. You need to find the willpower to succeed every single day even if 15 minutes is all the time you can conjure. Then you must prove to yourself that you can do this. You can succeed. 

Step out of your comfort zone and prepare to get uncomfortable. Will you do it? 




 









 



2
$ 0.66
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

Comments