ADHD and How it's Symptoms Can Benefit Entrepreneurs

1 52
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago

ADHD is a mental health condition with symptoms that can vary from person to person. There is also research that shows that symptoms of ADHD are far greater in women than they are in men. 

The symptoms of ADHD, also known as attention deficit hyperactivity disorder are most often categorized into 3 types: inattentiveness and distraction, hyperactivity and impulsiveness, and a combination of both. 

There are those of us like myself that can fall into both categories, but there are others who may only fall into one of those categories. 

My symptoms started as a child because I was always inattentive, meaning I had a short attention span and was easily distracted. I would also forget things and lose things. And there were times when I was unable to listen to what was being said to me. I also had difficulty with organization and often found myself moving from task to task. And while I didn't have all of the hyperactive symptoms of ADHD, I did have all of the inattentive, and impulsive symptoms.

For example, there were a lot of times where I found myself unable to focus or pay attention in school. I also found it hard to wait my turn so I was constantly interrupting others. On some days I acted without thinking and never considered the dangers around me. 

It wasn't until my adulthood that I was properly diagnosed with ADHD due to the condition being less common in the 1970s. 

As an adult, many of those symptoms remained with me and some like my inattentiveness progressed over time, while new ones slowly emerged like depression. 

In adults like myself, the symptoms can be:

  • Carelessness and lack of attention to detail

  • Switching from task to task before finishing old ones

  • Poor organization skills

  • Inability to focus or prioritize

  • Constantly losing or misplacing items 

  • Forgetfulness

  • Restlessness and edginess

  • Interrupting others by speaking out of turn

  • Blurting out responses

  • Mood swings and irritability

  • Difficulty dealing with stress

  • Extremely impatient

  • Taking risks in life

For those who have more of the hyperactive side of ADHD, additional symptoms may include:

  • Being constantly on the go

  • Difficulty sitting still for very long

  • Fidgeting with their hands

  • Excessively talking

  • Cannot engage in quiet activities

But as discouraging as ADHD and its symptoms may seem, they can be an absolute blessing for those who are or want to become entrepreneurs. Don't think so? Richard Branson the founder of Virgin Airlines and records, has ADHD. He is one of my biggest inspirations to this day. 

Entrepreneurs with ADHD have the advantage of becoming a great success because they can focus on their passions. Take me for instance. While I cannot focus for the life of me on math, cleaning, and organizing or a television show or movie for very long, I can focus on my love for writing stories, recording podcasts, and reading novels. I'm also a risk-taker and constantly trying new things when it comes to opportunities for my business. I love doing what I do and cannot imagine working for someone else, ever! 

We as entrepreneurs with ADHD also tend to have not one, but several businesses. Again, Richard Branson is an excellent example and inspiration for this!

Those of us with ADHD and entrepreneurship in the blood tend to be:

  • creative

  • multi-taskers

  • risk-takers

  • highly energetic

  • resilient

They are strengths, never problems that can become a formula to success! The problem is we as a society tend to want to prescribe or take medication because we are focusing on what we see as the negative side of ADHD like procrastination, inability to focus, being forgetful, being unorganized, and easily distracted. We are told or tell ourselves we are bored and become frustrated with routine.

Yes, this can be true, but to always focus on the negative traits of ADHD will never get us anywhere in life. Whereas those of us with ADHD are often at our best when there is a crisis when we are multi-tasking or passionate about something that we truly love and can do for hours on end. 

Others may often get frustrated or shake their heads at the fact that we think outside of the box and reject what is deemed normal by society. Those without ADHD who do not understand its symptoms may even argue that it's all in our heads, it can always be controlled, or insist our ideas will never work. 

If you have ADHD and know you are meant for something greater in this life, look beyond what others say who don't understand its symptoms or your ideas.  Instead, look for inspiration from those who have ADHD and are a success like Sir Richard Branson, because those of us with ADHD are truly blessed in the entrepreneurial world. 








4
$ 6.00
$ 6.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago

Comments

How do you manage yourself?I have seen kids with ADHD and it's really like what you said with the symptoms.Actually its my neighbor here, has that signs you said.

$ 0.00
3 years ago