8 Lessons I've Learned When Transitioning to Work From Home

1 14
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Lessons, Tips, Advice, Work, Home, ...

More and more people are making the transition to work from home and become their own boss. They've chosen to create a job they are passionate about and leave a dead-end job that they hate. 

That was me 8 months ago. While I've always worked from home writing part-time along with working a full-time job, it was at that moment that  I decided to permanently transition to working from home full-time. 

I want you to know that working from home isn't all fun and games. I want you to know because being your own boss isn't easy. It takes a lot of self-discipline, sacrifice, and hard work. 

I did it because:

  • My youngest son who has autism was struggling with remote learning and being at home by himself.

  • My job was a dead end. 

I had only enough in savings to cover a year's worth of living expenses, which also had to cover any unforeseen emergencies. But I was ready. 

If you are ready to be your own boss, change your life, to do something you know is your calling, your dream, then let us take that journey together. Let me show you the way to your dream, your future, your destiny.

Let me share with you the 8 most important self-employment lessons that I have learned along the way. 

  1. Stand up for yourself. If you hate your current situation, admit that only you can fix it. Don't blame the coronavirus, your co-workers, your boss, your spouse, or your family. Change happens when you decide now is the time to make it happen. 

  1. Decide what type of work from home job is right for you, then make a plan. What are your passions? Your hobbies?  What gets you excited in life? What gives you energy even when you are tired? Once you have an idea of what you want to do, create a business plan to improve your chances for success. Having a plan will allow you to gain clarity and focus. Include your goals, strategies, and action steps in your plan. 

  1. Have a savings plan. Don't expect to start making money immediately. This is one of the biggest mistakes many people make when trying to transition from a full-time job to a work from home career. You need to make sure you have at least 6 months worth of living expenses saved at the very minimum. And if possible an emergency fund of at least $500 for unforeseen events like a faulty hot water tank in my case! 

  1. Keep a schedule. At the start of working from home, I didn't keep a schedule. Then, someone reminded me that a schedule is a good idea. My stubbornness kept me from taking that advice until I realized my workdays were out of control. Set a schedule, then stick with it. If keeping track of time is difficult for you, consider using an app that will help you keep track of your work hours. 

  1. Learn to use the word no. You are not someone's errand boy/girl, available to visit with, babysit for, or whatever need they may have. I get this a lot. "But you have the time, or you are not really busy." Yes, you work from home on your own schedule, but that doesn't mean you are available because someone is bored or needs you to run to the grocery store because they are busy at their own job. If it's an emergency then by all means go, if it is something you really want to do, then do it. But never allow anyone family or not, make you feel like you are a piece of crud for saying "no." 

  1. Know your worth. Don't be bullied into giving away your products or services. It amazes me how many times I have had someone come to me and ask if I would edit their writing or except to pay $1 for an art piece I've created. Let me ask you this, would go to the grocery store, fill up your cart, and expect to walk out with it for free? Would you walk into an art gallery and expect to buy a painting you loved for $1? Yes, I charge! Yes, I need to pay my bills and feed my family too! 

  1. Take a break! I'm very bad about this. I love what I do for a living, but sometimes I forget I have a life. Make sure you are taking time off. Take a weekend at the very least, and just relax! Even if you are like me and absolutely love what you do, taking a few days off here and there is a must to recharge! Even if you have a lot to do, take time off. There will always be something you will need to do. If you don't take time off, it will never happen. And you will end up burning yourself out. 

  1. Promote yourself. You are running a business even as an entrepreneur working from home. Make sure you are letting the world know who you are and what you do. And don't worry about what others will say. This is your journey, your life, not theirs. Use online tools like Twitter, Tiktok, Youtube, and Facebook to your advantage. Promote anything you believe will be of interest to your customers and fans. 

If you follow these lessons, transitioning to working from home can make that journey a little less strenuous.  


  

  








 







2
$ 8.10
$ 8.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Lessons, Tips, Advice, Work, Home, ...

Comments

Dear, all your points are number 1.

How much money one needs depends on where you live. In my case one year funds would mean art least 25.000 euros for rent, had and electricity only. No food, no clothes, no internet, phone, gasoline, insurances, school fee, etc.

Unless you are jobless I strongly advice to start an own business next to a job that pays at least for the main costs of living.

The title of your articles doesn't fit to the text. It sounds as if you started working at home instead of going to the office. By the way I know no one who decided to start an business if his own the past year. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago