8 Essential Oils to Treat Your ADHD Symptoms

2 66
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago

Essential oils have been my blessing in disguise for several years now. I was first introduced to their use in a little downtown shop called Magnolia Scents by Design that I often frequented where I once lived. 

Essential oils are derived from plants and filtered into a pure concentrated oil. The oils are obtained from all parts of the plant including the stem, leaves, flowers, and even roots. 

While the use of essential oils has been used for centuries by our ancestors for their healing properties, they have only recently become popular for their mental health benefits.

ADHD, short for attention deficit and hyperactivity disorder is a mental health condition that includes symptoms like:

  • Distraction

  • Procrastination

  • Depression

  • Hyperactivity

  • Impulsiveness 

  • Forgetfulness

  • Restlessness

  • and more….

And while ADHD is often common in children, it can also affect adults, as it does in my case. 

My own ADHD diagnosis didn't happen until my adult years, even though I suspected I had it as a child. Once I was officially diagnosed with it, I tried prescription medications because as I'd gotten older I found it harder to manage my symptoms. 

Unfortunately, every medication my doctor prescribed to me caused some very severe side effects to the point that I decided to use natural medicine alternatives to treat my symptoms instead. 

Two of the most common ADHD symptoms that I struggle with is depression and focus. While my depression comes and goes, my focus is an everyday distraction. 

After discovering essential oils, I learned that not only do they smell wonderful, they also seem to help my ADHD symptoms. 

Many of the essential oils I have purchased have a calming effect, which is a bonus for those stressful moments in my life. When applying my oils, I use them in a few ways! 

One way is by applying them to my mask before leaving my home. Another way I use my essential oils is by adding a few drops to my humidifier that is designed for such use or to my bathwater when mixed with a carrier oil. 

I have also been known to mix a few drops to a carrier oil like almond or olive oil and apply it to my skin. The possibilities are truly endless with the exception of taking or using them eternally, which can be toxic. 

There are a variety of essential oils available for purchase:

Cedarwood -

Cedarwood essential oil may help to improve the oxygenation of brain cells and is said to have a calming effect on users.

Chamomile -

Chamomile essential oil is said to help with ADHD symptoms like anxiety, depression, and stress. 

Frankincense -

Frankincense essential oil may help with focus. The oil may also aid in the negative side of ADHD by possibly reducing the symptom. 

Lavender -

Lavender essential oil is known for its calming properties for those who have anxiety. It may also help aid in a better night's sleep. 

Peppermint -

Peppermint essential oil is said to having a calming effect that may help relax your restlessness. 

Rosemary -

Rosemary essential oil has been said to help with cognition and concentration for those who have difficulty with ADHD and focus.

Sandalwood

Sandalwood essential oil may help with relaxation for those with anxiety as well as clarity for mental focus. And bonus, it may even help inflammation from arthritis! 

Sweet Orange -

Sweet Orange essential oil is an uplifting scent that may help with depression, negative thoughts, and anxiety. 






 



3
$ 4.26
$ 4.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago

Comments

Essential oils are used as natural remedies for various conditions and diseases. For example, the anti-inflammatory and anti-cancer activities of Frankincense essential oil have been proven in numerous medical studies - see PubMed, currently over 700 publications. (Source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?term=frankincense)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes they have been. Thank you for the additional information.

$ 0.00
3 years ago