I Lost my Earnings *A Sad and Dumb Story*

21 45

Well its pretty obvious that I will not be ranking anything on this article. I am actually a bit sad and demotivated today because I lost all the earnings I had on my first two articles. Its not a lot of money to some but just the thought of losing something you worked for is pretty devastating.

And yeah, I will tell you what happened.

So yesterday, I wanted to transfer my earnings to a wallet where I created an account with. I cannot access the wallet through our desktop computer so I decided to open the mobile app version of it. I logged in already and everything. Then I went to the "Send money" page on read.cash and it asked for the BCH address where I will be sending the funds to. Since my read.cash account is logged in on the desktop and my wallet was logged in on my phone, there's no way for me to just copy and paste the BCH address. So guess what my dumb self did? I typed in the BCH adress letter by letter! Not the smartest thing to do or just something that should not be done at all.

Image credits to PNGitem

We all know that crypto addresses like BCH addresses has a lot of letters and does not have a single format. Its a combination of capitalized and small letters. I did not really mind the process of doing so because I thought that everything I was putting in were correct. But I was so wrong!

I confidently typed in all the letters on my BCH address and put in the maximum account that I can send. Then, I sent it with a smile on my face.

I really don't know anything about the processing time of sending and receiving BCH because I am new to the world of cryptocurrency. At first, I was not really bothered that I was not receiving the amount on my BCH wallet because I just thought that it might really take a while. So while waiting, I just watched a couple of videos on Youtube. I didn't even notice that couple of hours had gone by after sending my earnings.

I decided to check on my wallet and still, there's no BCH on there. That's the time I felt a bit concerned.

I don't really know a lot of people here on read.cash because I just joined here. I have no one to ask here exactly what to do. So I tried posting on my noise.cash account. Again, I am new on that site as well so it really took a while o figure it out. Then Mr. @Crackers gave me some tips on how to get started on noise. He told me to join some Channel. I found one that is all about BCH. So with no hesitant, I subscribed on that channel and asked for HELP. Like literally, I even created a photo that says "HELP" on it to really emphasize that I need help.

Screen captured on my noise.cash account

It took like minutes to get a respond and thankfully, someone was able to notice my post. It was @Telesfor . It seems like he was actually the creator of that channel. He did gave me what he think happened why was I not able to receive my earnings. I did check on all the things he told me.

Before I continue, I just want to thank @Telesfor for actually trying to gave me assistance.

Then I receive a notification on my wallet and I got excited. I thought that it was my earnings already. So I immediately Mr. @Telesfor that everything was fine already.

After saying so, I checked on my wallet and the notification was just a wallet promotion. I was so furious! I was mad. I already told the only person who tried to help that everything was fine.

I did not know what to do next then I realized something. A funny realization that hit me 2 hours of sending it. I already has some suspicion that I did something wrong but I can't really get a hold of what was it until checked again. I put in one incorrect letter at the middle of the address.

By that time, I just accepted the fact that I lost all my earnings. A sad event but somehow meaningful. A lesson to learn and apply to my future transactions.

9
$ 2.81
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 2
Sponsors of TheTopFive
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This is awful. I have been through it and I know how it feels. Except, in my case, I got the money back :)! I have written about it here, but I'm not sure if it's helpful in your case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a really expensive 'charge' to experience.. 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You could copy it from the phone and send it to the PC by mail, copy it from the PC and paste it on the shooting screen. It was a little bad, but it provided an important experience. I'm sorry but I'm sure you can do better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the tip. I would do this next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Without question this would not be a fun experience, nor a fun lesson to learn. But you did learn it and the only consolation there is that it will not likely happen to you again. On the flip side, perhaps this article will prevent someone else from also making the same error. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too. But Mr Telesfor mentioned that there might be a way to get my earnings back. I am just waiting for his response again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully he can offer a solution that works out well for you. You will have to keep us posted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely do that. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least you have learnt something today, just make sure to copy and paste the address next time so you wouldn't make this same mistake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely do that. I learned the hard way though. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I put in one incorrect letter at the middle of the address.

If you have entered only one letter incorrectly, you have entered an invalid address. Nothing can be sent to an invalid address. In this case, no transaction has taken place and the money is still in your wallet. Check the transactions in Block Explorer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really? How can I do that though? I am sorry, I don't know the work around here. So meaning, my earnings are somewhere out there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enter your address from which you sent the money here

https://blockchair.com

You will see what transactions took place from that address and where they went. Did you send it from read.cash?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I did sir. I put in my wallet address on coins.ph.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You still have to enter the address of the wallet from which you sent the money. Did you send it from read.cash wallet?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well maybe you can find some way to contact that person who owns the wallet? Ah but that is the problem with cryptocurrency, no way to know who owns the wallet. At least you know what to do next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really need to learn from that experience for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The luck of someone that received your money, just take it back next time and lesson and learn as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. I will just think of it as that person who was able to receive it really needs it. Its so sad still though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is exactly what happened. It really is very sad. I don't even know how to start again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn dude that is really painful😢maybe u sent it to another address😢so sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago