The Perfect Match

2 66
Avatar for TheRealOma
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Purpose

"It fits like a glove",

Is an all too familiar expression.

Picture this:

I have a pair of hands gloves. I slide my hands into one and use the other as a pencil case.

What observations can you make from this?

True, they are both in use but are they both appropriately used?

In this journey called life, we all have our roles to perform. This is the sad reality which most people fail to realise. I'm not saying that everyone was made to be the President, but those secretaries, journalists, traffic wardens, engineers also contribute to the effective running of a country. All fingers are not equal, but they work together.

The path of Self-Discovery is a tricky one. I say so because I find myself there presently. By next year, I'll legally be an adult. I don't need a sooth-sayer to tell me that there is a workload of responsibilities associated with adulthood. I am already faced with some of the challenges that comes with it. That notwithstanding, I am certain that I will overcome because I know where I'm headed and the world makes a way for one who knows where she's going. I don't have the clear picture all figured out, but I see some pointers here and there. I'm basically in the "connect-the-dots" phase. A friend once told me, the only fear to be entertained should be one that drives you to achieve your dreams, rather than keep you from fulfilling them.

I like this quote by Les Brown,

"The graveyard is the richest place on earth, because it is there that you will find all the hopes and dreams that were never fulfilled, the books that were never written, the songs that were never sung, the inventions that were never shared, the cures that were never discovered, all because someone was too afraid to take that first step, keep with the problem, or determined to carry out their dream."

Where exactly am I headed with all these? 😂.

The glove used as a pencil case is not fulfilling the purpose for which it was made, but it is not useless either.

Whereas the other has found its purpose and will shine in it.

Nobody was created as an after thought. Like the story in Matthew 25:14-30, we all have our unique talents deposited in us. The actual difficulty lies in discovering and developing it. Let's all strive to slide in our gloves appropriately and I assure you, it will definitely match perfectly. It will fit like a glove😂.

It's a tough call but with hard work and more importantly, smart work, you will get there. No man is an island, so you are bound to seek help from others. Be humble and ask when in need. What's the worst that could happen? They will say no? Life goes on!!

Remember, nobody ever had it all figured out. Most great and influential personalities had their gloves worn inside out, some had theirs on backwards and some even wore theirs on their feet. But you know the difference between then and now, they were patient to understand how it works and implement their discoveries. Yes, that's right, knowing is not enough. Your actions should prove it.

"The world is not interested in what you know but in what you can do with that which you know".

You are the singular most important resource for your life.

Have you found your perfect match?

Are you alive?

Or do you simply exist?

∆∆∆

Have you learnt the ropes of adjusting your gloves?

Or are you still fumbling with it?

I would like to know where you stand in the comment section.

On my part, I'm still fumbling with it but I have my whole life ahead of me and with each passing day, I know I'm a step closer to the mastery of how it all works.

Ps: I'm very open to corrections and contradictions.

I hope this was worth the read🥺.

Ciao✨

6
$ 2.17
$ 2.00 from @strivenword
$ 0.05 from @Yinye_xo
$ 0.04 from @Vikky903
+ 3
Avatar for TheRealOma
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Purpose

Comments

Your friend’s convictions about the utility of fear sounds commendable to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"The graveyard is the richest place on earth, because it is there that you will find all the hopes and dreams that were never fulfilled, the books that were never written, the songs that were never sung, the inventions that were never shared, the cures that were never discovered, all because someone was too afraid to take that first step, keep with the problem, or determined to carry out their dream."

I had to read this twice...it is so deep..makes me want to find out who Les Brown is, thanks for sharing. Fear is a major factor hindering progress, it always begins with a first step.

$ 0.00
2 years ago