First Time Voting

12 63
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

I read lots of articles about the Philipines election a few days ago, later I realised that it's election time here also, lol. The funny dubbed songs are continuously being fed to people on road. Ah, they can be so annoying.

I saw Philippines people got lots of goods in the election which is very similar to many developing countries where the candidates standing in the election try to Woo them with these small things or money.

Today I will tell you about what happens when Elections happen here. It was a regional level election or Panchayat a Village Council. The position was for 'Mukhiya' who acts as the main guy and receives funds and projects first and his sole work is to give the villagers every benefit of projects available for them and for the development of the village which they rarely do, lol.

The same thing happens, they try to promote themselves in any way they can from loudspeaker vehicles to meeting people in their homes. We got more than 10 visitors to ask for a vote in recent 3-4 days. Imagine the nerve of the current corrupted one showing their smiley face in front of you. I thought of locking the door and using my baseball bat, lol. Only in my mind.

Perks of voting in province, small line. Less people and one policeman enough to scare unnecessary groups.

We live in a city but the Voter Card is of my village address so I had to go there and vote and both in the city and village today's the day to vote. We reached the voting Booth around 10 a.m it was cloudy for 5 minutes and then sunny later on, the line was small as we have only a 1000 voters list out of which only 60% people come every year. It's my first time voting. I asked my uncle who helped us a lot in many works involving government officials to choose which candidate? He sent details of candidates of 2-3 obviously only the better of which he was supporting, haha.

I ended up voting for his choice because that person even without power had solved a Divorce issue in my family which took us years to solve. We had lost hope as the other party had big connections and he wasn't accepting the deal and giving us mental stress. Even the current Mukhiya didn't help us at all, he indirectly demanded a bribe to clear the issue.

And one surprising thing which I heard today is that some of our house members will be voting for the current one. Even though he just misused his power and broke our trust by not helping and counterfiring as he joined sides with the other party. I asked myself a question, this is the reason for no development here. I didn't say anything to them because everything was crystal clear that guy is a corrupted piece of shit still they are voting for him. Yeah, it's their choice.

Here people were given gas fees and alcohol by some candidates some were giving money also like 5-10$ per head. Well, I didn't get any. I just want the gas fees, haha. My uncle has promised to pay for it, as he got some money to promote the candidate which helped our family. I hope he keeps the promise as gas fees is so high and the overall distance to come and go from my city to village is more than 125km.

I realised every candidate is giving some type of bribe.

Proof of Voting, big nails,lol. Ignore it, it's the ink.

But as you know we should use our brains, nobody is forcing us to do anything. But with that at least we should choose a less corrupted candidate. I can't think and expect of a zero percent corrupted candidate in today's era.

Final Thoughts

I hope he wins as the current one annoys people a lot when they try to make regional caste and income certificates, he consumes lots of unnecessary time and money. He didn't approve a free 1-floor house project of suitable villagers, for that he asked bribe of more than 50-100$ for every single approval. The price may not be much for us but it's huge for Provincial people.

If he wins again this time, I will see why villages are never being developed. Only they are responsible for the underdevelopment of their region. I don't live there more than 10 days in a year but I want to see this place at least get the free facilities which government provides.

I know people change when they get power, I hope another candidate gets opportunity this time. But I don't have high hopes as I have seen politicians changing colours better than chameleons. It's a blunt truth here. Can't say about your region.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

29
$ 4.98
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.08 from @Ling01
+ 24
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Yayyy, that's actually great that you have exercised your right to vote my friend hehe. I hope that whoever wins the positive, deserves to be there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yesterday I watched a Tamil political satire movie that has any elements similar to this, and how the leaders are all pieces of garbages.. this post reminded me of the same... we want to vote, but whom to?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Brother election in Asia is top trend with a lot of Money investment during voting on Public and when government they easily grabbed these investment with multiple of 10 in the form of corruption. I am totally not interested in voting in my country because these all black sheep are same when can't blame a single one. I like to ask now in India which party has strongest candidate?. Thanks for information.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha this "I realised every candidate is giving some type of bribe."

I was not an active voter before as I was busy in other things. I realize that it's better to focus now on building my life instead of waiting for the government to do the actions, they help but I don't have to wait all my life! This type of lifestyle is laziness and victimization. The same consumers of the law are the ones who disregard it. Men's laws are imperfect, God do the perfection of it.

There is no prosperity in a region where people wait for help with no actions on their part, they must also help themselves. If corruption is already existing in the local regions, overcome it by your creative vibe and do not wait and wait and wait until what? I have noticed many places and I can see why there are limitations and poverty, people gossips and only see the lives of those around them. Uninspired, no motivation and full of lack and no faith. Caged, dry, addicted, unlively, envy, jealousy, anger, wrath and more of such things that we must cast away if we want to live victoriously and prosperous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a lot of vote buying here too. But even if there is, people will still choose whoevr candidates they want. Anyways, I wasnt able to vote last May 9 here πŸ™ƒ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do hope that your vote could help make way to have an official who would truly care for the wellbeing of your community.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only hear about election, i don't participate in it, why because this people voted into office at not different from the previous people. Looting and corruption will still continue, by they will try to make it secret.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In our country, tomorrow is a Long March here the news said that all the mobile networks services will be off.Election is a important role of government, where the nation choose a leader.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is all about politics. It often happens those in power never do anything which they are supposed to do rather they would fill their own pockets. I hope a better candidate is selected this time for your region

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Voting had a wonderful experience with some exciting vocals but ends up in tiring day because line up , wait and stamped a long process.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have exercised your right to vote. May the best man win.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

𝑾𝒆 𝒉𝒂𝒗𝒆 π’π’–π’Žπ’ƒπ’†π’“π’…π’‚π’“ 𝒉𝒆𝒓𝒆 𝒇𝒐𝒓 π’‚π’…π’Žπ’Šπ’π’Šπ’”π’•π’†π’“π’‚π’•π’Šπ’π’ 𝒐𝒇 𝒕𝒉𝒆 π’—π’Šπ’π’π’‚π’ˆπ’†π’”. π‘·π’π’π’π’Šπ’π’ˆ 𝒂𝒏𝒅 π’†π’π’†π’„π’•π’Šπ’π’ 𝒉𝒂𝒗𝒆 𝒃𝒆𝒆𝒏 𝒖𝒔𝒆𝒇𝒖𝒍 π’‚π’„π’•π’Šπ’—π’Šπ’•π’š 𝒃𝒖𝒕 π’Šπ’• 𝒔𝒉𝒐𝒖𝒍𝒅 𝒅𝒐𝒏𝒆 π’‘π’†π’“π’‡π’†π’„π’•π’π’š.

$ 0.01
1 year ago