CASH vs Credit Card Payments

8 48
Avatar for TheDINO
3 years ago

Hello to Everyone on readcash

I am a Generation X person and I have to say that when I was growing up in the 80s and 90s CASH was KING. You always wanted to have at least $20 on your person if possible - (I'd love more, but no winning lotto tickets for me yet😎)

It did not matter What the Situation was.

Do you need a cab at 3AM? (obviously not a big deal now with rideshare, ha) Are you starving for a pizza or hamburger? Do you need to "nicely" ask the tow truck driver to NOT tow your car, lol? It Always helped to have cash on hand and Everyone was Happy to take it 😊

My my my how things have CHANGED 🀣

I took a rideshare a few months ago and the fare was about $15. I did not have change so I handed the guy a $5 (a bigger tip than I normally would do on $15 but I did not have a smaller bill in my bag)

Now - please let me make a note here - I worked in "service industry" for years (for people who are not familiar - this is waiters, bartenders, etc) and I ALWAYS wanted cash. I LOVED getting cash tips and I felt much more accomplished with cash than a credit card tip (plus it was in MY POCKET - immediately😍)

Ok, so I give this guy the $5 and he looked at me like "ewww" (another note - this was PRE Covid) and said - "I HATE cash, it's too hard to count. Can't you just leave it on the app?" 🀦 When did people become too LAZY to count Their MONEY ? πŸ’°

Honestly this Totally blew my mind. I realize that payment dynamics have shifted over the past 20 years to credit card payments being the preferred form of payment, but do younger people NOT realize that THEY PAY the fees associated with those payments? I understand the Paypal / Venmo / CashApp appeal - it has free options and is pretty much instantaneous.

If you run any type of business though, do people NOT realize that they are paying fees (I've seen up to 4%)? Also, merchants pay those fees as well and those can really add up.

Have we been conditioned to make Banks Rich and "Shun" cash as undesirable?

My MAGIC 8 BALL says "perhaps" πŸ€” Oh and by the way - ANY people who are so tired of counting their cash - email me, I can count JUST FINE πŸ˜œπŸ˜‚

Photo Credits

https://pixabay.com/users/techphotogal-1739491/

https://pixabay.com/photos/euro-bank-notes-handshake-1144835/

https://www.pexels.com/photo/hands-holding-a-10-dollar-bill-4968382/

https://www.pexels.com/photo/man-in-black-suit-holding-banknotes-and-credit-card-3831185/

8
$ 0.24
$ 0.13 from @sam786
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Avatar for TheDINO
3 years ago

Comments

Cash is still the matter of leaving

$ 0.00
3 years ago

TRUTHS :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for the tip :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

change is the only constant thing in this world !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always pay with cash. And it becomes an issue on this pandemic saying to pay contactless if possible but still say money is money they still accept it. Lol And same here, I love tips from delivering food! 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know right? I don't want the "bank" in my pocket for everything, haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And the bank wants to know everything where your money coming from. 🀣

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Cash is still important and I belong to the same generation. My children still receive picket money cash and it makes them happy to save and counts it. I just wonder why my pocket money never increases. πŸ€”

Without cash, you never learn the value of money. I never had 20 golden (Dutch florins) in my pocket, rarely money with me. Same if it comes to my children. I guess we are not such buyers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago