Straffe Hendrik (Tripel beer)

5 36
Avatar for TheCryptoGambler
2 years ago
Topics: Beer, Food, Blog, Club1BCH

The next beer review in my series. As you all know by now I am a fan of Belgian triple beers, which are strong blond beers. If I am not mistaken some countries do call it strong pale ale.

Why I do go to the beer shop, I like to choose beers which I have never tasted before. Of course there are some exceptions like Karmeliet and Tripel, which are always in my basket. So, I always do have the question which one I will try.

To solve this I did let the community decide on noise. I did create a beerlover channel on noise, feel free to join that channel if you do love beer. Every beer related post is very welcome. I am very interested in the beer outside of Belgium. When abroad I do like to try to local beer, and some are very good. Here is the link to the noise channel:

https://noise.cash/c/beerlovers-7k35qqaj4566

While there was only a short time between posting the question and popping the bottle, only one reply did came in in time. Thx @Pantera Next week I will ask the question in the morning, so that the community will have more time to react.

The community had to choose between

So as written above, Straffe Hendrik it was.

Straffe Hendrik is brewed by De Halve Maan (Half moon) In Bruges.

Besides this tripel they also do brew a quadruple, which is a strong dark beer. But they also brew Brugse Zot and Brugs Tarwebier.

I did drink it before but I did forget the taste of it. And since writing these post, I do have a complete different approach to tasting a new beer. From poring it into the glass, looking at the color to smelling it, concentrating on the taste and the aftertouch.

It is not the blondest beer around; but much lighter than the previous one, which was Leffe Rituel 9.

After testing it; the first thing I did notice was the strong after touch. It was pretty bitter, which I don't always like.

I didn't taste any special, but this one isn't a top beer for me. So the next step is to see what the brewer themselves have to say about the beer.

The aroma is spicy with hints of black pepper, coriander and ginger, and is even insinuating the presence of oranges.

I do love black pepper but I do hate coriander. That's why I am not a fan of Thai food.

The palate initiates a hint of caramel, soon flowing into a certain bitterness. In the finish one can discover citrus fruits and even subtle flavours of banana.

Aha, here is the next problem. The second beer in the week with a strong aftertaste but also with a hint of banana. Very subtle of me to take the picture in front of our banana tree 🤦‍♂️ And I was right with the bitter aftertaste.

So the question is, will I drink it again? Well probably not when I do have to pay for it, but I still have 2 of those in the fridge, so yes probably I will. Have to make a mental note that I don't purchase it again. This doesn't mean that it is a bad beer, it is just nothing for me. Some like for instance dark beers, which never will be my favorite.

The alcohol percentage does put it in the higher regions. And the fact that they do have a refermentatation in the bottle, means that I could stay in the fridge for a long period. Maybe long enough to give it to a guest in the summer 😂

As last the techinical data of the brewery:

Cheers,
Peter

6
$ 9.76
$ 9.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Crackers
$ 0.04 from @AnonSunamun
+ 1
Sponsors of TheCryptoGambler
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheCryptoGambler
2 years ago
Topics: Beer, Food, Blog, Club1BCH

Comments

Voor mij is het.... ow w8.... For me it's been clear for decades now that my absolute sovereign ruling number 1 beer on the planet (as far as I am aware) is Grolsch Kanon. I've looked for a better experience for years but to no avail, I enjoy a Kanon, or as I call it a platoon artillery (6 pack, 6 Kanon, 6 impacts) more than I do any other beer.

I admit it's often a pitty that after a sixpack you're pretty much done for the day.. :P

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Had to look that one up. Didn't know it. I do assume it is a blond beer. The picture on their website are confusing, on the first it looks blond, on the second amber colored. Guess with a 11% I am done after 3 or so. I am used to drink 2 Karmeliet on Tuesday during pool night, 3 is possible but I am driving so that's not worth it. Due to the beer I do assume you are from the Netherlands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blond? I highly doubt it. I'm not a beerologist but I know it's Cat.S beer. The alcohol content is 11,6% and it's taste is sweet and fruity, with less overpowering bitterness and hops taste. It's a real full and powerful taste. (and punch, 11,6% alcohol is like most wines) It's double fermented and The taste is gotten from the Jeneverberry Figs and Caramel ingredients. Oh and it's 0 sugar. (lol) En: Ja waddan? Breda represent!! Hahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oeh I like straffe Hendrik. Proost!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Proost. But I did drink better ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago