My dark period on read.cash is over!

7 26
Avatar for TheCryptoGambler
2 years ago

Well my account is now 3 weeks old here on read.cash. And to be honest it is tougher to get noticed than I did expect. But hey, acceptance by a new community never goes easy!

It is a combination of working hard, persistence and building a brand! This is my 10th article on read.cash, so time to set up a plan for myself. I do like creating plans, it is the path to reach a specific goal!

The early days! aka the dark period!

Let's call my previous 9 articles my early days on read.cash. I could refer this to the dark period. The period where you do put your heart and soul into an article. After selecting the community and topics, you are full of expectations. How will the community receive my article. Will they like it or not, will the find the time and effort to write a comment! So after pressing the publish button, there is nothing you can do then sit back and wait! But this is a wrong mind set!

It took my some time, to notice that the minute you do place the article, you do get your first upvote! Now I know that this is probably from the randomrewarder account.

I did expect a slightly warmer welcome after my introduce yourself post. But 16 views and more important no comments, wasn't what I was expecting.

Only on my 5th article I did receive my first comment! In stead of blaming it on the community, I did some reflection.

The way ahead!

You can't expect to write your first article and hope than dozens of people will see it, read it and leave a comment. You do have to deserve their attention. And in the current days, the attention span of people is short.

There are 2 ways to tackle this issue!

1. Come up with such a great title so that it is a real click bate! Unfortunately for me, this wasn't a gift giving to me when I was born.

2. Engage with the community and promote yourself by writing genuine comments! Comments which does give added value to the original post! This is something I can do. I do like to read about various topics and do think that I have an opinion about everything. And remember opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one!

So it was time to build my own small community within the read.cash community. I start to engage with people, reading more articles and writing genuine comments. This had an immediate effect, my followers count did grown from 2 tot 12. That's more like it. But this shouldn't be the end of the road. More effort has to be done!

This also had as side effect that I did get more views on my articles and the comments are increasing. Comments are the fuel of my engine. It is easy for someone to click the upvote button! It is a little bit harder to click the tip button. But it is even harder to write a genuine comment.

I did notice the biggest chance when I did write my article of my plan to below to the 1 BCH club. I did got 8 comments, full of tips and advice. Thanks for this! I also did score my first tip. Regardless if I am here for the interaction, such a tip does motivate the author to keep on writing, to keep on engaging.

Building a brand!

Building a brand is pretty hard for me. I do like to write about various topics. So it is hard to create a dedicated brand blog. It would be of course a much easier road to recognition if I would only write about one topic and than a topic which is among the favorite topics among the read.cash community! I have tried this at another blogging platform. And while this of course does speed up thing, I did notice that my motivation to keep writing about that did decrease week by week. So it is better to write about what I want to write about. Regardless if it is well receive by the community or not! It is already hard enough for me to write a article worth publishing!

This will be a step by step process. Regardless of how many comments I would write today, I wont suddenly see the number of followers getting above 100. This is a marathon and not a sprint.

So the brand I will have to promote is ...euhm... me. That's all I can offer. That is my real added value to this blogging platform. If people do like the "Me" brand, than that is just great. If they don't like the "Me" brand, that is pity for me. But at least I am still me and not me trying to be someone else because it would look better!

So, to start of this shameless promotion of myself, I did add finally my profile picture. Okay, I will be honest, this photo is 3 years old. I am much grayer now :)

The only way I can promote the brand is to engage with people and their posts. I was thinking about only commenting and pause the writing part for some time. But that would be useless. I would still promote the "Me" brand, but if there are no own posts , why the hell would people follow me? So, I will split the time between creating my own content and engaging.

Earnings!

Almost forgot to mention this! The tipping structure on this blogging platform is pretty unknown to me. It is great that the earning are directly deposited into your BCH wallet.

But the tipping side, does also come from your own BCH wallet. This tip can become a mighty one if the randomrewarder does follow you. Due to this it would be stupid with withdraw all funds from the platform to a BCH wallet which does earn interest. So withdrawing it all isn't an option for me. Because it is giving and taking. I am not the person who is only a receiver!

Just like knowledge, wealth also can be shared. Sharing is caring!

So, I will leave at least 30% of my earning on this platform to support other authors!

If you do have any advice, feel free to interact with me!

Cheers,
Peter

8
$ 0.37
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 2
Sponsors of TheCryptoGambler
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheCryptoGambler
2 years ago

Comments

It's not easy to be a newbie but don't worry, it won't last that long. And I like the Me brand. Actually, that's the only brand I can promote, too. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the warm words! No use is trying to write what the masses want if it isn’t my cup of tea or trying impersonate something which you aren’t!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! That's the reason why I also stick to my brand and write something I can personally relate to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You on a role Peter. Great content!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thx! Trying to my best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I came here last year from Publish0x where I had 2000 subscribers. I had 2-3 subscribers for weeks on ReadCash

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a steep road ahead!

$ 0.00
2 years ago