Young Love Even For Old People Can Be Surprisingly Bountiful

4 38
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Wednesday, 25th August

Hello, good day everyone. I hope y'all are having a pretty good day. I woke up today feeling my best self, almost feeling rejuvenated and vivified. Anyway, in this spirit I would like to write about a tale I came upon watching a series, using fictional characters.

Photo Credit - google.com

The name of the series is Modern Love. Watching this series, I came across a beautiful yet tragic love story. The particular story I want to tell is a tale of Old love. It is tragic because, Diana attends Ethan’s funeral and has to watch another person she loves leave her life in physical form, forever.

Now, in her own words, rendering a few words at the funeral...she says,

Photo Credit- google.com

"The last time we were all gathered like this was our joint 140th birthday party when we announced to you all our engagement. Now that I think about it, I wish we had a bigger wedding reception but I suppose I thought we would have many opportunities.

Ethan was not so certain of that

I remember him saying once that at our age, "until death do us part" didn't seem like such a big commitment.

Old love is different. More practical; realistic maybe. When Ethan and I met, we had already been through many vicissitudes in life, and we had learned how to settle and compromise, and we had survived loss and mistakes. And somehow we felt if this relationship failed, we would survive this, too.

Now, I'm not so sure about that.

Photo Credit- google.com

Old love is different, yet it is also the same because Ethan and I did everything that young people do. We fell in love, we traveled, we remodeled a house and moved in together, we planted a garden, I finished a memoir, he called me "sweetheart". And on night when we were out in company, all I had to do was glance across the room, and he'd intuit that it was time for him to take me home where we would sit on the rim of the bathtub and floss our teeth and gossip about the evening.

Every time we passed each other in the house, Ethan made a point of stopping to kiss me or squeeze my shoulder or stroke my hand. I never had that in my life before, and sometimes it irked me, but now I think it's the thing I will miss the most.

Photo Credit - google.com

He and I often told each other, "we are so lucky" and we were. Young love even for old people can be surprisingly beautiful and bountiful.

Many of you know that Ethan and I met when we were running, The Geriatric Olympics, he called it. You know, in the beginning, I chased him and then he chased me, and finally we found a way to run in lockstep. And the tough uphill bits, the bits with illness and setbacks, went a little easier and the pleasant down hill parts were that much more joyful.

Photo Credit- google.com

And now, Ethan has...run the course. I just, um...I don't know how I'm going to manage. Right now it feels like a bit of a slog. But wherever he is, and however long it takes, I hope he'll wait for me."

A/N: Beautiful, isn't it? I thought so too. . I like that it deals with old age love, something that most young people do not comprehend and not many actually understand it. It was lovely how they both appreciated the time they had together regardless of their age. I found it really fascinating and I just thought to share it here.

>>Good day everyone again, I'm always glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here once again. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just elated. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

The.Ada signing out!

12
$ 3.98
$ 3.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Knowhere
+ 6
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

This is what we all wanted having someone until we grow old and eventually die but that's the hardest part when one leaves the other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's actually true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww! That is a beautiful love story through the wife's words... I just imagined how they enjoyed their years and moments together. It's a story we all want to have a piece of, except of course the other one leaving (dying) which is one of life's natural occurrences and something we can't stop.

"Every time we passed each other in the house, Ethan made a point of stopping to kiss me or squeeze my shoulder or stroke my hand." - This is so my husband :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, really beautiful story. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago