Tribute: Remember, Remember, The 20th Of October...

5 43
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Wednesday, 20th October

"Remember, remember the 20th of October, the tragic massacre with reckless abandon at Lekki Toll Gate. I know of no reason why the 20th of October should ever be forgot"

Those were almost the very first words that came to mind and in a way, that is where this story began, a year ago today, in the streets at Lekki Toll Gate. In 2020, the government attempted causing mayhem by shooting up a peaceful protest; I mean who does that?? Lives were lost.

Sometimes I wonder where we would be if that incident didn't occur. I wonder if it would have mattered at all. I suppose the answer is in the rhyme. More than the tragic incident, what we must remember is the significance, the purpose, the sacrifices.

For in the significance we find more than just the tragedies, we find the idea, purpose, the spirit of their sacrifices and that is what we must never forget. This, then, is the story of that idea, of that spirit that continues the revolution, last year today.

If you can recall, on the 1st of October, I posted an article about Independence day and I alighted the incident that occurred on this day.

"Truth be told, the cause did come with its fair share of insolence, horror, violence and loss which as one would expect gave rise to the grim and somber nature towards its denouement not precluding the sadistic and cruel encounter with in my opinion, the highly mismanaged, completely inept and seemingly incompetent sorry excuse for a military at Lekki Toll Gate. It was an unfortunate and abysmal incident. Sacrifices were made for the cause and I'd like to think those gracious and worthy sacrifices weren't futile."

Here's the link-

https://read.cash/@The.Ada/independence-day-a-call-to-freedom-6b27233d

It's impossible to forget. I remember that day, clear as day in my mind. I remember the violence, the anger, the tears shed, the blood stained flag. The flag used to wrap up and carry innocent victims away from the scene. I remember it so clearly, feels as if it was yesterday. And what did the government do, they chose to focus on the reaction to the oppression rather than the oppression itself. I find that problematic. I woke up this morning and this one song keeps ringing in my head. "Powerful by Alicia Keys and Jussie Smorlett".

People been talking about it

We won't just stand here in silence

Can't stop the fire from rising

Rising, ooh ooh

People don't you be afraid

So many innocent slain

This is an era for change

Change

And Malcolm's probably turning in his grave

Every shade was beautifully made....

~~~~

And Powerful,

There's so much strength in you and me

Powerful, A breathe away from victory

I matter, you matter, we matter all...

Powerful

~~~~

I see a colorful future

Where skin don't define any human

And stars are the only thing shooting

Shooting, wow, ooh

Mothers that bury their child

How can we sit there and hide

Change comes when all take and stand now

Stand up, stand up

Martin's speech still echoes in my brain

Every shade was beautifully made...

~~~~

And Powerful,

There's so much strength in you and me

Powerful, A breathe away from victory

I matter, you matter, we matter all...

Powerful

Oh oh, oh oh, oh oh

Oh oh, oh oh, oh oh

Oh oh, oh oh, oh oh

Powerful

There's so much strength in you and me

Powerful, A breathe away from victory

I matter, you matter, we matter all...

Powerful

Powerful

We will not be silenced. We will not soon forget. And for our future, in the words of Timi Dakolo...

"Here we stand as a People with one song, with one voice. We're a nation, undivided and poised. We will take a stand and build our land. With faith to defend what is ours.

Here we are as a People with one heart, for one cause. We're determined to rebuild and restore. Where freedom reigns and truth prevails. A land where there's hope for us all

We are all we have, we'll defend our land. We believe in this nation and we know we'll get there. We are all we have, we'll defend our land. We believe in Nigeria, and the promise she holds. And that one day she'll shine like the sun. We're a great nation!"

#LekkiTollMassacre

#EndSARSMemorial

#EndSARS

#October2020

#WeWillNotForget

9
$ 4.03
$ 3.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 4
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

Prayers for the souls of those who were killed on that fateful day... I hope and pray that they will be given justice soon and may your country will become great again...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a day we’ll never forget Rip to our fallen heroes They’ll never be forgotten I pray my country Nigeria is great again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been playing burna's 20-10-20 since morning. We shall never forget

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe beyond doubts that Nigeria will be great again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will never forget

$ 0.00
2 years ago