Social Media And Its Influences As Regards Mental Health

2 39
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Friday, 12th November

Is it just me or has it been quite a while since I posted an article. Well, I guess it's a little bit of both. Anyway, I've terribly missed writing and posting on here, it's just that I had to take time to focus on other things but I'm here now and I'm not going anywhere anytime soon.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Did I forget to mention how beautiful the day is today, it definitely is a beautiful day to do whatever it is people do on beautiful days😁

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Alrighty then, I don't really have much to say or write or type but I just would like to share my thoughts on this matter, the influences of social media on youths today. I know it's oddly specific but I feel it's that kinda day, you know. This matter has been overly talked about and argued but today, I'll just be sharing a few thoughts on the matter.

Young people are usually faced with several challenges. These challenges have increased dramatically as a result of the present impressive advancements in science and technology. The Internet and Smart phones, for instance, have indeed reduced the whole world to a global village and given birth to social media. Social media in itself has made it possible for anyone to instantly keep abreast with happenings all around the world.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

I would say social media and technology offer us greater convenience and connectivity;

  1. Staying connected to family and friends worldwide via emails, texts, video chats etc especially in a time like this dealing with the effects of CoVID;

  2. Quick access to information and research;

  3. Great marketing tools;

  4. Banking and bills to pay at our fingertips;

  5. Opportunities for remote employment;

  6. Involvement in civic engagement; etc

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

But there are always downsides to every technological advancement. There are various negative influences as a result of social media:

  1. Cyberstalking;

  2. Cyber crime;

  3. Trolling;

  4. Cyberbullying;

  5. Social anxiety;

  6. Invasion of privacy; etc.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

All these and many more are negative influences of social media. Some of these influences have long lasting impacts that's proven to be damaging to mental health.

Some might say, the society at large should realise that young people at their impressionable age, are simply influenced by what they observe happening around them, whether good or bad. So, instead of emphasising materialism and flaunting of wealth, the society's responsibility towards the youths should be mainly to instil in them its norms, customs and values through proper role modelling.

I am not trying to debate the pros and cons of social media. I'm just trying to draw attention and awareness to both sides of the argument so to speak.

I'm not going to go into details on each of the issues aforementioned both in the pros and cons section, at least not in this article. I would shed more light on this particular subject matter in my coming articles.

>>Good day everyone again, I'm always glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here once again. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just elated. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

The.Ada signing out!

7
$ 2.54
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
+ 2
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

really glad you are back and nice having you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything in this life has pros and cons. I hope to see how you analyze the pros and cons in subsequent articles

$ 0.00
2 years ago