So, What Is This Thing?... Man? Woman?

1 28
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Monday, 21st March

Hahaha!🤣🤣 Funny, right?!! Well, I just figured I'll start today's article on a light note, you know. It's been quite a day for me (yeah, it's definitely been that kind of day).

On that funny note, please brace yourselves as I take you down a path that most assuredly might leave in a daze of existential ennui. Now you'll see why I decided to start today's article with what I think is a funny joke😅

Here goes nothing...

"Funny how in the days of old, three creatures were fashioned and referenced. The Angels. The Beasts. The Human Beings.

The Angels, He made from His pure word. The angels have no will to do evil. They cannot deviate from one moment from His purpose.

Then, The Beasts. The beasts have only their instincts to guide them. They, too; follow the commands of their maker.

Therein, written that after almost six whole days of creation fashioning the earth and its creatures; Man and Woman were made.

Dare I ask, an afterthought? Or His crowning achievement?

So, what pray tell is this thing?

Man?

Woman?

It is a being with the power to disobey, alone among the creatures we have free will. We hang suspended between the clarity of the Angels and the desires of the Beasts.

He gave us a choice, which is both a privilege and a burden.

We must then choose the tangled life we live."

Hmm... yeah I know! That's definitely something to ponder on. Anyway, still on topic I have only but two questions. In the grand scheme of things;

What exactly is free will?

Do you really think humans have free will?

Upon asking, I've been able to deduce that:

Free will, in philosophy and science, the supposed power or capacity of humans to make decisions or perform actions independently of any prior event or state of the universe.

According to John Martin Fischer, human agents do not have free will, but they are still morally responsible for their choices and actions. In a nutshell, Fischer thinks that the kind of control needed for moral responsibility is weaker than the kind of control needed for free will.

The Bible testifies to the need for acquired freedom because no one "is free for obedience and faith till he is freed from sin's dominion." People possess natural freedom but their "voluntary choices" serve sin until they acquire freedom from "sin's dominion."

In truth, I don't think there is one definite answer for these questions. Even when you try to Google it, you'll only find different opinions, even some contradictory ones which ultimately leads to more questions than answers. Then, you'll find yourself going down this rabbit hole of existential questions without a modicum of a worthy satisfactory answer. It's maddening I know.

I would just take solace in thinking "to each their own" cause everyone has an opinion so I guess I'll just have to ask you to let me know what your opinion is then.

A/N: I think I've had enough talk/write for today. I'm all tapped out even my head hurts thinking about writing anymore on this topic. Yeah so it's that time where I bid you all farewell and...

Toodles!😊

Image source: pixabay.com

5
$ 2.09
$ 1.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

freedom's true essence seems impossible to achieve unless we are out of this life already hehe. Our free will was hanging because the decisions we made depended on its situation or it was influenced by others' way of thinking. And almost our moves should consider the consequences as if you have to freely choose but hurdled by it and went the other way. Not sure, just my thought though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago