Our Deepest Fear...

5 30
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Monday, 11th April

"Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same."

I don't know about you but I'm feeling a sense of dejavu right now writing this. I guess it's probably because I've referenced this quote on one of my previous articles months back. Yeah, the quote is one of my all-time favorites and if you're familiar with the movie, Akeelah and the Bee then you'll know exactly what I'm talking about.

The first I heard of the quote was from the movie aforementioned and it really got to me. I learned that it was a quote by Marianne Williamson which initially says and I quote:

"Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frighten us."

Then I think to myself, what does this really mean to me?? What exactly is the message this poem is trying to pass across to me? I'm learning now that--

This poem taps into themes of spirituality, religion, self-perception, and self-confidence. The speaker addresses, “you,” the reader, telling you that it is not the darkness that humanity fears but light. Everyone who hides their light is shirking their potential the God imbued them with. It is her belief that by doing this we are only harming one another. It is up to us to change the way we see ourselves so that we might do justice to the lives God gave us and improve the lives of others. 

Knowing this I feel a little at ease with myself you know. Also, it's one thing to know these things and it's another to actualize them. The most common question associated with this poem/quote is;

What indeed is our deepest fear in life?

I think the sooner we ask ourselves this question by introspection, the sooner we arrive at the truth about our reality which would be the best thing for us.

I've come to the realisation that our deepest, biggest fears has some kind of hold on us that keeps us from living our best lives. I've narrowed down 10 of these biggest fears and upon my next article I would expound on them but for now, I would only highlight them.

  1. Fear of failure

  2. Fear of success

  3. Fear of loss

  4. Fear of being judged

  5. Fear of losing our identity

  6. Fear of losing control

  7. Fear of time

  8. Fear of who you really are

  9. Fear of the loss of the known

  10. Fear of what's next

P.S: If you have thoughts you'd like to share with me, I most highly welcome them. On that note, I bid you farewell. Toodles!

Image Source- pixabay.com

6
$ 3.38
$ 3.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

Fear, the enemy of progress and that is the only thing stopping us. Devil is so cunning that he has instilled fear in our ways to scare us and limit us to things we should have done greatly. We fear many things but what we do not realize is that when we come to understand that it is the only weapon the devil has on us. We need to conquer him through resisting fear and becoming confident and hoping for the best.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all have different fears instilled in us, stopping us from achieving or aiming towards out life goals. I'd love to see your highlights on the fears mentioned above.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so true, it's what we are capable of doing that we have problems with because we are scared that we might not know it. Funny enough, after doing it and getting it right is when we know that we can do it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know this quote so much in fact immediately I saw your article I knew what the next line was .. sometimes we are scared because we know our potential and it’s scary if we cant reach the full of it .. we just have to try and do the best we can

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes I fear what I will become when I have it all. I may become an indestructible and unstoppable force that would do things without control.

I can already imagine the amount of people that I will send to jail once they misbehave.

$ 0.02
2 years ago