Final Destination: The Road Trip To The Infamous "Crocodile City"

13 56
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Saturday, 4th September

Today, I would like to share with you an experience, a bittersweet one that's left me reminiscent and pretty nostalgic. The unforgettable road trip to the Crocodile City. Bare in mind that this is no fictional event. I'll start from the genesis.

~~~~~

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

It so happened that some years ago, three years give or take, my uncle was to be married to his beloved, his southern belle, his one. My family is from the Eastern region of Nigeria while his beloved was from the Western region but it so happened that the wedding would take place in the Northern region of the country. I have no idea why but I was just along for the ride. When my Dad found out about the logistics of the ceremony, preparations were made and he decided to make a road trip out of it. Even as my family and I hailed from the Eastern part of the country, we actually resided in the Western region, Lagos state to be exact. My Dad thought it best to make a family road trip, travelling across state lines to the northern region of the country, precisely Kaduna state (if only he knew the what to expect of this decision). So, it would be my Dad, Mom, Brother K, Brother D and I taking the road trip as a family. Sister F wasn't along for the ride because she was still in boarding school at the time so she missed out on it (lucky her!)

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

So, travelling from Lagos to Kaduna state, what a journey. Hearing about the supposed road trip, being a curious person I did my research. I found out that the estimated time of travel from Lagos to Kaduna is about 13-14 hours. I learned that Kaduna city (our final destination), capital of Kaduna state is located on the Kaduna River. Also, Kaduna's name is derived from the Hausa word "Kada" which means Crocodile. The name was given because of the Crocodile-infested river of Kaduna. It is not uncommon to see crocodiles basking by the rocky riverside. This is why it is popularly dubbed the "Crocodile City" (wow! Just wow! As if this road trip wasn't stressful enough, we were now venturing to the infamous Crocodile City!!). I also deduced that we would have to pass through about six states to get to our final destination.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

I, for one have never been a fan of travels, especially road trips because I get motion sickness. Sure I was excited and reeling with delight and joy for the wedding of course, but I wasn't too thrilled with my dad's idea of making it a road trip, to the Crocodile City no less. So, imagine travelling across state lines for an estimated 13-14 hours journey for someone like me who gets car sick, what a disaster, right?! Well, I didn't want to be a downer, so in the spirit of optimism, anticipation and excitement, I came up with a way to enjoy the trip and deal with the motion sickness.

  1. I discovered that the effects of the motion sickness is reduced when I'm mentally and physically active in the vehicle. The remedy was, listening to music to stimulate my brain and keep me mentally active while singing along to the song or making conversations to keep me physically active.

  2. Also, I discovered that not ingesting any type of food or drink especially in the early hours of the trip goes a long way. The remedy was, going on a dry fasting for the most part of the trip.

  3. Sleep. Sleeping really does help quell the effects of the motion sickness.

  4. For contingency purposes, I had a tiny disposable bag with me if and when the plan fails and I have to hurl my insides out. The bag is a last resort. (it's always good to have a contingency plan)

So, yeah I made a plan to help me cope. I tell you it was a solid plan but plan 2 was the hardest because my mom prepared a feast for the road trip (can you imagine?). It was really hard trying to resist the aroma of the delectable dish my mom conjured up the night before the trip but I soldiered on. I wasn't going to let anything ruin my carefully laid out plan.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

A/N: Now for the part, you've all been waiting for... the start, the beginning of...the journey to the infamous Crocodile City...

To be continued!

>>Good day everyone again, I'm always glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here once again. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just elated. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

The.Ada signing out!


14
$ 6.43
$ 6.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

Sounds like a true adventure. I'm going to read the continuation right away. And I have motion sickness as well, thanks for the tips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just how moms are. They feed you all the time :D

When I was younger, I do sleep when I feel like throwing up but most of the time I like to see the landscape passing by. Also, I'm okay with eating light when traveling but if I am that famished, then I can eat in one of the stopovers. They say chewing gum also helps with motion sickness but I'm not that fond of chewing gums.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crocs are vet delicious......seriously. They are very dangerous likewise. Crocodiles have the strongest jaws among all animals. So, don't joke with a croc. Traveling sickness? I can travel anywhere but not in a boat or ship. I don't like water one bit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer open windows when traveling as I have travel sickness, especially inside the air-conditioned vehicle.. Haven't seen a crocodile in real yet.. Am really curious about its real looks 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here,i hate road trip. A car with it glass wind up and AC on is the worst. I do end up with an headache after most trips. Looking forward to the next part🤗

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I know right! I totally can relate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Infamous crocodile city" indeed. I'm still wondering why the wedding venue was in the North...looking forward to the sequel.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Well, maybe you'll find out in the sequel😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got motion sickness too, when riding public transport for a long ride. But just like your remedy, being active or sleeping did some tricks. Waiting for that trip details :D

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yeah right! Thanks for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I love a road trip! But I got sick in an air-conditioned bus before and able to cope it with what you mention especially if I'm doing something in the bus or if I don't eat too much as long as Im not hungry then I'll be fine. :) Looking forward to the trip.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yeah, I get that. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago