Why does really Vincent Van Gogh cuts his ear off?

62 204
Avatar for Terilastovicka
3 years ago

I would like to say before me move on to the article that I am not psychologist or psychiatrist. In all of my articles I am speaking out about my opinion and thoughts and possible theories what could lead Van Gogh cut his ear off. There is not one simple quick explanation or theory that proves for hundred percent the act of Vincent Van Gogh cut his ear off - or to be the exactly specific he did not cut all of his ear off but the cuts only the ear lobe - but it does not mater in this case because we want to know the answer right ? But its not that easy to find one particular reason why does that happened - sadly. There are so many facts to keep in mind behind every story why does someone decide to hurt himself or in this case hurt yourself in this very unconventional or strange way. I believe there is more true to this story and in this article I Will be trying to point out several reasons why would that happened.

Most widely accepted simple theory

The most common and widely accepted theory of why does Vincent Van Gogh cut his ear off was that he does that after big argument with his fellow artist friend Paul Gauguin and then he gave his ear to a prostitute names Rachel as a sign of affection. This was a proven fact that he gets into a fights and he does physically bring part of his ear lobe to a prostitute as it was even pictured in the movie loving vincent but there is so much more behind this story that I feel is needed to be said.

Vincent Van Gogh mental health and struggle

Evidence and several psychiatric analysing suggests that Vincent Van Gogh was struggling with mental illness. Vincent Van Gogh according to several psychiatrists -had a Manic depression and chronic mental illness. One study even say that he was having Menieres disease which was at that time not well known and thats why it was often misdiagnosed as epilepsy. There is a high possibility in this case that his personal Doctor - Dr Gachet - who was a French Physician (not a professional Psychiatrist) had misdiagnosed him with false medication and treatment.

He cut his ear off because of tinnitus or from being misdiagnosed ?

Tinnitus is an illness that is often described as ringing and roaring in the ears. Tinnitus is one of the main symptoms of Menieres desease. But in Van Goghs case as we know - was not diagnosed with Menieres desease and his doctors conclude that he was suffering from epileptic seizures and madness. But this is not the only one diagnose that has been said as theory.

Imagine being misdiagnosed and getting the wrong treatment by the wrong people and still suffering the illness that was not well known at that time. Could this be the answer why would you act unnatural and get to the point to cut your ear lobe off just out of despair and an absolute sadness because you dont know what is wrong with you and why do you having the symptoms that you have ?

Too many diagnosis and proposed theories

So many people until this day would try to come with even more theories and diagnosis that could lead to an event of his cutting his ear off. He cuts his ear off simply because of the woman that he get married to that was a prostitute and had a kid and they could be having some relationship problems and also his family was not very supportive and also the society that they lived in was maybe not the best by accepting this as a healthy relationship. Also there is a theory that he cut his ear off because of his brother was geting married. There is a theory that he cuts his ear because he get to an arguments and fights and so on... I dont want to point out all the possible theories because honestly people are speculating too much.

Other proposed theories have said that he was having an bipolar disorder, temporal lobe epilepsy, syphilis, borderline personality disorder, cycloid psychosis, and schizophrenia. Honestly here has been so many diagnosis for Van Gogh that I feel I am kind of loosing myself in all those possible scenarios and possible side effects and symptoms that may Vincent Van Goghs have that can lead to this event. But honestly ? I think it does not matter why does Vincent Van Gogh cut his ear off.

But it doesnt really matter because...

I think it does not matter right now. What matters to me is his story and his huge massive positive impact that he had for so many artists that are reading his story. There are so many artist who are struggling with their mental health and everyday lack of creativity and ideas and all those everyday struggles what an non artists dont understand. I think that non artist are often not fully understanding the facts that artists are not just robots that are bursting out painting by painting or drawing by drawing. Our creative spirit is not always there and we need to sacrifice so much to do art. We need time - creating art is a long difficult process and when we need more time we have to sacrifice often so much.. I just remembered how I used to talk to my friend who is also creating art and she is working very hard to start selling her art. We joked about how we need to wash our hair but we do not have the time or energy. I mean honestly I am ashamed to say that but if you do an art you need time and most of the time you have to sacrifice even a personal hygiene sometimes... Yep... I remember how I used to keep asking myself why are the artist most described as those with greasy hair and dark circles under eye and intimidating look on their faces. Now I get it ! We are often tired , we dont have enough time and we feel just emotionally and mentally sucked out because we need to keep creating things in our mind and working very hard to transfer it on paper while it would look just the way we want it. So people can say sh@t like : That is really expensive or What design could I get for 10 dollars or Would you draw me for free? Yeah , we are basically payed like prostitutes , sucked out from creativity and positive thoughts and our muse, dont have enough time... Like I basically didnt had enough time to end this article somehow more socially acceptable or just without an basic ending like the other articles by other people have....

I am very sorry .. But if you somehow like this article and would decide to support me you can leave a long comment about your toughts about this whole topic and subscribe to me for more articles or you can also donate to me - poor artist.

Sponsors of Terilastovicka
empty
empty
empty

121
$ 0.57
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.04 from @Auwalkabir
Avatar for Terilastovicka
3 years ago

Comments

Honesty I don't really know what to say, I am speechless... And all I know is that I really felt bad for him, having to live where no one understand him and everyone keep on judging him,that's a hard life to live, and for what ever the reason he cut off his ears, I think it shouldn't be an issue now. And I ask about Vincent Van Gogh out of curiosity about why he did what he did, not knowing I will be ripping of a bandage. Am sorry about the actions of people toward you artist, they have no idea what you all go through to came up with a master piece. What they did is wrong, and unacceptable. I know, it sounds more like an apology rather than article comment, its just that what they did is wrong. It's a great article, very insightful, thank you for sharing it with us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for such inspiring and lovely thoughts ♥️🙏 I am very glad that for everyone that feels the same way as I am about vincent. He just lived a very sad life 😞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow your comment pretty catched my heart, because I have just same opinion on his life and struggles. We empaths are able to feel for him, hope you agree dear Teri, that life was suffering for him. Everybody, even children, was making fun of him, dispataged him and no adult stopped them from it because they found him as wierdo. I am wondering for this pradox of when he suffered from that artistic wierdnes and nowadays people admire it😂 Wondering and feeling unfair for him

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe the reason he cut his ear is due to the sound that his hearing. He might have super sonic hearing thats incapacitated in his love to paint. I think after he cut his ear we was able to peacefully paint his masterpiece.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay that's the most crazy theory I have ever heard 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Vincent Willem van Gogh was born on March 30, 1853, in the Netherlands. He had a difficult, nervous personality and worked unsuccessfully at an art gallery and then as a preacher among poor miners in Belgium. In 1880, he decided to become an artist. His work from this period–the most famous of which is The Potato Eaters (1885)–is dark and somber and reflective of the experiences he had among peasants and impoverished miners.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Copying informationat Google is considered as spamming on this website. Comment section is for clever disscusion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He might have mental illness that's why he cut it 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes if you have read my article you would know that I have spoken about it but what kind of illness was it is still mistery

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He is a great artist 'began to hallucinate and suffered attacks in which he lost consciousness.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I must react to this one, did you know that starter for most mental illneses in misundertanding, non - supportive surroundings? Mental illnes occurs when they are are pushing ones desires, passions, priorities and stuff down for society or surroudings. ythey are finding it irrelevant or meaningless. One cannot deal with denial of his nature and role. I hope I wrote it in polite way, because your comment seems condemning, but I am not sure about it...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But what started those attacks? He was treating for epilepsy but he did not had epilepsy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

subs back please hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These kind of comments i am considering as spamming.... Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

subscribe plz

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Van Gogh is a great artist. With all of that speculation of yours, the mental problems is the nearest possible of why he did such thing. But as we all know, celebrities are tend to more prone of kind of depression. Do you think he is going to some struggles that fueled up his mental problem?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes usually it happens in most of the famous people that they will be struggling with some anxiety and other mental problems (from privacy invasion) but in Van Goghs case it was not possible because during his life he was not famous at all and he did not sell any painting. He become famous after his dead. I think there might be possibility that during his life he did not get as much support from his family and from the peoples around him so I think that should be the started but it doesn't have to be like that. I think this might be the case that would lead to stress for sure tho.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think he has really impact his world with what he has to offer that is exactly what I think

$ 0.00
3 years ago

plz subscribe plz plz I am saport for u plz saport me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He's a legend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow am confuse still confuse about why he will do so. but to me i think the second reason is still more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Van Gogh was and still is one of the best artists ever. He suffered a lot because of his mental health problems, but at least he managed to write his name in history with golden letters.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm nice art 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats very fine indeed description. I love how you describe the story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks well I tried to write about it in my own opinion and bring some of my thoughts on this and how I feel about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well with all these being mere speculations I am even more confused to why he would actually cut his ear. Nevertheless it's okay it's his instead of being some other persons. Either ways he had his reasons and I want to respect the decision he took.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah welcome to my world I mean the more I read about all those things behind Vincents life and more videos I watch more information I receive I am more confused. Honestly I hope that there would be one basic explanation why he did that but i respect it as well and honestly I dont care why he did that do be honest because I see him as an inspiration and I adore him becuase he was working really hard as an artist. Honestly the more I learn of him the more in love in his work and story I am.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that's good for you.. I like that you're happy finding out more about him. Personally he doesn't seem to interest me that much... Maybe cause I'm not much of an artist? 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good day, I'm new here, lets help one another. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

plz subscribe my id plz.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You got it right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dear I sub you now you sub me back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think no one will ever get to know what was happening inside Vincent’s head and why he did what he did. I am glad that he could be able to bring such an impresive art style to this world, this is what matters the most. On your artist’s problems part of writing, I totally agree, sometimes I have feeling that other artists own some kind of magical elixir which helps them to sell their artworks more, and make living from their art. But it is just my fantasy and maybe dissapointment with me not making living of art Like when you do not have tome to basic hygiene and it is not enough to earn money from you art, motivating as hell😂 Great article hope I will be reading another one from you soon.💜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aah thanks a lot my lovely friend for expressing your thoughts on this topic. I see we have a very similar opinion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! He's so talented even on his case. He's a legend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Who?? Vincent van Gogh? He is talented about what?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I salute his Artistry. Especially the starry night

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article. It lengthy too. That's a lot of effort. Keep it up. Please subscribe to me. I have subscribed to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for appreciating me and my article :) I have subscribed to you too and I thank you for subscribing me too :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago