We'll get by with a smile: A story of faithfulness and provisions.

4 39
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
3 years ago

Philippians 4:6-7 "Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus." This has been my power verse for a long time already, and it always calms my soul knowing that I'll get by, with God's grace.

Since it's the Holy Week, this story is about how faithful God has been in my life.

Blessings in disguise.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, our town in Palo, Leyte, has been hit by the Super Typhoon Haiyan. Thousands of lives lost, properties, and dreams. We're thankful that we didn't lost anyone in our family. However, as with everyone else, we lost our house, our food source, and almost lost the ability to dream. I was then in my third year in college, and we had no means to continue our studies. I didn't want to stop, I was set to go to Manila to try my luck, find a job and support myself while studying. Few weeks after the typhoon, when the roads were already cleared, a classmate found me and told me that all our classmates have gone to Manila and that we are the only ones left in Tacloban. Apparently, the UP system have opened their doors for us to continue the semester, with everything free!, food, dorms, and even down to toiletries. And so we went to UP Diliman in Quezon City to continue the semester! And this would be my first time in Manila and away from my family!

But since the semester has started already, we were only accepted in the minor courses that our degree requires. This caused us to extend another year in our degree course. Had I not gone into Diliman, yes, I would have graduated earlier, but I would never have made it to Med School right now. Had I not gone to Manila, I wouldn't have met this couple who funded me to continue my studies from college until medschool. God uses unthinkable situations and uses the heart of other people to see you through your hardships in life. In Jeremiah 29:11 "For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." So you see, you may be in a dilemma right now or in a situation that is out of your plans, but remember that God's plans are way bigger than ours. And remember, that life's battle is not yours to fight, it is God's fight which He have already won, though Jesus Christ in the cross.

Going with the flow

Be still, and know that God is in control.

I have learned to put my faith into the Lord and just go with the flow. After graduating in college, I was torn between the need to work and wanting to study. During this time, I was reminded that whatever I choose, God's plans for my life has already been set, and that His plans will prevail. A little less than a month after graduating, I had the opportunity to work in a government office. And stayed there for 1 year before applying for medschool.


After having my NMAT exam result, I had finally decided to apply for scholarships, in Cebu and Iloilo. However, I didn't get into my dream school. It's either I was toolate or I just didn't qualify. For the last try, I applied for a scholarship in the only Med school in Tacloban. One last try, I thought. If I don't get a scholarship, I have no way to fund for myself, and so maybe Medicine is not really for me. So I applied, the last one even to submit forms, in the last days of the application period. The waiting period was a real torture. I have no job, no assurance into getting to med school and nowhere else to go. And then I received a text message from the school registrar. I got accepted into the College of Medicine, got the scholarship and got a 100% discount for the tuition fee for 4 years! Had I not been into Manila and extended my studies for 1 year, I wouldn't have someone fund me for the remaining miscellaneous fees that's not covered by the scholarship. Had I not waited 1 year before applying for medschool, had I quit searching for scholarships after getting declined in various schools, had I not applied to the only medschool in our place (this was actually the least option for me), I wouldn't be in 4th year Medicine today, few more years into that MD!

Hopefully, in God's unfailing grace, will graduate this year.

So you see, sometimes we keep on chasing the things we want and taking our own path, that we fail to see the the path God has paved for us. Remember to always lay down your worries and desires to God and go with the flow that God has designed. In Matthew 6:26 "Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?" Remember that you are valued, you are loved and that your heavenly Father will always, in all ways, see you through.

Have faith and you'll get by with a smile!

Love you Ten thousand!

Sponsors of Tenj
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 7.51
$ 7.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @szbarnaus
$ 0.05 from @CryptoMax
+ 1
Sponsors of Tenj
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Indeed the Lords faithfulness is unwavering! He provides our needs, thanks for this story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello there, You seem to be doing well. I see you already got good results with these two articles. Pump forward!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you for your encouragements! Will keep in mind all your blogging tips. 🤗💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amen, Ten! :) came here from noise

$ 0.00
3 years ago