Vaccinated: Not Just Once But Twice (1st Dose)

2 29
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Diary, Purpose, Life

Yesterday, I got vaccinated with the second dose of of the anti-Covid vaccine, Sinovac. I'm supposed to write this article right after, however, the day has probably taken its toll on me and I felt dead tired, I wasn't in the mood to write.

Anyway, let me share how my vaccination day went in installments.

First Dose

I had my first dose last March 11, 2021. My mom was a bit hesitant to let me get vaccinated. She worries because I have not been feeling well for the past weeks, and I only just gotten better from the flu. Moreover, she was afraid that if they learn that I had a flu, I might be mislabeled as a COVID case. But with the reassurance that none of those would happen, she finally let me have it.

Since the travel time from our place to the venue would take me an hour, I woke up early to give myself ample time to prepare. At around 5 AM, I have already had coffee to warm my stomach with. It was raining and cold so I had to heat up a kettle of water for a warm bath.

It had been raining non-stop, I felt not going.

At around 8 AM, the line had been piling up, mostly of PGIs(post graduate interns) and a few students and hospital and school staff. Shortly after 8AM, the line was finally moving and the vaccination process had already started. The process was well thought of and is systematic which made the activity ran smoothly.

On queue. At a separate building, we were held until a vacancy is open at the next step.

Filling up forms. Next, information such as identifying data (name, age, address, etc.), self assessment, health status, consent, were documented at the entrance of the school, where chairs are laid down to write on.

Vital status. Once done with the paper works, our vital status where assessed including temperature, weight, blood pressure, and pulse rate and oxygen saturation.

Counseling. Here we were oriented as to what type of vaccine we will be getting, what possible effects it may have, and our consent to getting the vaccine.

Final assessment. Once all has been clarified and informed, final assessment with regards to our health condition was done. A checklist is used by the doctor to ask weather you have symptoms indicated on the list. Since I recently had colds and my sense of smell is still gone, the doctor told me that I couldn't have the vaccine, unless I sign a waiver. At this moment, I was thinking, if I sign the waiver to get the vaccine, it's like choosing between the uncertainty with the side effects versus the risk of getting life threatening COVID infection. And if I don't sign the waiver and just go home, I would be wasting my chance, my effort in coming to the venue despite the rain, and my time.

And so, I decided to sign the waiver and get vaccinated (and prayed to my guardian angels that I won't have side effects).

SINOVACcinated. I'm really not afraid of vaccines so getting this shot was really just a breeze. The pain of the needle was minimal.

Together with my classmates, we won't let this to pass us by without documentation.

30-minute observation. After getting vaccinated, it is mandated that we remain in the observation area for a 30-minute monitoring for possible side effects. So far, during my stay, there were no reported incidents of side effects. Aside from the soreness that my arm was feeling from the injection site, thankfully I was feeling just fine, also even at home. My mom kept on asking me how I felt and all I could say is "I'm fine, just sleepy." Probably because I woke up to early and the weather was a cuddle-weather.

Of course, I had to document it and post it on the blue social media. After a while from posting, I have received lots of direct messages from my friends. Most of them were curious how I felt after my vaccination. Was it painful? Did I feel any side effects? Was I not afraid at all in getting the vaccine? And just like my mother, my answer to them were one and the same. I felt perfectly fine.

And I say that the best vaccine is whatever vaccine is available.

Stay safe and healthy, dear loves.

Love you Ten thousand!

2
$ 3.31
$ 3.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
Sponsors of Tenj
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Diary, Purpose, Life

Comments

Good job! Tapos na rin ako sa 2nd dose last thurs. So far i didn't experience any side effects this time. All good!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yeyy! Good to hear. Mas madami akong kilala na walang side effects na nafeel so far.

$ 0.00
3 years ago