Conquering April through and through!

4 45
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Experiences, Life, Success, Diary, ...

The week has passed by quickly. So fast that we didn't realize we had finished our rotation in one area at the Obstetrics and Gynecology Department. So fast we're yet again done with our second shift.

I have planned on writing a daily log, as written on my short post, however, the time I'm left after all the works and duty is a little short, I'd rather sleep through it.

Anyway, I'm trying to write some entries whenever I have some time to spare.

Week 1

LR/DR/OR duties: gotta catch some babies

So for our first week of rotation, I was assigned at the Labor room/Delivery room/Operating Room of the OB-GYN department.

We hoped to catch some babies in the delivery room via normal spontaneous delivery (NSVD), however, due to the pandemic, how things normally go isn't the way it is anymore. Before the pandemic, they say that the LR/DR duty is the very toxic one. Pregnant mommies coming in and leaving with their trophies (babies hehe), non-stop. Now that it's pandemic, some protocols has to be followed. The mother should have her swab test negative before getting admitted to the hospital, else they will be sent to the hospital's holding area where patients have COVID-19 status still unknown. And by the time their swab result has arrived, their babies have already arrived as well. So, we didn't had the chance to assist in their deliveries.

Although we weren't able to catch some babies via normal vaginal delivery, we were able to assist on the Operating room for some procedures.

Ready for battle. Here's me leaving the delivery room to go assist in the Operating Room.

I had the opportunity to assist in a case of a 60 year old woman with mass on the uterus. We removed her entire uterus and fallopian tube in a procedure called TAHBSO (Total Abdominal Hysterectomy- Bilateral Salpingoophorectomy). The uterus and fallopian tube, as we have learned in our Science in elementary are a part of the woman's reproductive system. I don't wanna get so technical here so Imma leave you with that information.

The procedure lasted almost 4 hours. 4 hours of standing, retracting, suctioning, and cutting. Along the way, the doctors throw in some questions for me, some of which I couldn't answer. Although it was tiring, it was a great opportunity for learning and skills improvement.

Disclaimer: I am not in this photo. I was just observing and taking photos here.

I have also witnessed a procedure called Hysteroscopic Polypectomy, where a small camera called hysteroscope is inserted through the vagina and into the uterus to visualize for the cause of abnormal bleeding. While polypectomy is the removal of the polyps seen.

Although I wasn't able to do the procedure myself, I have learned a lot while observing it happens.

Other duties.

As a locked-down medical clerks and google docs for almost 1 year, I don't know how to go about our duty. Thankfully the resident doctors and nurses were accommodating and understanding. They helped and guided us in every step of the way. I had my first ever IV insertion a success in one go, thanks to the midwife who assisted me and encouraged me do the procedure.

I commend all the staff, nurses, and midwife, for their passion and well trained hands in doing procedures I thought I wouldn't get to do at all.

Conquering April.

As I have replied in one of the comments at noise during the start of April, "Conquer this month", I could safely say that I have conquered. I conquered my first ever IV insertion, conquered first ever OR assist, conquered my anxiety, and conquered my overthinking, and to just go with the flow!

It's nearly end of the month, and I'd say still, CONQUER IT ALL!

Special shoutout to my sponsors, @MizLhaine @tired_momma @szbarnaus

Love you, ten thousand! 💕

5
$ 6.45
$ 6.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @sgbonus
Sponsors of Tenj
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Experiences, Life, Success, Diary, ...

Comments

Sound like you're having fun during your clerkship. Continue learning and writing your experiences hehe.

I can't imagine staying that long for a procedure. I can also feel the heat when you're using the PPE.

Stay safe always!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aside from the hectic schedule and sleep deprivation, I guess I can say I am enjoying it so far. I didn't really notice the time at all. I was just fascinated the whole time haha

Stay safe, also!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad that you're enjoying it. Make the most out of it. It's the best time to learn compared to learning from the screen hehe.. Keep safe Doc :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't really notice the time at all. I was just fascinated the whole time haha Stay safe also, and thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago