What happens if onions and potatoes are put together?

13 21
Avatar for Taniya
Written by
3 years ago

Potatoes and onions are the most familiar ingredients in our daily cooking. These are used in a variety of cooking. So it is difficult to complete the cooking without potatoes or onions. Potatoes can be used to make all kinds of foods that taste great, onions are used a lot like spices. Onions are added to enhance the taste and aroma. Potatoes or onions are no less nutritious than anyone else. But today we will not talk about nutrition, we will talk about something that is important for you to know.

Should onions and potatoes be stored together?

A common misconception about potatoes and onions is that they should not be stored together. Surprised? In fact, it is wonderful for many of us. Because we mostly put onions and potatoes in the same basket.

Why not put together?

Onions produce and emit ethylene gas, which helps fruits or vegetables to ripen faster. So if you put potato with onion, it can rot and spoil more quickly. This gas can also speed up the germination of potatoes. Potato sprouts are considered toxic due to the high concentration of glycoalkaloids, which can affect the nervous system.

Also, both onions and potatoes release moisture, which can make them dry faster. It is best to store them separately in a dry and cool, well-ventilated area.

How should it be saved?

Potatoes should be stored on shelves or in mitsafe. These places are dark, cool and dry and these are suitable for storing potatoes. These are lower than room temperature but better stored at room temperature than in the refrigerator. These places are cooler in summer than the rest of the house so these are the right places to store them. It is safe to eat sprouted potatoes if they are cut off.

Onions should be kept in a well ventilated place. You can also keep it in a paper bag or wire basket. Onions or potatoes should never be stored in the fridge as cold temperatures will soften them.

9
$ 0.00
Avatar for Taniya
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Wow what a great article about this ingredients, you really help us how to keep properly this kind of vegetables.. Thanks for sharing this information to us here keep it up more post of ideas about foods good luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think someone told me this already but I didn't take it seriously

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this article is a big help for everybody specially for those who cook everyday like me. I never thought of this and thank you for informing all of us about this. I usually put onions in the cabinet but now im going to change it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow so benefice post i love this type post becous its help me to know everything

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most especially I can cook without onion I really love my food with Onion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wahh for real? Haha I will share this to my mom. Cause we used to put all the vegetables in one basket haha Thanks for this very informative article. God Bless!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are enemies haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar errolmoako I am a thief who steals articles and claim it as my own
3 years ago

This is so informative. I never knew this before but thanks for this update. I guess I will have to stop putting potatoes or any fruits close to Onions again after seeing this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow this is very an informative idea. I will go follow your post because i guess it very useful to read all of your articles. Thank you for an amazing idea. Hoping that youll post another idea that will give me more knowlegde

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good article. Potatoes should be stored on shelves or in mitsafe. These places are dark, cool and dry and these are suitable for storing potatoes. it is very nice information.

$ 0.00
3 years ago