My Top 3 Insecurities

9 35
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

Because of the standards that the society built even before, a lot of us are experiencing or have experienced feeling sad about ourselves just because we didn't meet some or all of the qualities that everyone's are looking for. Unfortunately up until today, in order to be called beautiful we should have a nice eyes, fit and sexy body, clear and smooth skin, shiny hair, long legs and more. Especially in the current generation where we are exempted to everyone's judgement and bash once we are beautiful or handsome, rich, famous, have a nice background in life etcetera.

Seeing those girls on instagram that has a lot of these qualities sometimes makes me feel insecured. I know I'm not the only one who are experiencing this but it is just so sad to think that because of these standards, a lot of us are being depressed, rejected and hopeless. In this article, I will share here my top 3 insecurities and why.

First on the list would be;

My Height

I think this is the most common insecurities that most of us have. During my elementary days, I was getting bullied because of my physical looks specifically my height. I am just a small, shy and introvert girl that time. My classmates were often called me pandak or liit. I remembered the exact line that one of the mean girls who always bully me said during 3rd grade was when she shouted, "Pandak kase!" means "Cause she's small!" in front of our class while looking at me then he rolled her eyes at me and laughed together with her friends after. I was so embarassed that time, I wasn't able hold my tears anymore as it really hurts me. And what makes my situation even worser that time is I don't have friends. Until now, that memory is still in me. The pain and trauma is still in me. That's the reason why my height became my greatest insecurity about myself up until now. However, I think I can say that I've already accepted it but there is still a part of me who still gets hurt when someone cracks a joke about my height.

My Looks

Honestly, I sometimes think of my looks could be the reason why people I love left me. I don't have all the characteristics of a beautiful girl plus I had a pimple breakout last 2020. My pimples back then took away all my confidence to the point that I am no longer showing my face at every photo, if I do I would make sure that it has a filter so it will lessen a bit my ugliness. Before, I hate wearing masks as I am struggling in breathing but now, as possible as I can I won't take off my mask. My confidence are still in me when I am wearing a mask but once I remove it, I will just look at the ground most of the time because I am shy with my face. Also, I can't wear nice clothes as I feel like they don't fit me.

My Current Situation

Undergraduate, broke and unemployed. Until now, everytime I see my ex-classmate's posts on social media about their classes or projects, I felt a bit envy and sad. Knowing that I am no longer be able to graduate college is what really hurts me plus the thought that I envy them because they are still in their ways in achieving their goals and one of it is to have a degree which I really wanted to have even before. Broke in both financial and emotional. Lastly, unemployed, this is what I am currently struggling. It is so hard to find a job in my field that still accepts undergraduate students. Most of them rejected me and some are too far from where I live. I feel shy when someone asks me about my degree and work because I don't have both as of now.

Sometimes, I wonder where and when did these qualities started and be known all over the world. Each countries has their own race and faces that's why meeting these qualities just to be called 'beautiful' is what I can't really stand on. I hate these standards. I know there are billions of people who are going through the same as what I am experiencing now. But before I end this article, even though I have these insecurities, I still love myself. Now, I've accepted my height, I've already loved my looks and body and I've already convinced myself that my path in life is different from the others, it may seem impossible for me right now but I trust time and my own process.

Do not depend our life to what we see from the others or to what other people would say to us. If we want to be accepted by other people, we should first accept ourselves too.

Oh, you made this far!

Sponsors of Tamia
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to these amazing writers/sponsors 👆

Have a great day wonderful people ♡.

11
$ 2.49
$ 2.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 2
Sponsors of Tamia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

the story of life has its own meaning, many fail and life becomes tormented but actually to reach a better future it depends on how we achieve it, don't judge your differences with other people only make you suffer. what you get now use it to make your life more advanced, remember that desperate people will be far from happiness. make your failure an experience and don't judge the advantages of others who are successful because you can also be successful in different ways, get up friends and open your spirit The Almighty will bless you if you try and leave bitter memories. you can do it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh girl, things will not remain the way they are... even natural elements like Earth, water, Air, sky needs constant change and go through it... Your change is coming to you, life is a big circle, when you reach up, you eventually go down and when you are down, there is no other way than going up... life works that way. Your good days are ahead, just keep your head high and do what you do at your best... everything will be alright at the end

Regarding your other insecurities like height, face etc.... REMEMBER, you need to love yourself. whether others love your nah does not even matter... You fall in love with yourself, it took me 30 years to give friks about others, trust me, once you start to love your body in and out, your insecurities will vanish in thin air

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's like strong gril Tamia, I was glad at the end to read that you accepted it all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tayong lahat may insecurities talaga sis kahit nga mga artista may ganyan din factor ang mabuti natin gawin accept natin yung buong pagkatao and never mind those people na ganda lang gusto kung may mang iiwan man hayaan natin sila hihi.

Anyway wag mawalan ng pag Asa na sana makapag work kana rin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Langga love yourself. We are beautiful in our way. Maganda ka Langga. Wag mo isipin yan. Lahat tayo may uniqueness. Pantay-pantay tayo lahat sa mata ni God. Wag mo isipin yung ibang tao langga. I enjoy natin life natin. Go lang tayo Langga. Focus sa mga goals natin. You're pretty Langga. You're cute. 🥰❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hihi thankyou atee! Tama, focus sa goals, wag titigil hanggat di nakukuha hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga. Pag makamit goals natin walang makakapantay sa saya na madarama natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have the same insecurities about my height and my looks. You know what, the only thing we need is to accept our flaws. If someone mistreated us because of what we look like or what status in life we have, then they are the ones with problems.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one is ugly, only the mindset of the people ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago